My ZX

Seabiscuit

Just to share my finding happen on CNY eve. Drove out afternoon with aircond fullblow. Then suddenly got burning smell came out from the aircond blower and stopped working. I was *Tiu lor... don't die on me on CNY lar*.

Quickly vroom home and open the blower to check. Found the positive connection lug got burn mark oledi due to loose connection. Luckily didn't burn my whole car down. Took out the motor and disamentle the PCB board that attached to the motor holder. I got change the carbon brush by myself before so open up the blower consider a piece of cake for me. Found that the copper layer of +ve terminal peel off and nearly touch the heatsink about 2mm distance. What a cleaver design
How to find a spare PCB at this time? Got no choice but to DIY lor. Use 3m double side tape tuck into the gap between PCB and heatsink to isolate from short circuit. Cut the main +ve supply and connect directly to the blower motor. done. No suana for me during CNY. *happy*

For those who drive ZX. Please do check your blower motor PCD if it's aged.

You might considering keeping a small fire extinguisher in your car next time.

Just a safety measure.

hehe...fire extinguisher already in placed for many moons liow.

Sure huh? Can sue Citroen meh? But I did the carbon brush change by myself later they say it wasn't service by trained personel and 1001 excusses...