jpj approval pricing

oh ya, i gotta tell ya it's getting much stricter nowadays for jpj approvals, esp on turbo engines (probably too many accidents on the road), so 2 litre turbos are extremely hard for straight approvals (straight approval means without extra money paid-lar), last i heard 1.5 to 1.8 apps failed by few car owners. so be extra careful before doing anything.

how about 1.6 to 1.6 same capacity ??
toyota 1.6 (4afe) to 1.6 (4age) ??
need to go kawal selia also ma??

wfhan,

as i said, pls check with jpj first, there are few categories for engine change, but as far as i know (although may not apply throughout whole malaysian states), all engine transplant may need jpj's strict scrutiny, there's no one answer to this, most ppl will say the same thing like me, but in my honest opinion, best to get jpj putrajaya's letter as proof for many years later just in case something happened and u can prove that u have the right to change the engine in the first place, and not by just saying my car grant has been legitimately amended by JPJ....

remember there was a time when JPJ / BPR starts interrogating some car owners having 2 litre engines from 1.3, that was legally done many years back, but for now if u just changed and got into jpj roadblocks, ur kaput and histories to be revealed to answer questions like how u got this approve in the first place???

save the trouble, get approved first before doing anything (although some may not follow this route)....

wfhan,

i've also heard from many car owners, esp same engine capacity and same makes (means proton to proton, or toyota to toyota) do not require kawal selia due to no increase in displacement at all, however i didn't go through this route so i disclaim my advice from any legal suits, u still gotta ask around, also i tried many times asking different JPJ branches via phone calls or personal visits, each will tell different story, please be careful....

all i'm saying is that branches have limited rights to approve certain applications, but putrajaya as the HQ will have all rights under the roof, eg. my left hand pillar change, i was surprised to see certain repair apps (after accident) needed to be reported and request to be made to JPJ for notification and approvals, and the branch has a list of what are the things they can approve and what can't which will need to go through HQ, that's what we call escalation!!

happy motoring...

kennethfong said:
wfhan,

i've also heard from many car owners, esp same engine capacity and same makes (means proton to proton, or toyota to toyota) do not require kawal selia due to no increase in displacement at all, however i didn't go through this route so i disclaim my advice from any legal suits, u still gotta ask around, also i tried many times asking different JPJ branches via phone calls or personal visits, each will tell different story, please be careful....

all i'm saying is that branches have limited rights to approve certain applications, but putrajaya as the HQ will have all rights under the roof, eg. my left hand pillar change, i was surprised to see certain repair apps (after accident) needed to be reported and request to be made to JPJ for notification and approvals, and the branch has a list of what are the things they can approve and what can't which will need to go through HQ, that's what we call escalation!!

happy motoring...
how long does it takes to get the "surat kawal selia". I already go there twice in almost a month. First to apply the letter then they told me to get approval from JPJ Pemeriksaan (not puspakom). then have to wait again...how long arrrr....?

Dear all, Wat is tis "Surat Kawal Selia"?? Do I still need that if I've got aproved by JPJ & Puspakom de. Tats last year approval for my engine conversion. Sorry.. I'm confused. :confused_smile:

what i know only 'Proton Car' must get the approval from bahagian kawal selia before go 2 puspakom n jpj andosment..other's car no need that approval..

john doe,

jpj pemeriksaan? i think they're referring u to kawal selia me think, jpj got so many depts, bahagian perhubungan awam, pemeriksaan, siasatan, teknik (kawal selia) and others....

i usually send via post, and within 4 weeks time they'll reply back to me....

kennethfong said:
kk,

i'm from penang, previously u mentioned just go straight to JPJ, i think it's incorrect procedure, nowadays whatever engine transplant will require the letter from Pusat Kawal Selia Putrajaya, so unless u get that approval letter, ur not endorsing the engine yet....

just received my approval from putrajaya on my gsr conversion, be going to Puspakom this monday.

