Metal head problem...pls help :-(

JAP_AUTOPARTS

lately i install my 0.8mm metal head gasket to my lovely 20V but after a weeks i found out some coolant split out from my block~

i use a torque wrench to tight the bolt but according to repair manual it shld be 30lb/ft + a 90 degree, am i right?? or any Sifuuusss can teach me the correct step??

Yeah, did you skim the head? The head must be 100% cool when removing to prevent warpage. Usually I try to leave the engine untouched overnight before working on head jobs (that sounds soooooo wrong)

The head confirm flat and it cool enuff coz i leave it not only overnight but 2 weeks on the floor ^^

22ft-lbs + 90 degree + 90 degree is the info i get frm 4agclub, but some said it shld be 22 + 44 + 60ft-lbs in 3 steps.....aduhai~

er.. on the floor? What i meant was before you removed the head, was it 100% cool? Meaning car left overnight to completely cool before you removed the head.

Anyway, perhaps as a quick fix, consider doing a skim to flatten the head and try with a new metal head gasket.

Apply copper spray dee... engine left it 100% cool coz i take it out frm my car dee :-) but i solve the problem now, thx all sifu ^^

how did you fix it? What was the problem

Taker it out and replace a new gasket and retight it with new steps I found in trd bible :-)

Can share what the bible says?

the thread title "metal head" sounded confusing...I thought it was about heavy rock music or something....

Bible said when u going to tighten ur head bolts, 1st step is 22ft-lb, wait for 1hours to cool down, 44ft-lb for 2nd steps and another 1hour,last is 60ft-lb..... I just follow the steps and it's done :-)

Write your reply...