my GTI got problem

solicitor

engine heats up very fast in the morning , other GTIs take at least 3 min to reach quarter water temp level meter reading, mine takes only 1 min . after approx 20 min my engine will lose power. it's even worse in hot weather condition in the afternoon .

coolant ok radiator no problem fan also no problem thermostat also no problem fan switch also no problem , meter no problem . so what is the problem?

Originally posted by solicitor@Feb 7 2005, 16:35
engine heats up very fast in the morning , other GTIs take at least 3 min to reach quarter water temp level meter reading, mine takes only 1 min . after approx 20 min my engine will lose power. it's even worse in hot weather condition in the afternoon .

coolant ok radiator no problem fan also no problem thermostat also no problem fan switch also no problem , meter no problem . so what is the problem?
everything also no prob, then must be user problem liow, j/k j/k :lol: :lol:

something wrong with u la....i think :D

hehehehehehehhheh....jangan marah aa... :lol: :lol:

cheers...

Try to flush ur radiator 2-3 times & replaced the coolant again. This should help to rectify the problem. :)

my radiator was removed flushed and cleaned recently by radiator specialist and added new coolant

Maybe you might have the typical Proton Meter problems. Mine sometimes jump up to the max of the temperature gauge. But still ok.
Then the fuel gauge sometimes after pump full tank still shows Empty.

i said already i know not meter and gauge, meters i got a few all the same reading.

dun suggest ecu because I also got a few diff ones but all the same outcome,

it's in the engine.

Originally posted by solicitor@Feb 7 2005, 18:12
i said already i know not meter and gauge, meters i got a few all the same reading.

dun suggest ecu because I also got a few diff ones but all the same outcome,

it's in the engine.
ur water lines clogged?

i have personally owned and driven protons, 2 x 1.8 wira, 2 x putra , 1 GTI since 1995 all 4G93 but none performed as bad as this one.

Originally posted by solicitor@Feb 7 2005, 18:19
i have personally owned and driven protons, 2 x 1.8 wira, 2 x putra , 1 GTI since 1995 all 4G93 but none performed as bad as this one.
for da last one....change to VTEC
kuikuikui....just joking... :D

mr solicitor..

is your thermostat working well? what bout engine compression loss?
are your top set gaskets in perfect condition? u sure no leakage? have
u gone through engine & radiator pressure tests? any smoke from your
car? what bout your aircond compressor, its connected to pulleys from
your engine, if it is faulty it might give a slight drag to engine causing
heat & temp rise.... how did u service your radiator? open top & bottom
together or one side only during servicing? how did they merge back
both the top & bottom pieces of your radiator to the core? like i've said
earlier, radiator pressure test? what bout cavity on your water pump
blades? your water passages inside your block.. are they stucked?
hairline crack on block? oh no! time to change car? :lol:

i have to say that i only feel that in old car..

it's ur engine...

try using fully syn oil prefered petronas 5000

wash ur engine bay...

i still think it's engine problem.....ur fan tak cukup kuat...

im sure during nite and rainy days ur car damn powerful....but not during hot noon

does it show normal temperature reading? or hotter?

by the way i have the opossite problem, my engine takes more 10 mins of driving to achieve the normal temperature... whats the cause of this?

Originally posted by E V O L U T I O N@Feb 8 2005, 05:10
does it show normal temperature reading? or hotter?

by the way i have the opossite problem, my engine takes more 10 mins of driving to achieve the normal temperature... whats the cause of this?
ur car running without thermostat is it?
kekekek

or u using liquid nitrogen in ur radiator?

try to check ur radiator hose whether it is clogged,that day i check my coolant level ok,thermostat running,but those coolant level dont indicate that ur radiator hoses r clogged,when my car overheat in jam,the mechanic was trying 2 figure out what's wrong coz he say the coolant level ok,thermostat running,n the worse thing came,when he cabut those hoses there were so many rust,etc clogging my hose,that's y the water cant circulate to the engine...after those rust as big as milo nugget got out from there,my car was back to normal but the damage has been done...the repair work cost me a month salary.... :( ...can u imagine,during those clogging time whenever i flush i fill in onli 1.5l,but after those thing come out i fill in close to 2.2l,man close to 0.7l difference...

erm.. a newbie question here...

erm.. how to check whether our thermostat is in good working conditions? :unsure:

what is the usual driving duration required for an engine to reach its optimum temperature if starting up in the morning? (in terms of minutes)

Originally posted by E V O L U T I O N@Feb 8 2005, 13:53
what is the usual driving duration required for an engine to reach its optimum temperature if starting up in the morning? (in terms of minutes)
I think he mentioned that in his first post that normally it takes 3 minutes, but his only took 1 minute