My turbo matching and the issues

renxun

recently got a turbo wid the spec of to4R but wid the hotside housing of ar70 but turbine wheel of 64mm.

and it came out to be lag than i could ever imagine.. it came rush in at 5000rpm and full boost at 5.5k rpm.. i was like ... uuh......and the torque generated is no where near my previous hybrid of 48mm inducer wheel a/r70, t4 twin scrolled a/r 58 housing wid 2 1/4inch turbine wheel. on the top end of 3rd gear and 4th its fast... but its not fast to the extent of extremely fast compare to my hybrid... but the compensation for lag is too badly....

question is.... i had the idea of changing to a/r 63 or 64 housing but is there any available for t4 twin entry? i was tinking of 63/64 bcuz im tinking if im using back a/r58 it will restric flow on my top end causing it to surge. BUT, wid the bigger fin of 2.5" now, i ASSUME (im not sure also if im right or wrong) that it will spin slower compare to a smaller turbine wheel in the same housing a/r... so even wid 64 housing wid the 2.5" it will still be fairly lag...

tinking to just go ahead with the a/58... because i dun pull alot of rpm ... 6300-6500rpm shift point. although theoritically it might surge but wit the bigger turbine my GUESS is it will bring down some turbine speed... i aint sure... gotta ask you guys are the expert. and if its ok ... who can supply me the t4 twin entry to me wid a reasonable price? lee turbo doesnt have this size.

im nt a pro , bt wht i would like to say is , compressor wheel also promotes lag, its not all about the turbine wheel

if i was u , i will sure make use of the twin entry housing, is the banana tht u use designed for twin entry ? or is it hantam any cylinder to any entry of the turbine housing

like vr4 i know laa, 1jz firing order i dnt know bro :P , bt u can find in overseas forums for sure

i dnt tink there is a .63 t4 housing , try ask this guy
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=902
he is using .68 housing

im nt a pro , bt wht i would like to say is , compressor wheel also promotes lag, its not all about the turbine wheel

if i was u , i will sure make use of the twin entry housing, is the banana tht u use designed for twin entry ? or is it hantam any cylinder to any entry of the turbine housing

like vr4 i know laa, 1jz firing order i dnt know bro :P , bt u can find in overseas forums for sure

he is using .68 housing

muahaha..jinkl rite - everything need to be match...
the best solution for u is using ur old turbine ar58 t4...dont worry too much on divided turbine because of ur motor r in line six..u can also use single entry turbine - no problemmo..

im surprised ur motor cannot support to4r which resulting lag (based on info ur give me)....

used back ur old turbine...

he is using .68 housing

yes my manifold is a twin entry manifold. i had asked and you are correct that there is no .63 housing for t4.. so i guess .58 is my only choice now eh?

bebola- you will be surprised over the tremendous lag. as im not intend to push my motor anything pass 7000rpm as its still stock bottom... i dun mind having big boost wid correct tune but i aint pushing my stock bottom without performance bearings. wid my current setting of rev cut at 7200rpm my shift point will be somewhere at 6.5k. however wid the 70 i couldnt do that as during my shift front 2nd to 3rd....it falls out of the powerband (4500rpm) where my .70 rushed in at 5000rpm.

one Question i would like to know... does a turbine wheel size in a same housing determine the turbo rpm as well?

yes my manifold is a twin entry manifold. i had asked and you are correct that there is no .63 housing for t4.. so i guess .58 is my only choice now eh?

bebola- you will be surprised over the tremendous lag. as im not intend to push my motor anything pass 7000rpm as its still stock bottom... i dun mind having big boost wid correct tune but i aint pushing my stock bottom without performance bearings. wid my current setting of rev cut at 7200rpm my shift point will be somewhere at 6.5k. however wid the 70 i couldnt do that as during my shift front 2nd to 3rd....it falls out of the powerband (4500rpm) where my .70 rushed in at 5000rpm.

one Question i would like to know... does a turbine wheel size in a same housing determine the turbo rpm as well?

turbine wheel size will determine max RPM of the shaft...meaning.. form the size of exducer bore u can estimated wat maximum CFM or Pound per minute of air it capable deliver to the engine... am i answer ur q?:hmmmm:
*different size of exducer turbine..so different exducer bore of the turbine housing..

yes .58 t4 r best for u if u want change wit me t4 .48 ar u r most welcomed:evil: ..the cheapest way change ur turbine to .58..ok bro..gud luck :)..