Merdeka Race

Originally posted by BoatOwner@Aug 17 2004, 01:30 AM
How many entries for the race?

btw, anybody who needs Snell SA2000 helmets for the race... I can supply (BELL).
bro just out of curiosity how much will the MAG cost?

the lamborghini is damn fast man on today MME... too bad it break down.... it sreamsssssss when pass the grand stand...
honda team is very strong........ i love their drving and their pit crew...
like F1 style

woww..long day man..
our team, NRT 's EVo8 MR's central diff cooked and that knocked us out..
so, DNF.

I'm happy to note that Honda Malaysia Racing Team (HMRT) won!

1st & 3rd overall and in class A. Car #27 with Hiroki Katoh, Eddie Lew & Farriz Fauzy was 1st, with Car #26 - Takahashi Kunimitsu, Tommy Lee & Mitsusada experiencing a broken front left hand side wheel stud about 5 hours into the race. Luckily a spare front upright was on hand, and the car was hurriedly repaired, taking about 30 minutes, with the best efforts of all team members.

Dropping to 15th place, or worse, Car #26 battled onwards, reaching 5th spot into the 8th hour of the race. Finally in the last hour, they really pushed on hard and topped out in 3rd, even reaching 2nd ... a 1-2 finish was really hoped for, but then everyone else pushed all out too, putting car #26 into 4th position.

With less than 10 minutes to go, they managed to inch their way into 3rd, giving HMRT a 1st & 3rd overall, and Class A finish.

It was a day-long battle, with above average effort by volunteer team members, recruited from Melaka's Welding/Manufacturing/HR depts., Sales, Service, Parts & Marketing many of whom had spent more than 2 months preparing the car. Many were very emotional after the race, as they had achieved something beyond their wildest dreams.

Initially the plan was just to compete, and finish. Detractors had laughed about putting in a Melaka-built, 4-door 2.0 litre Civic in a race where the competition included a Lamborghini Murcielago, Porsche GT3s, Mitsubishi Evolutions, Lotus Exige/Elise/340R, Subaru Imprezas WRX STi, and even several Honda Integras.

In the end, teamwork, preparation and the will to win helped HMRT to achieve what everyone doubted.

A bit of luck played a part in the whole thing too! :)

Originally posted by scudracer@Aug 29 2004, 10:10 AM

Initially the plan was just to compete, and finish. Detractors had laughed about putting in a Melaka-built, 4-door 2.0 litre Civic in a race where the competition included a Lamborghini Murcielago, Porsche GT3s, Mitsubishi Evolutions, Lotus Exige/Elise/340R, Subaru Imprezas WRX STi, and even several Honda Integras.

In the end, teamwork, preparation and the will to win helped HMRT to achieve what everyone doubted.

Sorry but i beg to differ, those Hondas are pure breds they are not your normal
showroom cars other than the shell. It was not built in Melaka maybe serviced or kept there but not built there (maybe CKD), most of the crew were from Melaka thats true.
Those cars are the F1 of production racingcars. There was never any doubt that they would be strong contenders. Team Honda was the only factory backed team
the other entries were private entries without factory backing maybe with the exception of Lotus but that also not full factory backing.

Originally posted by XXX+Aug 30 2004, 12:17 PM-->
QUOTE (XXX @ Aug 30 2004, 12:17 PM)
--QuoteBegin-scudracer
@Aug 29 2004, 10:10 AM

Sorry but i beg to differ, those Hondas are pure breds they are not your normal
showroom cars other than the shell. It was not built in Melaka maybe serviced or kept there but not built there, most of the crew were from Melaka thats true.
Those cars are the F1 of production racingcars. There was never any doubt that they would be strong contenders. Team Honda was the only factory backed team
the other entries were private entries without factory backing maybe with the exception of Lotus but that also not full factory backing. [/b][/quote]
Totally agreed with you ;)

Heard that the race car was assembled locally with honda racing parts from japan, anyway the car really haul ass on the straights. It woulda been great to see more japanese backed team in the MME to give the hondas a run for their money.

I agree with xxx, the Hondas look like Super2000 touring car specs to me. It would be great if the organiser can give spectators a full entry list with drivers profile and car specs. All I was given were some photostat paper with some A & W event schedules!

