Lets Care Our Health ..

This is a very good article. Not only about the warm water after your
meal, but about heart attacks. The Chinese and Japanese drink hot tea
with their meals, not cold water, maybe it is time we adopt their drinking
habit while eating.

http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/6329/heartdf7.jpg

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you.
It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold
water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed.
It will slow down the digestion. Once this "sludge" reacts with the acid,
it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid
food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead
to cancer. It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal
A serious note about heart attacks - You should know that not every
heart attack symptom is going to be the left arm hurting. Be aware of
intense pain in the jaw line.
You may never have the first chest pain during the course of a heart
attack. Nausea and intense sweating are also common symptoms.
60% of people who have a heart attack while they are asleep do not
wake up. Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep. Let's be
careful and be aware. The more we know, the better chance we
could survive.

A cardiologist says if everyone who reads this message tells their friends,
you can be sure that we'll save at least one life. Read this & tell a friend.
It could save a life. So please be a true friend & tell all your friends you
care about!

Stress free in 10 minutes...

1. Do Nothing
At least once during the day, take 5 - 10 minutes to sit quietly and do
nothing. Focus on the sounds around you, your emotions and any tension in your neck, shoulders, arms, chest, etc.

2. Laugh Out Loud
Keep something handy that makes you laugh. It could be a collection of
your favorite comic strips, or a funny eMail from, say, your child or a friend. You could even take a few moments to think watching your favorite comedy serial. Turn to this every so often during your day.

3. Tune In
When you face a daunting task, play soothing music - be it classical,
country or jazz. At work you can use the CD drive on your computer to
keep the music at the ready.

4. Think Happy

Focus on someone or something you care deeply about for anywhere
from 15 seconds to 5 minutes. Or picture a scene from a peaceful vacation.
A phrase that makes you feel positive about yourself and the world can also work.

5. Hit The Road
Get up from your desk, the couch - wherever you may be - and take a 10
minute walk.

6. Breathe Easy

For 5 minutes, slow your breathing down to about 6 deep-belly breaths
a minute. In other words, inhale for about 5 seconds, exhale for about 5.

7. Rise Relaxed

Right before bed, and after the alarm goes off in the morning, take 5
minutes to relax your entire body. Start by tensing your toes;
consciously relax them. Move on to the muscles in your feet, and then
your calves, upper legs, move upwards until you end by scrunching up
and then relaxing the muscles in your face . . .

To avoid back pain...... (pictures for exercise)

Dear All,

We all sit in single position for the whole day in the office, and ride the bike all the way to our places.

As a result at night, while going to bed, many of us experience a slight pain in the back.

DON'T IGNORE IT AT ALL.....this may lead to many further deceases and disabilities as well....

Don't be panic, just do the following exercise for 10 mins every morning and shoot off the back pain.

Enjoy a healthy living....

Simple Exercises... to keep you fit and avoid back pain.

Need not visit a gym, your home may be the ideal place.

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/4450/att00021ix5.gif

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/7980/att00024md9.gif

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/1706/att00027bf9.gif

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/7129/att00030jp0.gif

http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/1680/att00033ey7.gif

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8363/att00036ox0.gif

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/4913/att00039ui8.gif

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/6070/att00042ms3.gif

http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/81/att00045hq9.gif

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/5885/att00048ae0.gif​

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/9725/dieting290b8dwr2.png

You know you are experiencing improper dieting, but do not know how to stop it! It is time to get your balance back. The following easy weight loss tips will help you lose weight in a healthy way.

7 Weight Loss Tips :-

Tip 1:
Find out how many calories you need
Do not eat more then your body need. Your diet should be according to your healthy and the consumption of food.Tip 2: Eat at least 5 servings of fruits and vegetables per day

Tip 2:
Fruits and vegetables are packed with beneficial fibers, vitamins and antioxidants. They fill up your stomach fast so you feel full earlier. They are also low in calories and helps to keep your calorie count low.

Tip 3: Do not Skip Meals
Eating small frequent meals help to balance your calorie intake throughout the day and also keeps your blood sugar level balanced. Instead of eating 3 big meals, try to eat 5 - 6 smaller meals throughout the day.

Tip 4: Go for wholesome fresh foods
If possible, purchase fresh foods and avoid package (processed) and convenient foods such as fast food. Packaged and convenient foods are often higher in sodium and fat content. Many people we spoke to are amazed that they can easily lose weight by packing a home-cooked lunch to work instead of eating out.

