Mr-2 Sw20

iexit & seg 4218,thanks 2 ur help....

but i really need some opinion from u guys on whether my bro should take bmw e36 318i or mr2 NA 3sge?wat's the disadvantage except mr2 is 2 seater?how bout maintainance?

two different class of cars la
whats there to compare?

maintainance... not sure about e36, but i think both would be quite difficult to find parts
318i has bout 120 bhp, 3SGE about 150 bhp

bimmer weight about 1450 compared to 1300 mr2 (na lighter than this i think)

and for guys without kids... who needs more than 2 seats ^^

MR2 depends on the car that you get...bare in mind, MR2 is quite old already...MR2 parts are cheaper than BMW of course...that is what i think lar...please correct me if i'm wrong. thank you

Here's my 2 cents

The MR2 is has a lower maintenance cost, provided you get a good car (if not sure headache). Toyota parts hardly break unless it’s already stressed out and waiting to happen. But like someone mentioned, the MR2 is already an aged (I din’t want to use the word old :->) car and it will tend to have some issues with ware and tear. Good news is that there are still shops importing brand new MR2 parts.

I don't know if I can go as far as to say the MR2 was not build for everyday use (BTW i use mine everyday)

A side of the obvious disadvantage of space, both cars are pretty different in they make, functions and objectives. I think the bigger question is what is your brothers objective of buying the car? Decided on that first and the rest will soon be history.

Japanese car maintenance will always be a bit easier and cheaper, but Germen engineering will always be in a class of their own.

agree with iexit...i used mine everyday and everywhere too last time...there are a few toyota shops you can get all the parts there...

Friendly DYNO shoot out, MRMIC2 for more details :-) use your name ah... Mickey

We need 20 cars, its RM80 includes air fuel ratio print out (correct ah Mickey)

TQ

thanks bro falcon,js2 & iexit...

i did compared wif my fren's e36 318i when im driving my putra last year,the bmw only staying back of me(0-400m only),it really surprice me until i get it's spec from net.

i already hv technical spec of these 2 car,just wonder whether mr2 would make their owner headache on some particular prob?i prefer a na mr2,coz worry 225/245 will bring me more headache...

my bro & i got our own car already,now v r planning 2 get a 2nd/weekend car with sporty/cun look,RWD,enuf hp ard 140,low maintenance fees.

any sifu here can gimme more advise?

sorry to interupt the flow of this thread, but was wondering if there's any MR2(SW20) for sale?Do PM me if there's any leads. Thanks in advance guys!

hi all... sorry for side-track abit also.. currently i am driving a SW20 NA auto. Was thinking either convert to turbo or upgrade to Supra. Anyway will like to find out if 3SGTE from celica able to fit in without major mod? thanks in advance for info.

Depending on your definition of major mods... plus why get a Celica's half cut when there are plenty of MR2 direct bolt on around?

BTW that car looks familiar did you just buy it not too long ago? It was on Motor trader right?

Evo^Madz said:
hi all... sorry for side-track abit also.. currently i am driving a SW20 NA auto. Was thinking either convert to turbo or upgrade to Supra. Anyway will like to find out if 3SGTE from celica able to fit in without major mod? thanks in advance for info.

Funny how the previous owner of this MR2 also went on to a Supra...

But in any case... yes, you are better off searching for a 3SGTE from a SW20 as it is a direct swap

ssup blackie.....

hehe..asking around only la...you know la, keeping sport cars is only for rich men like yourself la....i'm just a passer-by....