Lightened flywheel..Need Help!!!

civicjim

- Hello my fellow friends..i just need to know is it good to lightened the original flywheel????

- Can someone help me or high light this matter.Bcoz i'm thinking to do this but i need some advice from you all...what is the pros and cons to do this...tq....:regular_smile:

btw, i'm driving a honda civic SR4 1.6L SingleCam non vtec (Local)...pls advice, thanks again...

theres nothing much to it. you can lighten it to around 5kg. pros is cheap, cons is not as light as the aftermarket ones but its suitable for normal driving since you are not racing in the track anyways.

Pro - you will gey quick respond from yours throtle

Con-you lost tork when climb hill.

Just my exprience.

semutapi said:
Pro - you will gey quick respond from yours throtle

Con-you lost tork when climb hill.

Just my exprience.

Feeling good or bad? I am planning to lighten it but buy a spare one first.:cry_smile:

Of course feel good....
RPM respond faster..
if you like to test pickup
But if to lighten problem to climb Genting ma....
lost a lot tork at high gear....

Can anybody clarify on this? Theoritically,

Heavy flywheel = rpm climbs slow, and drops slow too

Lightweight flywheel = rpm climbs fast, and drops fast due to less inertia on the flywheel (not so smooth drive when u change gears)... rite?

Yep,it's true..
if u lighten it,sometimes u feel that u are driving an AT(gear drop)..
but it's good for pick up lah..

naik genting takyah la laju2..slow2 get the refreshment ahaks

Hello brothers, thanks for the positive feedbacks.

Did brothers lighten your original one or buy aftermarket ones?

If you lighten your original one, where to do it? balanced it?

Thank you so much.

Well thank you very much you guys..

Hmmm i'm now thinking of doing the flywheel.50-50 rite now...

tq for the feedbck guys....

i would love to have the toda flywheel :) as usual belanja lebih sikit. just imagine if you have a heavy flywheel(stock ones) then it will take a lot of power to get the flywheel to rotate. drag racing(not belakang rumah street racing) needs a little heavier flywheel to help you launch off the line because drag racing is about getting going from a stand still therefore the heavier flywheels store more energy lar to get you going.

on the other hand road racing you are actually already going and dont need to start from a stand still, therefore you want ultra light for best rolling start accel and throttle response.

i would say bottom line is the heavy flywheels are good for some apps, not saying that putting a heavy flywheel makes you car faster, but a flywheel too light may not help for drag, it's alll about getting out there and trying. by the time u have dilemma about the flywheel weights, we gonna have a jun3 vs todaC topic again. ha ha ha

if the toda ones are meant for "race use onry" i guessed we better settled for stock flywheels then since "race use onry" applies to stronger engines and track purpose only that happens prolly during the weekends only or once in a blue moon.

just my 2 cents, to those sifus and physicists, maybe u can elaborate more about it from torque to inertia and etc.

superstreet said:
Can anybody clarify on this? Theoritically,

Heavy flywheel = rpm climbs slow, and drops slow too

Lightweight flywheel = rpm climbs fast, and drops fast due to less inertia on the flywheel (not so smooth drive when u change gears)... rite?

ek9 flywheel...lighter than the stock...heavier than toda, but it's cheaper...so it's a good bargain between the 2 ler in my opinion....

udeng, b16a fr EK using the same flywheel with ek9. its 6.2kg if not mistaken.
ur case no need to change to ek9... hehe

J101,
i do agree with u coz last time when i'm using toda for my b16a very slow to move fr standstill position n especially during launching... hehhehe
n yes the rpm climb fast n drop oso very fast.
then i change back to standard one. feel better for daily driving.

Just to share with u guys, i'm using lightweight aftermarket flywheel.. (i didn't change it, it came with my halfcut)... when driving, i'm experiencing discomfort when changing gears coz the rpm drops really quick when i hit the clutch.. need to either shift really fast, or rev up higher b4 shifting to avoid that ratio jerk.. but i'm still finding out whether it's really the flywheel punya pasal or ada things like my idling.. tps, EACV etc... any of u guys experience this?

wan, i believe its bcoz of the flywheel.. i experience the same thing when using toda 4.1kg previously.

Erm my experience.Last time i was using type r flywheel.For type r flywheel,the pick up kinda weak comparing to a toda lightweight flywheel which i'm using now.Responde was marvellous!

But lose torque as they said.