Tip 5: Watch for the sugary drinks
Juices, pop, cream & sugar in your coffee or tea all add up. Opt for drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day. In addition to providing hydration to your body, it will also help
you feel full.

Tip 6: Keep a food journal
Keeping a food journal helps you pin point your eating pattern and will enable you to easily modify it. If possible, have your Registered Dietitian review your journal.

Tip 7: Exercise
Most authorities recommend 30 - 60 minutes of exercise a day to stay healthy. Also try adding weight-bearing exercises at least 2 times a week. This will help burn some of the unwanted calories.

10 Tips to reduce eyestrain

Most computer users suffer from the problem of tired eyes, dark circles and headaches. Follow the ten tips to avoid them

Studies have shown that stress, active nightlife and above all, the fact that most of us spend maximum time in front of the computer lead to dark circles, puffed and tired eyes. Timely treatment is essential for such difficulties.

Specifically with computer users, physical and visual discomfort is experienced by many after just a few hours in front of computers. It appears that PC users suffer from repetitive stress of their eyes and want an immediate solution to revive the tired eyes.

Studies show that most computer users start to feel eye-muscle stress after two or more hours at the computer. This usually starts with tired eyes. With more time at the computer, discomfort frequently spreads to the head resulting in headaches, burning of the eyes, blurred vision, loss of focus, double vision, and neck and shoulder pains. Before it is too late, your stressed out eyes need to be relaxed and revitalised so that you feel fresh later in the day.

Tips to reduce eyestrain

-Modify your workstation. Adjust your workstation and chair to the correct height.
Use proper lighting.

-Match the computer screen to the brightness of the environment. The contrast between the background and on-screen characters should be high.

-Minimise the glare. Use window shades, blinds or drapes to block excessive sunlight or install an anti-glare screen to minimise reflections.

-Take frequent breaks. Full-time computer users should take a 10 minute break every hour.

-Blink more often. Tears in the eye evaporate more rapidly during long non-blinking phases and cause dry eyes.

-Get an eye examination done.

-Re-focus your eyes. Look away from your computer screen every 10-15 minutes and focus for 5-10 seconds on a distant object.

-Exercise even when sitting. Move about or exercise frequently.

-Get sufficient sleep. Fatigue promotes eyestrain.

10 Essential Health Tips

"He who has health has hope, and he who has hope has everything."

1. Move More

Make it a daily challenge to find ways to move your body. Climb stairs if given a choice between that and escalators or elevators. Walk your dog; chase your kids; toss balls with friends, mow the lawn. Anything that moves your limbs is not only a fitness tool, it's a stress buster. Think 'move' in small increments of time. It doesn't have to be an hour in the gym or a 45-minute aerobic dance class or tai chi or kickboxing. But that's great when you're up to it. Meanwhile, move more. Thought for the day: Cha, Cha, Cha…. Then do it!

2. Cut Fat
Avoid the obvious such as fried foods, burgers and other fatty meats (i.e. pork, bacon, ham, salami, ribs and sausage). Dairy products such as cheese, cottage cheese, milk and cream should be eaten in low fat versions. Nuts and sandwich meats, mayonnaise, margarine, butter and sauces should be eaten in limited amounts. Most are available in lower fat versions such as substitute butter, fat free cheeses and mayonnaise. Thought for the day: Lean, mean, fat-burning machine…. Then be one!

3. Quit Smoking

The jury is definitely in on this verdict. Ever since 1960 when the Surgeon General announced that smoking was harmful to your health, Americans have been reducing their use of tobacco products that kill. Just recently, we've seen a surge in smoking in adolescents and teens. Could it be the Hollywood influence? It seems the stars in every movie of late smoke cigarettes. Beware. Warn your children of the false romance or 'tough guy' stance of Hollywood smokers. Thought for the day: Give up just one cigarette…. the next one.

4. Reduce Stress
Easier said than done, stress busters come in many forms. Some techniques recommended by experts are to think positive thoughts. Spend 30 minutes a day doing something you like. (i.e.,Soak in a hot tub; walk on the beach or in a park; read a good book; visit a friend; play with your dog; listen to soothing music; watch a funny movie. Get a massage, a facial or a haircut. Meditate. Count to ten before losing your temper or getting aggravated. Avoid difficult people when possible. Thought for the day: When seeing red, think pink clouds….then float on them.