hi kenneth,
Actually that is the "original" process. As same model car, like proton change to other proton engine, you are not going to get that SURAT KAWAL SELIA. And now, if you change to GSR, MIRAGE, MIVEC engine, all these engine are from MISTUBISHI, and NOT PROTON, you got to have that letter. Once get that letter, goes for inspection. Pay RM40. Fail, repair the errors given, then re-inspect and paid RM15 only if not mistaken.

any 2.0L car, I can say is SORRY ya bang', u punya kerata sudah confrim tak boleh pass. Unless your car originally is 2.0L already.
1.3 to 1.3/1.5/1.6 Still okay because below 25% over capacity. Please take note, NOT 30%, is ONLY 25%!
1.5 max to 1.8, ok!
1.6 to 1.8, ok!
1.8 to 1.8, ok!
1.8 to 2.0... this one still is a question mark. But few customer of my fren workshop fail sometime already. Now still don't know yet.

In fact, my 1.3 to 1.6 is still in progress and I didn't go for inspection yet. Cause awaiting for the letter from BAHAGIAN TEKNIK JPJ at HQ,Putrajaya.

When I done, will update you guys. Probably will be next week.

hi kk9972...

i'm try 2 go first neex week on 28th by myself (Bahagian Kawal selia Putrajaya)
if i can get the approval in 1 day...kira oklah...
my frend told if i submit the letter here (Alor Setar) maybe take a month to process
n i dont wan to let it for the long time 2 register my car

k, i'm tried 1st

kennethfong said:
john doe,

jpj pemeriksaan? i think they're referring u to kawal selia me think, jpj got so many depts, bahagian perhubungan awam, pemeriksaan, siasatan, teknik (kawal selia) and others....

i usually send via post, and within 4 weeks time they'll reply back to me....

hi kennethfong,

yup, 3 weeks after my first submission they ask me to come and collect a letter to bring my car to JPJ Pemeriksaan. The purpose is to check the engine, brakes and suspensions. They will issue PG10 report indicate that the car safety upgrade were in satisfaction. Bring back the PG10 and get new kawal selia number. 2 weeks more they said to wait. Still donno approve or not.....haiya...tired oledi maaa..

john_____doe said:
hi kennethfong,

yup, 3 weeks after my first submission they ask me to come and collect a letter to bring my car to JPJ Pemeriksaan. The purpose is to check the engine, brakes and suspensions. They will issue PG10 report indicate that the car safety upgrade were in satisfaction. Bring back the PG10 and get new kawal selia number. 2 weeks more they said to wait. Still donno approve or not.....haiya...tired oledi maaa..

dear john_doe,
wut sort of letter that u refering to?!!....need 3 weeks to collect da letter?!! wut kinda documentation u submitted?....need original car registration card to show them ah?....

it's a letter instructs to go to JPJ Pemeriksaan for initial checkup. all original doc they want to see.

john_____doe said:
it's a letter instructs to go to JPJ Pemeriksaan for initial checkup. all original doc they want to see.

wat is JPJ Pemeriksaan ? Puspakom is it?

may i ask.. during the waiting time to be called by them to collect document and inspection.. errrr....we still can use our car daily right? what happends if we bumped into
jpj roadblocks??

jpj roadblock!! chow lerr if u make a transplants not follow the regulation...
bring along with u all the necessery document n show2 them...it's ok wat
remember..Dont Run, scaring for wat?

How about the mivec 2.0 upgrade to 2500 cc?
How much the road tax and misc fees.

i had go 2 bahagian kawal selia putrajaya on 28/8/06..
want 2 know what happen!!

can submit but must wait until 3 week...
if u wan 2 go prepair all the necessery doc (Completed) if not..sendri mau ingatla kwn..

parking so far to the office....klu kena naik turun..letih loooo

Hi all, 1x stupid question.. If my car already endosed, do i still need to get surat kawal selia from JPJ? :_: