Moisture and intake

toyotamodus

Feb 21, 2009
Dear forum,

I was told that cold air gives more boost for the car engine.
But doesn't cool air bring in moisture due to condensation? :confused:

Sorry if this question is ridiculous.

Thanks in advance.

tm :burnout:

oligokoko

Aug 17, 2008
i think cool air here means air wif outside temperature. it is considered as cool air bcoz d temp u get frm CAI is lower temp compared 2 short ram intake. short ram intake's temp may reach up to 100 degrees n above coz d air taken frm inside d engine compartment.

just take at 80 degrees which is d stable temp after u warm up ur engine n compare 2 malaysia's outside temp, which is around 35++, it does look cooler. so thts y they call it cool air intake.

about d condensation, a very2 small amount of water wont hurt d engine. they give extra uumph inside d combustion chamber. scientifically, i dun know d reaction n equation, but logically, it does help burning 2 grow. like d chef at sum restaurant where they have fire in their kuali, actually they just put water in d kuali. when d water evaporates, it produces Oxigen n Hydrogen, which is easy to burn.

personally, i do think frm CAI, u can get condensation, but not alot. it is there but i think u cannot detect it without any modern equipments. + inside d combustion chamber oso wif d compression is high, it might make d water cannot condensate like under normal 1atm.

zac

Feb 7, 2007
Cold air provide more oxygen as higher density and make better combustion. That little amount of water wont affect your engine, already vapour before reaching chamber... unless you keep pouring water inside... : )

Most CAI in market come with piping and there's a small hole, as told by mech can help to drain out the water... not sure true or not cos i never use one before

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Don't worry about the moisture, people purposely spray them into their combustion chamber as well. A little won't hurt unless you flooded your car...

oligokoko

Aug 17, 2008
Don't worry about the moisture, people purposely spray them into their combustion chamber as well. A little won't hurt unless you flooded your car...
yup2, u r rite. more power wif a little bit of water in d combustion chamber. but wut do u think will happen after travelling 40k km? any side effects?

Cold air provide more oxygen as higher density and make better combustion. That little amount of water wont affect your engine, already vapour before reaching chamber... unless you keep pouring water inside... : )

Most CAI in market come with piping and there's a small hole, as told by mech can help to drain out the water... not sure true or not cos i never use one before
mayb 2 drain water which enter frm d intake pipe. as most models d CAI will b installed sumwhere at d front foglight. this might invite water 2 come inside, especially if u drive on malaysian roads. all d lopak2 air everywhere. but lets say ppl drive in a flood which is half d tire depth. do u think it will surpass d small hole n get into d engine?

Hey, Im thinking of custom making a sticker... anyone knows where?
I need the kind that will stick to the window from inside the car, transparant background with white wordings. Something like the official ZTH sticker.
:)