ITBs.. Need indentification help.

shiroitenshi

Does any of the zth'ers recognise this ITB?

It's from japan, no visible markings, uses some sort of adapter runners that is able to use the original fuel rail of the R's.

Not mine, but rather a friend's who's asking me to guess..

Well.. I really don't have any idea so hope one (or two) of you guys might know the origin of the ITB.

I'm thinking it's one of those independent garages making their own parts, something like SS Work's. Thing is.. which garage?

Don't ask about the background.. My friend's a big fan of ITBs. haha.. I'm a big fan oso.. but I'm not about to use anything I can't tune myself.

ITBrear.jpg

ITBfront.jpg

i can see a map sensor there. is it a standard map sensor for vtec or what?

Obviously it's not from Japan,,,it's either TWM or Weber itb.
Hmm.. from what I've seen of TWM's ITBs on their website, they use linkage for the butterfly valve... but this one is just a shaft. TWM runners are one piece.. Weber.. I'm not so sure..

Edit: Just checked.. TWM and Weber ITBs both use linkage types to open the butterfly valves.

This one in the picture is two pieces.. and believed to be made that way so that swapping the runners is posssible to fit OTHER makes of engines.. the 4AG for example.. This, I don't think it's from the west..

The positioning of the injectors are also not typical of Weber or TWM.

Can be more specific, V8nutter? Could this be the earlier versions of TWM or Weber ITBs?

how much he got it shiro?
He won't say.. and he bought it for personal use... I think he got it cheap.. but not sure exactly how cheap. I know him well though, if he finds something that's a bargain.. he buys it immediately, never mind that he & I have absolutely zero knowledge about ITBs. haha.. Well.. we'll figure out something.. eventually.

i can see a map sensor there. is it a standard map sensor for vtec or what?

No.. that's not a map sensor.. that's the TPS. The MAP sensor is located elsewhere.

the throttlebodies & trumpets are from OER. the throttle cable has been modified.

not a toda
not a twm
not a keihin ssworks
not a-sports

thats all i can think of at the moment.

I suspected it's a custom... thanks for the input J101.. let me know if you can think of anything else.

jsracing use them allot last time but im not sure about the latter track cars like ek9 or dc2 since i never see them using the quads in hyperrev mags. only the crx was the baddest.

u can chk out OER for more details. the adapter came from somewhere else for bseries quads i reckon. yeah "custom" like u said.

http://www.oer.co.jp/

Done already.. must be an old model.. seems like the newer ones use linkages for the butterflies.

The manifold looks like weber (have 2 injector placement), the butterfly is like from ae101,,,trumpets is custom. When you look at the side of the butterfly,,,they have 2 TPS adjustment,,,original is only 1, meaning that they do another TPS metal on the other side.

Thanks V8 nutter..

Since it's not really complete, need to source a vacuum log and probably some more bits.

Since you know fabrication of ITBs.. can you PM me your contact number, in case my friend wants to source some bits?

Write your reply...