5. Protect Yourself from Pollution
If you can't live in a smog-free environment, at least avoid smoke-filled rooms, high traffic areas, breathing in highway fumes and exercising near busy thoroughfares. Exercise outside when the smog rating is low. Exercise indoors in air conditioning when air quality is good. Plant lots of shrubbery in your yard. It's a good pollution and dirt from the street deterrent. Thought for the day: 'Smoke gets in your eyes'…and your mouth, and your nose and your lungs as do pollutants….hum the tune daily.

6. Wear Your Seat Belt
Statistics show that seat belts add to longevity and help alleviate potential injuries in car crashes. Thought for the day: Buckle down and buckle up.

7. Floss Your Teeth
Recent studies make a direct connection between longevity and teeth flossing. Nobody knows exactly why. Perhaps it's because people who floss tend to be more health conscious than people who don't? Thought for the day: Floss and be your body's boss.

8. Avoid Excessive Drinking
While recent studies show a glass of wine or one drink a day (two for men) can help protect against heart disease, more than that can cause other health problems such as liver and kidney disease and cancer. Thought for the day: A jug of wine should last a long time.

9. Keep a Positive Mental Outlook

There's a definitive connection between living well and healthfully and having a cheerful outlook on life. Thought for the day: You can't be unhappy when you're smiling or singing.

10. Choose Your Parents Well

The link between genetics and health is a powerful one. But just because one or both of your parents died young in ill health doesn't mean you cannot counteract the genetic pool handed you. Thought for the day: Follow these basic tips for healthy living and you can better control your own destiny.

Healthy Eatings in Office

Long working hours, irregular eating patterns and no time to exercise, makes you pile on the kilos before you even realise it!

Sound familiar? So, you might try dieting, only to give up mid-way, or go on a crash diet, only to see the weight come right back on.

Let's get the facts straight.

Eating good healthy foods at regular times is the ONLY way to lose weight or stay fit, coupled with exercise of course, which we will be dealing with in the next article.

Fuel your body

Think of your body as a sophisticated machine that requires regular fuelling,with the best quality of fuel, for optimum performance.

Your machine needs to be fed with fuel five times a day. Now, if you feed it just twice, it's going to hold on to that fuel so that it lasts throughout the day, making it slow down.

If you feed your machine low-quality fuel, over time it will start malfunctioning and give you problems.

Now, draw a parallel to your body. If you don't give it food five times a day, your body will slow down, storing the food as fat since you are putting it in starvation mode.

Not only will you gain weight, but you will also be low on energy, lose concentration, and your stress levels will go up.

Feeding your body with low quality foods like fast foods, processed foods etc, will result in deficiencies leading to medical problems and superficial problems like weak nails, hair and dull skin.

A healthy eating plan

While it might be difficult to follow this initially, consciously make it a point to eat your meals, and on time, no matter what.

You will be eating three meals at work. When you eat, do just that and avoid any distractions.

Concentrate on enjoying your meal so that you don't overeat and the food is well digested.

~ Breakfast

BEFORE you leave for work, eat a wholesome breakfast. This will give you energy to start off your day.

*Bowl of cereal with skimmed milk.
*Wholegrain toast with a low fat spread of your choice.
*Egg white, preferably boiled or poached.
*Fruit of your choice
*Tea/Coffee/Juice

~ Mid-morning snack

Mid-morning you need to perk up your mind and body again so munch on a handful of nuts of your choice. Nuts contain essential fatty acids. These are the fats that your body needs. So go ahead and eat them without feeling guilty.
You can also have some coffee/tea.

~ Lunch

Carry from home any of the following:

*Roti with vegetables (cooked in olive oil) and salad.
*Wholegrain sandwich with vegetables and/or chicken/fish. No butter or fatty spreads.
*Whole wheat pasta tossed with vegetables and/or chicken/fish, cooked in olive oil

~ Early evening snack

This snack will once again increase your energy levels. Pick a fruit or a bowl of mixed fruits with a low fat yoghurt if you like. A milkshake made with just milk and fruit (no ice cream) also makes a good filling snack.

~ Dinner

When you get home, dinner should be light and easily digestible. If you are looking to lose weight have a combination of:

*Soup
*Salad (include lots of green leafy vegetables)
*A bowl of mixed, lightly-cooked lentils

For the non-veggies, chicken or fish (roasted/grilled/baked/lightly cooked) substitute the mixed lentils.
For those who simply want to eat healthy and not particularly lose weight, you can add some carbohydrate to the above like (choose any one):

*Whole wheat pasta
*Brown rice
*Whole grain bread
*Roti

Water-wise

Drink plenty of it through the day.

