btw, frank, you remember we discussed about the racing harness the other day... you said that its not legalised cause it may break your bones during an accident... now i think back.. why ALL racing cars use racing harness if it will break your bones? doesn't make sense right?
I remember last time a G2C friend told me. When using racing harness, you must pull the harness very tightly that you cannot even move forward an inch... if you do that, you won't break your bones. Whereas, if you just drape it around like an accessory, it will break your bones during a hard impact...
And one more thing, those 4" harness are FIA approved racing harness and is a must for any competition.
The reason why its not for normal road cars is maybe hard to get out off i guess. its the same for those roll cages. You might be trapped in it instead during a car crash.
yup. what you said does make sense but i dun really agreed IMO.
1st we must understand how those racing car being construct and factor that they had put in. Lets dump F1 aside as they do have crumble zone (all F1 chasis have to send to FIA for crash test). So we looking into touring car types.
Lets take note, those car majority if not all was already chasis lighten. So the speed momentum wasnt as great as our normal car. Again, with ligthen chasis, braking efficiency does improve greatly as well. It will be able to decrease speed greatly in shorter distance to compare with our normal road car.
Lets see in another point of view. Those car only race in controlled enviroment (circuit). When they impact/crash, its either skid off over the corner and crash to the crash barrier or bump with others car and skid off. Now, think of this. When the car skid, they brake. Light chasis, they manage to sheer off great amount of speed. Thn went into sandtrap/graveltrap, again, another step decrease speed thn hit (even head on) with crash barrier which normally constructed by rubber material. So with all these factor, alot of force was being absorb before the the human body.
Also should the car skid sideway and being bang from the incoming car, its more on seat design and side roll bar job thn harness. Thn we look into normal city road. Whn we accident, normally its way too late scenario. Either front car accidently stop, we didnt see corner coming or opp car overtaking. All these is caught us on suprise. And by the time we apply brake, most likely is 100% step onto brake pedal and tire streeching all the way till bang.
So from there u can imagine the speed we carry and the impact greatness. Due to our car is normal street car, the full weight momentum is there. And the object that we hit, its like you're crashing into stationary object. Compare with the circuit or racecar impact, don't u think its very different?
what your fren said is right. Whn using harness, you must strap till u cant even move. that why u see those race driver, after they strap they will try to move and see is there any freeplay. Also, the size of harness and how u mount your harness. Remmeber i told you your harness have to be mounted onto chasis instead tie with the seat together?
Hard to escape is more on buckle design and the reason i was being explain by SMA (singapore motorsport association) for banned rollcage was, not all rollcage is FIA approve and or tested. Each have have unique inroom design and each type of rollcage (4, point, 8 point) have to be crach and test thn only can be certified. With self made or normal after market rollcage, whn happen accident its more prone to break on joint section and become fatal object (broke out into shape object and pierce thru) whn accident happen.
of course, not saying with harness or rollcage, accident happen sure die or break chest. its more on how u impact and the speed being carry. Of course, there is no me right or you wrong. Its how we all look into it only. Afterall, don't those race car fella if bang on highspeed, still masuk hospital with broken ribs/hand/legs? whahahahahah