Lame Censorship

Slipknot Fanatic

Just finish watching Team America and damn hell its a damn good movie to watch if you are a South Park fan. I cannot believe why the government did not allow the movie to be shown in movie theatres here. There is nothing wrong of making fun of Kim Jong Il, Hans Brix, Tony Blair, George W. Bush and other politicians. Last time they even banned South Park The Movie just because it made fun of Saddam Hussein screwing Satan. Even my seven year old sister finds South Park and Family Guy funny and ammusing.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
Just finish watching Team America and damn hell its a damn good movie to watch if you are a South Park fan. I cannot believe why the government did not allow the movie to be shown in movie theatres here. There is nothing wrong of making fun of Kim Jong Il, Hans Brix, Tony Blair, George W. Bush and other politicians. Last time they even banned South Park The Movie just because it made fun of Saddam Hussein screwing Satan. Even my seven year old sister finds South Park and Family Guy funny and ammusing.

I did watched South Park not bad.

Plz dont flame me, I think they banned South Park bcoz they curse n say bad to gods (all kinds of gods.. u know what i mean) . I didnt see that episode yet.

Our censorship board is overdoing their job (one of the very few gov bodies who actually do so)

Let our kids live in such a "clean" environment, and lets see how they deal with the cultural shock when they move abroad.

If the audience cant differentiate between a joke and a real insult, then they are too sensitive to live in this world.

well, thank goodness we have torrents..

the censorship board very selfish ... they watch it themselves, all the good parts in the movies ... then they decide not to show it ...kakakaka.....

Slipknot Fanatic said:

Come on .... are you really serious ... You really expect the government to screen south part the movie..... I watched ... Seriously darn funny especially the Uncle Fucker song .... But done that movie was too much lah ..... To many slapstick jokes man . With Satan in there ( recall why they banned Dare Devil ) .... And with the ass fucking scene ...

Mana boleh ...... They funny thing is about our country is that we actually have people to decide what is good or bad for us . Given this attitude by the government , we have say sorry for Vision 2020 or any other vision for that matter.

Stupid moron's .... Waste of my tax money only.

America, Fuck yeah!!!

The puppet scat sex part really got me, hahahaha.

when u guys have children then u'll understand why censorship exist.

parents would want their children to learn all the bad stuffs, before they even learn what is right or wrong. Yes, u can blame it on the parents as its their duty to teach what is right or wrong, but u can't do much when the media around you is corrupted.

:biggrin: If they released this show in the cinema..then hell anything can be showed :rock: They should make special categories la ... UNCENCORED shows .. whats wrong ? ... putla entrence age at 23 or somthing .. charge higher .. whats the use going to see a movie when half way through an intimate scene .. you suddenly end up the next morning with both of them drinking coffe .. mauhauah .. :bath:

COME on Malaysia ... OPEN MINDED abit !! .. dont suffocate your self with trying to protect the innocence of the young ones when its alredy obvious they know about all this by std 6 !!

With internet, kids nowaday get porn faster than our age. I really think we shouldn't ban anything, we should deliver the right mindset to them. Good and bad, you accept them.

As a parent, you guideline is very important to the kids. Most ppl just know how to make babies, but don't know how to teach them.
For example, a scene in a lift. A kid picks up his toy un and shoots at everyone. Then he points the gun at his head and shoot himself. While his parent just standing there without a word.
I believe he picked that up from a movie.

knowing the existance and knowing the rights and the wrongs are two different things.

being an adult we are able to make proper judgement and decisions.

lets put in this way, imagine your 4 yr old daughter says this in the morning... "fuck you dad" ... dude.. hell broke loose. Thatz just a small example.

not being able to watch a small fraction of a movie does not contribute to any disasterous outcome, but showing it all may cause a domino effect of wrong doings, if no proper guidance is present.

duh.. wat am i? a priest? hahahaha... wtf... all i know, watch it discretely... u wouldn't want to watch porn or sexual scene with your child...

NOSkill said:
With internet, kids nowaday get porn faster than our age. I really think we shouldn't ban anything, we should deliver the right mindset to them. Good and bad, you accept them.

As a parent, you guideline is very important to the kids. Most ppl just know how to make babies, but don't know how to teach them.
For example, a scene in a lift. A kid picks up his toy un and shoots at everyone. Then he points the gun at his head and shoot himself. While his parent just standing there without a word.
I believe he picked that up from a movie.
yea, its the up bringing that counts... but media still play a big role in up bringging.

itz a chicken and egg situation here....

True true ... TV cencorship I agree because its going to cover a larger population, but by paying to watch a movie you are alredy being selective. If your gonna label a movie 18SX and cencor the sex/violence scenes in the movie..Why label it as 18 SX ?? ... You want your childern to be good people, then dont blame the world cause the world is never going to be a paradise ..

zephyr3d does make some good points. i'm pretty sure most parent appreaciate a degree of censorship. the mind of a child is like a sponge and as such they absorb everything they see or hear. when exposed to this frequently enough, their minds become conditioned to believe everything they see or hear. unlike adults, they do not have the ability to differentiate what is real and what is not, what is logical and what isn't. i read an article sometime back that spoke about a childs upbringing and how parents sometimes inaverdently limit the growth of their childs potential. a child starts to scribble on the wall, what do most parent do? hit his hand and give him a right scolding. do this continuosly enough and the child will never again dare to pick up a colour pencil. he has been conditioned to do so are the consequence is a slap on the hand. he may have one day been a famous artiste. who knows?

coming back to the topic, i believe a degree of censorship should exist if only we as adults are given a choice to control is ourselves. who is the government to tell me how to raise my child? what gives them the right to tell me what's best? these are questions that the rebelious me will ask. they claim that even adults are influenced and rightly so. we pick up slangs, jargon and even fashion sense. what we don't do (well most sane adults anyway) is jump from buildings thinking we can fly, any adult stupid enough to think that should jump anyway. the govt has tried to limit the degree of influence the west exerts over the rest of the world and this is something I question! why are we being sheltered? to protect us? i don't think so. as an individual i want to see all that i can, i want to learn, to grow and then make a choice of who i want to be, as an adult of course. if censorship gets in the way of this, then fuck them is what i say.

but i do agree the censorship does at times went overboard. Itz ok to censor any sexual scenes la.. but sometimes, a minor thingy, like kissing, or just alittle revealing cloths and they censored the whole damn scene...

hmm... difficult choice. I've been in censorship dept before, i mean my previous job does movie editing for digital broadcasting... well i get to watch the 'raw material' ... but i'll have to censor some scenes. I dont censor vulgar, or those small intimacy scenes la.. it spoils the whole show. I'll just censor bogel and ush ush part.

zephyr3d said:
but i do agree the censorship does at times went overboard. Itz ok to censor any sexual scenes la.. but sometimes, a minor thingy, like kissing, or just alittle revealing cloths and they censored the whole damn scene...

hmm... difficult choice. I've been in censorship dept before, i mean my previous job does movie editing for digital broadcasting... well i get to watch the 'raw material' ... but i'll have to censor some scenes. I dont censor vulgar, or those small intimacy scenes la.. it spoils the whole show. I'll just censor bogel and ush ush part.

seriously? i worked in film distribution for 2 years. getting films approved by you guys was tough work man. we sometimes had to go through as many as 3 panels. so, you're the guy that was giving me all that shit eh? :biggrin:

Duke Red said:
zephyr3d does make some good points. i'm pretty sure most parent appreaciate a degree of censorship. the mind of a child is like a sponge and as such they absorb everything they see or hear. when exposed to this frequently enough, their minds become conditioned to believe everything they see or hear. unlike adults, they do not have the ability to differentiate what is real and what is not, what is logical and what isn't. i read an article sometime back that spoke about a childs upbringing and how parents sometimes inaverdently limit the growth of their childs potential. a child starts to scribble on the wall, what do most parent do? hit his hand and give him a right scolding. do this continuosly enough and the child will never again dare to pick up a colour pencil. he has been conditioned to do so are the consequence is a slap on the hand. he may have one day been a famous artiste. who knows?

coming back to the topic, i believe a degree of censorship should exist if only we as adults are given a choice to control is ourselves. who is the government to tell me how to raise my child? what gives them the right to tell me what's best? these are questions that the rebelious me will ask. they claim that even adults are influenced and rightly so. we pick up slangs, jargon and even fashion sense. what we don't do (well most sane adults anyway) is jump from buildings thinking we can fly, any adult stupid enough to think that should jump anyway. the govt has tried to limit the degree of influence the west exerts over the rest of the world and this is something I question! why are we being sheltered? to protect us? i don't think so. as an individual i want to see all that i can, i want to learn, to grow and then make a choice of who i want to be, as an adult of course. if censorship gets in the way of this, then fuck them is what i say.
Aptly put.

I'd like to add something though. When you try to control any life, life will find a way to break free, violently if neccessary. Strict parents usually classify this as rebellion. Censorship, social and religious taboos are flawed. The more you try to withold, the more they will try to find out. Sex for instance. If everyone in our society runs around naked, it becomes a norm and nobody will give a damn about it. It's like, "Hey that chick is naked. Yeah, so what? So is everyone else.". But if everyone in society is covered up like ninjas, any little flash of flesh could lead to extreme reactions.