By following an eating plan of this sort, you are nourishing your body with essential nutrients at the time of day that your body requires them. This allows for good functioning of the body and the diet being low in fats, you will not gain weight.

Once you turn healthy eating into a habit and keep your weight in check, you can go on to enjoying the odd piece of cake!

However, diet alone is not enough to make you lose weight or keep fit. The body must do some amount of physical work regularly, just like a machine. If you don't work it enough, it will not work efficiently. Look out for the next article, which shows you how to get exercise while at work!

Once every 2 weeks can make your life longer :rofl:

hand.jpg

http://www.taurai.co.zw/wwwimages/virgin_atlantic_aeroplane.jpg

Hazards of passive smoking

How many die-hard smokers are aware that they are inadvertently causing harm to others around them because of the danger of inhaling the cigarette smoke exhaled by them? In spite of so many awareness programmes, many people tend to ignore the warnings as being over-hyped and blissfully continue to contaminate and pollute the atmosphere. It literally means that even the non-smokers are actually smoking – after all they are breathing in other people's smoke that contains the same harmful substances even if it is exhaled smoke! This then is what is commonly known as 'passive smoking'. Can you imagine the harm these toxins can cause in children who inhale this poison?

Cigarette smoke contains so many dangerous chemicals like tar (which causes cancer) carbon monoxide (which is capable of lowering the oxygen your blood can carry) poisons like arsenic, ammonia and hydrogen cyanide that can cause immeasurable harm to your health when inhaled. All these poisonous substances can be absorbed by clothes, furniture and even the walls of your house or the inside of your car. Inhaling these toxins can cause diseases like pneumonia, bronchitis, wheezing and coughing, ear infections and may even result in kids becoming asthmatic. The World Health Organization warns that this passive smoking

* Increases the risk of the kid developing heart disease and even cancer as an adult.
* May even be a contributing factor to behavioral problems and learning difficulties in children.
* Causes young kids thus exposed to become prone to more dental decay problems than other children.

Thanks to all the anti-smoking propaganda, many work places, public places, buses, shops and common areas have gone totally smoke-free. People are able to move freely without the health hazards posed by smokers. Most people have also made their homes smoke free and do not even put out ashtrays to emphasize their point. Smokers would do well to remember that by smoking in front of their kids, they not only cause damage to health but are in a way ensuring that the kids become smokers too. Now isn't that a scary thought – enough to make you stop smoking?

Tips to get rid of Pimples

Most of the pimple products on the market are just there to rip you off. There is no guaranteed cure for pimples, and there probably never will be. Keeping your face clean and moisturized is about the most important thing you can do.

Drink 8 or more glasses of water a day.

Sleep more. Your body will be more prepared to deal with problems.

Avoid touching your face, as this just spreads bacteria.

Only use oil-free products on your face.

Always use toner and moisturizer.

Wash your hands often to rid them of oils.

Vinegar works well, too.

Try Off EZY Wart Remover with 17% salicylic acid medication to each pimple individually. Do not use it everywhere, as it will sting. Apply calamine lotion around the area.

See a doctor about serious acne.

Try not to wear makeup. It clogs pores and can lead to breakouts.

Eat foods high in protein, iron, fiber, and zinc.

Give the treatments time. An acne treatment is not going to work "just like that."

Avoid the use of products with 10% or greater concentration of Benzoyl Peroxide. BP is known to cause dryness,itchyness, and burning sensation of the skin. Consult a medical professional if you experience any of these symptoms.

Accutane is a wonder drug for severe acne. Can almost wipe out breakouts with a 3-6 month treatment and can last anywhere from 1 year to a lifetime!

Wash your face and put baby powder on the area. It's the fastest way to dry those pimples out and get rid of them. Baby powder works like a charm.

If you have pimples that you want to get rid of fast, put ice on them for 30-60 seconds every 30 minutes. And then apply rubbing alcohol.

Warnings

Toothpaste doesn't really work. It's supposed to but doesn't make a noticeable difference.

Don't scratch or pick at your pimples. It will only make the situation worse. Only pop pimple if they are very white and fixing to explode; even then one should wash their hands and avoid having to apply too much pressure.

Don't wash your face too often--it can dry out your skin and cause irritation.

Hazards of passive smoking

How many die-hard smokers are aware that they are inadvertently causing harm to others around them because of the danger of inhaling the cigarette smoke exhaled by them? In spite of so many awareness programmes, many people tend to ignore the warnings as being over-hyped and blissfully continue to contaminate and pollute the atmosphere. It literally means that even the non-smokers are actually smoking – after all they are breathing in other people's smoke that contains the same harmful substances even if it is exhaled smoke! This then is what is commonly known as 'passive smoking'. Can you imagine the harm these toxins can cause in children who inhale this poison?

Cigarette smoke contains so many dangerous chemicals like tar (which causes cancer) carbon monoxide (which is capable of lowering the oxygen your blood can carry) poisons like arsenic, ammonia and hydrogen cyanide that can cause immeasurable harm to your health when inhaled. All these poisonous substances can be absorbed by clothes, furniture and even the walls of your house or the inside of your car. Inhaling these toxins can cause diseases like pneumonia, bronchitis, wheezing and coughing, ear infections and may even result in kids becoming asthmatic. The World Health Organization warns that this passive smoking

* Increases the risk of the kid developing heart disease and even cancer as an adult.
* May even be a contributing factor to behavioral problems and learning difficulties in children.
* Causes young kids thus exposed to become prone to more dental decay problems than other children.

Thanks to all the anti-smoking propaganda, many work places, public places, buses, shops and common areas have gone totally smoke-free. People are able to move freely without the health hazards posed by smokers. Most people have also made their homes smoke free and do not even put out ashtrays to emphasize their point. Smokers would do well to remember that by smoking in front of their kids, they not only cause damage to health but are in a way ensuring that the kids become smokers too. Now isn't that a scary thought – enough to make you stop smoking?

I don't understand few things.
1. Why not just ban the cigarette, as it is so harmful?
2. Why the specialist or doctor or organization or etc only say 'may', 'can be' or etc but not saying cancer definitely caused by smoking?
3. How to explain that those who smoke or those who has a smoking spouse still can live longer than non smoker?

The penang lang, Unker Lim KY, is a heavy smoker. Let's see how long he can live.

csl,
Yeah, I would fully support the ban of cigarettes entirely. Smokers causes non smokers to be passive smokers and almost all those who drive and smoke in malaysia are a serious nuisance because they just fling out their still-burning ciggies and it flies to the car behind them (that would also include me!). You can easily tell of those kind of nuisance when you see a driver who leaves his hand outside his window with a ciggy in his hand. Chances are, his ciggy will be thrown out and flying back to the car behind.

Smoking is also happening in indoor areas although many signs are placed all over the place. No, don't bother about security because they don't do nuts about those who smoke indoor.

Health Ministry should go all out to check and summon/take hard actions on ALL eateries (mamak, restaurants, cafes, etc.). Some of them, the state of their kitchen is totally unacceptable. Just earlier today, I paid RM10 for an American breakfast set, just to find some small cockroach parts lying under the cucumber! When I told the cafe staff, all they said was "sorry, if you told us earlier, we would've changed it for you." and my reaction was like, "Who gives a fuck about you changing it? People give a fuck about thinking what your kitchen is like now that I see cockroach parts in my food after i finished almost all of it!". I wanted to shout at that fucking idiot till a few streets could hear my voice and wanted to throw him through the glass window but I just kept my cool, asked for the bill. Even when the bill came, he just put it on the table and walked away. So I still remained cool, put the money on the table and just walked away. And he didn't even notice me putting the money on the table.

We can do some parts to improve our health, but there are also external factors that we almost can't control. Carbon monoxide coming from vehicles in malaysia is a total killer. Open burning kills too and the authorities ain't doing shit although there are people who have already reported open burnings. Chopping down large trees affects the environment which will indirectly us one way or another. Other people who cough/sneeze/etc. without doing it properly is spreading germs, especially in enclosed areas like lifts, trains, etc. There're probably many more areas but I just can't think of all of them.

Cervical cancer is the second most common cancer in women worldwide. And in the United States, an estimated 13,000 cases of invasive cervical cancer are expected to be diagnosed each year.

Cervical cancer is usually caused by a sexually transmitted virus called the human papilloma virus or `HPV'. Most HPV infections will not lead to cervical cancer. However, infection with these viral types can lead to abnormal changes in the cells of the cervix. Certain changes called `high-grade lesions' may progress to cervical cancer and cervical cancer signs if not treated.

Common cervical cancer signs include these symptoms:

Vaginal bleeding after sexual intercourse

Pelvic pain

Pain during sexual intercourse

Unusual vaginal discharge

Abnormal bleeding between menstrual periods

Heavy bleeding during your menstrual period

Increased urinary frequency

Pap smears are the best screening technique currently available to evaluate the cells on the face of the cervix. The Pap smear is defined as a test for the signs of cervical cancer such as cancerous or pre-cancerous cells of the cervix. Most Pap smear test results come rated from Class I through Class V.

Class I is normal,

Class II means an irritation or inflammation,

Class III means it is a true cervical dysplasia that can range from mild to serious,

Class IV may be one of a variety of pre-cancers or cancers,

Class V is one of the serious invasive cervical cancer signs.

Pap smear tests are necessary, but they are not always accurate. And their results sometimes appear normal even when a woman has the abnormal cells of cancer. If cervical cancer is suspected and the pap smear test comes back either as normal or as positive, consider getting another pap smear from a different laboratory and a second opinion from another doctor. If your Pap smear shows dysplasia, a biopsy can rule out cervical cancer.

Another testing method is being developed that uses a small fiber optic probe that may replace pap smears. This method is still being tested. Hopefully, it should give women more accurate screenings, eliminate unnecessary biopsies and help diagnose cervical cancer in its early stages.

Early stages of cervical cancer often go on without any noticeable symptoms! Cervical cancer is usually a very slow growing cancer. Cervical cancer is often diagnosed and treated in an advanced stage when the success rate is much lower. Most women that have invasive cervical cancer will be treated with surgery, chemotherapy and radiation or some combination of these. There are women that will have a hysterectomy as a consequence of cervical cancer that has spread within the cervix.

One more thing to add from my side.

Ladies/Girls/Females,
Please wash your ass after you shit. Don't just use tissue paper because there will still be shit stuck at your butt hole. It stinks of shit smell when guys doggy style you and when you spread your legs. So please, wash your ass nicely after shitting.

If you are considering these for breakfast, read this article before
visiting the mamak.

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/4893/showletterboxinboxmsgidnt2.jpg

What are the ways to stay healthy?

* Eating a diet that is low on fat, high on fibre with adequate servings of fresh vegetables and fruits is known to prevent health complications and many common illnesses. Such a diet is even known to combat some forms of cancer.
* Maintaining an optimum weight, being physically able whatever your age, going easy on high calories and salt and keeping intake of alcohol to a minimum helps in preventing cholesterol and blood pressure.
* Avoiding tobacco in any form will prove to be beneficial
* Regular exercise which is incorporated into a daily routine helps to ward off many diseases. People who have been inactive all their lives benefit when they begin to exercise even on a moderate scale. Heart diseases. Colon cancer, blood pressure and diabetes are some of the complications that can be controlled with regular exercise.
* Lighter activities like walking, climbing stairs, gardening, routine house work and dancing or light aerobics have many benefits. However, if you are used to a sedentary life, please consult your doctor before you begin any exercise regimen.
* Using seat belts while in a car and helmets when driving a two wheeler is known to have saved many lives.
* Visits to a doctor should be made on a routine basis for preventive care and counseling.

Here are some screenings that have been recommended for men and women that you should be aware of in order to play your role as family caretaker to perfection:

* Pap test for women to detect cervical cancer – yearly. For men, screen for testicular cancer – yearly.
* Have a blood glucose test done – yearly
* A mammography should be performed for detecting breast cancer – yearly. For men, check for prostate problems – yearly.
* Consult your doctor at least once about the blood tests for total cholesterol and HDL cholesterol. Follow up if there are abnormalities.
* Check for occult blood with a fecal test which will reveal silent bleeding if any, in the digestive tract.
* Have a colon and rectum test every three to five years.
* The thyroid often causes many problems. Check with a hormone test again every three to five years.
* Iron deficiencies can give rise to anaemic conditions. Check the haemoglobin and ferritin levels after consulting your doctor.
* Urine analysis is required on a regular basis if you are a diabetic. Excess protein in the urine should also be analysed.
* If you are exposed to the sun, have a skin examination done to detect skin cancer.
* A lipid profile is a must if you have coronary disease.
* Tests for glaucoma should be conducted if you are over 40 years of age, especially if there is a family history of glaucoma.