If only BMW brought their 24 hr Nurburing winner - the M3 GTR!

Heheh, next time you get the chance, ask who built the engine.

*hint* They usually build twin-turbo 3.0 engines for some champhionship abroad.

Originally posted by MK84@Aug 31 2004, 02:15 PM
Heheh, next time you get the chance, ask who built the engine.

*hint* They usually build twin-turbo 3.0 engines for some champhionship abroad.

Who? Brain not working todaylah.. today Merdeka brain also merdekalah :)

Defi,

for results go to http://www.mylaps.com/results/showevent.jsp?id=42022

The bodyshells WERE built in Melaka and the car was stripped of soundproofing, and the roll cage was welded in by the very same guys who work on the assembly line every single day. Anyway, yeah of course the track car isn't 100% like the showroom car! I think Temple Of VTEC should have a complete review on the car soon.

If I'm not mistaken, the engine was balanced, assembled and blueprinted by Mugen. Actually there were lots of faster, more powerful cars. HMRT was consistent and had good pit work. Their lap times ranged from 2:31 to 2.36, but made up for it with good refuelling & wheel/tyre change. Many privateers had engines which were a lot more highly tuned compared to the HMRT cars.

Car #26 (Kunimitsu) used white Enkei ES Tarmac wheels, and Car #27 used silver Enkei RPF1 wheels. The pit crew chiefs for both cars, are the everyday tech trainers for HMSB. Closest thing we had to a 'works' team, with an almost completely volunteer bunch of members, most of whom had never been in a race team before.

In any case I think the guys put in a lot of volunteer hard work, putting in long hours after office hours for 3 months, and deserve their 1st & 3rd overall finish.

Originally posted by scudracer@Aug 31 2004, 10:21 PM
Actually there were lots of faster, more powerful cars. HMRT was consistent and had good pit work. Their lap times ranged from 2:31 to 2.36, but made up for it with good refuelling & wheel/tyre change. Many privateers had engines which were a lot more highly tuned compared to the HMRT cars.

Helloooo! alot more powerful cars??
Other than the Amprex Lambo, Eric Yeos GT3 (#17), JP Chin's GT3 (#19)
GT3 (#18) and the Radical, HMRT Hondas were the next quickest. Ok leave out Class O. JP's GT3 fastest time was 2:27.864, GT3 #18- 2:27.399 the Hondas were #27- 2:31.075, #26- 2:31.576
Only the Porches, the Radical and the Lambo were quicker than the Hondas but hey, they are a different league.
So what do you mean by more powerful cars the EVO's , Subarus or the Lotuses??
Car #10 EVO8 driven by Karamjit fastest 2:32.603
Car #12 Lotus Exige driven by T. Djan fastest 2:33.335
And this guys are no slouch.So what are you trying to imply.

Yeah, M-TEC/Mugen.

Well, not trying to imply anything but just to say that it was hard work and team effort, to dispel the implications by some people that the car was

A. F1 of roadcars (??)
B. NOT built in Melaka

In any case ... I have to give my respect as the other cars WERE more powerful in terms of engine output power. No doubt about it there eh?

Thats what Im trying to say those cars were respected cars in the first
place but SOME PEOPLE had to go beat around the bush and say the car not powerfullah but..................................................................................
And hello its F1 of production racing cars not road cars!! ( I was being sarcastic
if you didnt get it.)
I think I did mention CKD.
The times speak for themselves.

;) Guess I'm a big dull.

So how much PS do u figure that K20 is pumping out?

Did some search, results can be found here : http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/motorsports/mme/results/04_RaceClass.pdf

Dear Tripple X, what is your point in your arguments on scud's postings? Is it not fair to you that the winning team won? Does it matter whether it's f1 of roadcars or someone says it's built in kuala kubu baru? I say this cuz if i were from the team and read your posting, i'd b quite heartached. For me, i think all podium winners and teams deserve the respect and not someone saying oh! this and oh! that. :P :P :P No offence yah :)

I dunno and I dun wan to know as far as a circuit race is concerned I see the times.
Whats the point of a 500ps car doing 2:59's when a 200ps car can do 2:40's.
Just like top speed whats the use if your car can reach 240kmh When I already reach Seremban you only hit your 240k.
Any way no hard feelings, Just my 2 cents. B)