Limits to turbochargin

Merovingian

I would like to ask this one question that i haven seen asked bfor ...wats the limits to turbocharging a particular engines capacity(litres/cc)?for example....jus say i have a 4agze which is a supercharged 1.6....how big a turbo can i put to this engine...??or is there no limit...bare in mind i dun plan in increasing the cc's of the engine....

limits? what kind of limits are we talking about here...in turbocharging, boundaries depends on how far u wish to go and how deep is your pockets...
there re lots n lots of aftermarket parts out there that can push your engine to a monster HP. it all will depends on your goals and budget..

well..in my opinion...there is a limit for particular car capacity litres/cc for a specific turbo...

let's say u're using 4agze,which is 1.6...u shud not use turbo like garrett gt60...
yes it can be use...but the respond given by the turbo wil not be as good as if it planted in a skyline or higher capacity engine because a 1.6 engine capacity will provide not enough airflow which flow to the turbine and therefore,the turbine itself is only using it 60% of wat it can do to a 1.6 however provide 100% to a higher capacity engine..

of course,everything can be done by using money,as wat EG6SiRT said...somehow,tis is gonna be very costly as expected..
BUT,if u're using an oversize turbine,which supposed to support up to 1000bhp engine and u apply it to 1.6....the engine wouldn't be able to run the turbine in a proper way...which mean tat even if u do the max modification to the engine by changing everything to something extreme,i don think it stil can run the turbine...

tis is just my opinion...don shoot me :)

well bro, the limit is actually u.
1. how big u wanna go in terms of turbo size
2. how deep is ur wallet/bank account
3. whats ur target (top speed or quartermile)
4. how can ur car/engine cope with the additional modifications
these questions relate to THE BIG QUESTION: can u afford it?

u can use any turbo that u want, but u have to make sure u have the rpm range to utilise the turbo. now with advanced engine n tuning technologies, people are now using 1000hp turbochargers on stock displacement 4G63s (thought impossible 5 years ago). so why not 4AGZE?

lets say u buy a GT42R turbo, a genuine 1000hp turbo. if u want to fully utilise the turbo, u need big cams, signifincantly higher rev limit (10000-11000rpm maybe more), built gearbox with suitable ratios to keep the engine happy (if FWD, issue of strength of driveshaft, RWD, traction system improvement) a bombproof built internals (not rojak supra piston or whatever pistons, we are talking forgies for long term reliability).

as what clanzkiller said, in order to have a 'reasonable' total project cost, please do be reasonable on ur turbo size selection. in real world like the world we live in today, even a GT3076R is very good for a 4AGZE. u dont have to read the "large frame turbo" section of the garrett catalog, unless u got a really u got a fetish of using all those oversized turbos - just like fetish on large boobs, E cup n beyond...

Last edited by a moderator:
I would like to ask this one question that i haven seen asked bfor ...wats the limits to turbocharging a particular engines capacity(litres/cc)?for example....jus say i have a 4agze which is a supercharged 1.6....how big a turbo can i put to this engine...??or is there no limit...bare in mind i dun plan in increasing the cc's of the engine....

first is budget like everyone says, 2nd is the purpose of ur mod, daily drive ? drag car ? fun car ? etc , want high rev ? want power at mid rev ? , going to leave the head and block stock ?

discuss with a turbo builder , tell them wht u want , they will have a suitable turbo for u , can even be custom spec for you , then u can smile , most of zth members are only users , and some mechs know alot of turbocharging if they have alredy r&d but turbo builders will know much better.

first is budget like everyone says, 2nd is the purpose of ur mod, daily drive ? drag car ? fun car ? etc , want high rev ? want power at mid rev ? , going to leave the head and block stock ?

discuss with a turbo builder , tell them wht u want , they will have a suitable turbo for u , can even be custom spec for you , then u can smile , most of zth members are only users , and some mechs know alot of turbocharging if they have alredy r&d but turbo builders will know much better.

great advise from jinkl...sifu of turbo hehe:biggrin: