Mounting Bracket

linbutet

Mounting Bracket FOR CONVERTION EG6(A) TO EJ6

TO ALL SIFUS....OUT THERE..
NEED HELP...
WAS JUST CONVERT TO B16A TAKEN FROM EG6(A) HALFCUT INTO EJ6....
GOT PROBLEM WITH ENGINGE MOUNTING BRACKET GEARBOX SIDE....
TRY TO SEARCH EK BRACKET AT CHOP SHOP BUT CANT GET...
ASKED SPARE PART SHOP THEY SAID CAN FIND FOR ME...
SUDDENLY THE BRACKET CANT FIT.....
DOES ANY OF ZTH GOT SPARE OF THE BRACKET...PLZZZ....OR GOT ANY IDEA ON THAT PROB....SORY IF IT IS A COMMON QUESTION...:mouth_closed:

its not a common question...
but i think i shudnt be a problem since lots of ek outside there using eg hafkat...

thanks a lot bro....
but any suggestion where should i find the mounting bracket....
or any idea...
could i use others civic bracket.......
or need to modified the original bracket....

as i know the bracket...bcoz the mounting use the ej back right??
or need to change both item...

I don't understand what you mean by mounting cannot fit. I'm thinking you mean the mount on the driver side where the transmission is located right?

The transmission mount cannot fit? That's strange.

AFAIK, the only mount that is different is the rear mount, which you can use the CRV one, since the steering rack is more in front than the EG, so the rear mount is different, slightly shorter, like the CRV.

I'm thinking.

A) you used back the rear mount off the EG halfcut, and then your engine sit slightly slanted, now you cannot use the transmission side mount.

b) your car accident before, and the transmission mount was mangled, and now slightly misshapen, so you cannot fit the mounting.

You should be using a CRV rear mounting.. May I know what rear mounting you're using now?

im using back all cross member + steering rack actually im using all the things from eg halfcut back.....but the prob is the bracket at the tranmission side......all others mounting+bracket fit ngam ngam...

Guys,thats mean if i want to convert using EG6 1/2 cut into EJ,only need
to change the rear mounting?
How about wiring?if I still want to remain the existing cluster meter.thanks

linbutet said:
im using back all cross member + steering rack actually im using all the things from eg halfcut back.....but the prob is the bracket at the tranmission side......all others mounting+bracket fit ngam ngam...
Hmm.. here's what I suggest.

Get a CRV rear bracket (the one that bolts on the steering rack) and compare with your EG/EK rear mount you're using now. CRV's one should be just a little shorter.

Then look at how much off the holes are on the transmission side mount.. all should become clear then.

B16A into EJ MUST use CRV rear mount as far as I know. Unless new modification techniques can go around that... I don't knowlah.

If your mechanic doesn't know that.. aiyoh.. scary oh! (O_o)

jingut,

yeah, EJ convert to B16 (using EG halfcut) through my experience must use CRV mount, since the original one from the EG/EK sohc engine is slightly longer.. EK9 halfcut mount also can use, but that's hard to find, since no one I know bought an EK9 halfcut to convert an EG, usually buy B16B engine only if convert oso.

Wiring need to modify a bit lah.. that's a given. Personally, I'd only trust wiring modifications to:

A) people who know how to spice wires properly (solders the thing, not twist and then wrap with wiring tape)

B) people who think about water proofing the section soldered with heat shrink tubing, not wiring tape.

my suggestion is find an ek halfcut...
Im very frustrated now....hehehehe....lolz...
I think wanted to save the cost..but then afterward got headache.....hehehhehe
till now i cant drive my car...think the mech is lousy want....
very sad ohh

So, try the CRV rear mount.. or (get complete EK9 B16B mount.. sure can work.)

shiroitenshi said:
Hmm.. here's what I suggest.

Get a CRV rear bracket (the one that bolts on the steering rack) and compare with your EG/EK rear mount you're using now. CRV's one should be just a little shorter.

Then look at how much off the holes are on the transmission side mount.. all should become clear then.

B16A into EJ MUST use CRV rear mount as far as I know. Unless new modification techniques can go around that... I don't knowlah.

If your mechanic doesn't know that.. aiyoh.. scary oh! (O_o)

jingut,

yeah, EJ convert to B16 (using EG halfcut) through my experience must use CRV mount, since the original one from the EG/EK sohc engine is slightly longer.. EK9 halfcut mount also can use, but that's hard to find, since no one I know bought an EK9 halfcut to convert an EG, usually buy B16B engine only if convert oso.

Wiring need to modify a bit lah.. that's a given. Personally, I'd only trust wiring modifications to:

A) people who know how to spice wires properly (solders the thing, not twist and then wrap with wiring tape)

B) people who think about water proofing the section soldered with heat shrink tubing, not wiring tape.

mind to recomend any work shop which do wiring properly?

I have the bracket. Ordered it from Singapore. Not using it at the moment. PM me if you're still looking for it.

Cheers.