Is this Proton new model?

Originally posted by beatnik+Jan 19 2005, 11:47 -->
QUOTE (beatnik @ Jan 19 2005, 11:47 )
--QuoteBegin-AE-86
@Jan 19 2005, 10:28
all this information are provide by a stranger that i meet in proton edar shah alam ;)

lol the stranger talked c0ck [/b][/quote]
yup.. that pic is definitely not true.. Proton is planning a sport car in deed but not to that extend laa.. the look of it has hinted cc of beyond 4000 liau.. Proton sport car will be one that is made with Lotus Elise inspiration.. Proton Edar merely trading place, how they would know leh.. Plus a stranger sumore.. :)

i think these are real pre-launching pics. Like last time when someone posted the Gen-2 pre-launching pics, most thought ther were not real, but it was.

Not bad for the design, but hope the price is cheap! lol

Originally posted by tajulsans+Jan 19 2005, 19:55 -->
QUOTE (tajulsans @ Jan 19 2005, 19:55 )
Originally posted by beatnik@Jan 19 2005, 11:47
--QuoteBegin-AE-86
@Jan 19 2005, 10:28
all this information are provide by a stranger that i meet in proton edar shah alam ;)

lol the stranger talked c0ck

yup.. that pic is definitely not true.. Proton is planning a sport car in deed but not to that extend laa.. the look of it has hinted cc of beyond 4000 liau.. Proton sport car will be one that is made with Lotus Elise inspiration.. Proton Edar merely trading place, how they would know leh.. Plus a stranger sumore.. :) [/b][/quote]
If SMR, sport car not so. But hot hatch a definite way to go with it.

Originally posted by edgar_raphael@Jan 21 2005, 17:26
i think these are real pre-launching pics. Like last time when someone posted the Gen-2 pre-launching pics, most thought ther were not real, but it was.

Not bad for the design, but hope the price is cheap! lol
since it's a satria replacement..it shud be positioned below gen2 so the price shud be juz below gen2

got tis juz now..
im not sure it've been posted b4..
dun flame me..

edited: got it after a search in http://webdb1.patent.gov.uk/rs-bin/RightSite/formexec?edition=All&main=12&sub=08&subsub=All&proprietorname=PROTON&pstype=C&andor=LOC&DMW_SEARCH_TEXT=&TPO_CHUNK_SIZE=32&DMW_INPUTFORM=tpo%2Flocarno_results&DMW_ATTRIBUTES=object_name&DMW_TYPE=design&PREVIOUS_FORM=SEARCH&TPO_HITS_SO_FAR=0&BROWSER_TYPE=ie4&PREVIOUS_SEARCH_FORM=EDITION7

i belive i spotted srm just now in seremban town
its a hatch with fullblack sticker all around the body, another car(something like lotus elise la) same full balck sticker followed by two blue no plate waja
dont have picture :(
i need camera phone!

hmmm, this might explains y i always see a peugeot 206 at the proton factory..

1) the rear boot where the logo is at.. it has a strip and the logo is embedded into the strip.. similar to the 206

2) the rear's glass is curvy - similar to the 206

3) and the red colour hazard light above the exhaust, similar to the 206..

just my 2 cents..

Originally posted by gilamonster@Jan 23 2005, 20:42

1) the rear boot where the logo is at.. it has a strip and the logo is embedded into the strip.. similar to the 206

just my 2 cents..
Proton has a few foreign makes around R&D, this is usually for benchmarking. You will also see one or two Renault Clios (yums!) and Meganes.

Originally posted by Crash+Jan 24 2005, 10:48 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 24 2005, 10:48 )
--QuoteBegin-gilamonster
@Jan 23 2005, 20:42

just my 2 cents..

Proton has a few foreign makes around R&D, this is usually for benchmarking. You will also see one or two Renault Clios (yums!) and Meganes. [/b][/quote]
yup, thats true.. they use those cars to study the styling and the way to design a "good car" .. they also have the EP type R.. heard the SRM design is inspired by the EP.. but i agree it has som 206 accent..

By the way, did u notice that the Gen2 Front end design is very much similar to an MG Rover, i dont know what model but it is the huge body type.. the radiator hole, front head lamp and even the bumper profile is very the very look alike loo

Originally posted by tajulsans+Jan 24 2005, 19:43 -->
QUOTE (tajulsans @ Jan 24 2005, 19:43 )
Originally posted by Crash@Jan 24 2005, 10:48
--QuoteBegin-gilamonster
@Jan 23 2005, 20:42

just my 2 cents..

Proton has a few foreign makes around R&D, this is usually for benchmarking. You will also see one or two Renault Clios (yums!) and Meganes.

yup, thats true.. they use those cars to study the styling and the way to design a "good car" .. they also have the EP type R.. heard the SRM design is inspired by the EP.. but i agree it has som 206 accent..

By the way, did u notice that the Gen2 Front end design is very much similar to an MG Rover, i dont know what model but it is the huge body type.. the radiator hole, front head lamp and even the bumper profile is very the very look alike loo [/b][/quote]
hmmm, yeah.. quite true.. didn't realise it till i saw one today at 1 U and read dis reply.. correct me if i'm wrong, think the model is MG-ZT (UK) which the butt/rear is close or similar to a Bently's..

check it out here:

http://www3.mg-rover.com/mg_GB_en/static/node9186.html

it z Proton will be launching new tiara TRM models next month?
saw it at friday sinchew paper

"The smaller one, the TRM, will be a 1.2-litre five-door hatchback that is similar in size to the Hyundai Getz. It is due next month." ;)

Originally posted by alien@Jan 22 2005, 14:07
got tis juz now..
im not sure it've been posted b4..
dun flame me..

edited: got it after a search in http://webdb1.patent.gov.uk/rs-bin/RightSite/formexec?edition=All&main=12&sub=08&subsub=All&proprietorname=PROTON&pstype=C&andor=LOC&DMW_SEARCH_TEXT=&TPO_CHUNK_SIZE=32&DMW_INPUTFORM=tpo%2Flocarno_results&DMW_ATTRIBUTES=object_name&DMW_TYPE=design&PREVIOUS_FORM=SEARCH&TPO_HITS_SO_FAR=0&BROWSER_TYPE=ie4&PREVIOUS_SEARCH_FORM=EDITION7
I think this picture is the TRM... right ?? :P

no offence to anyone but dunno y it looks a lil bit like a dog's head.. or maybe i'm too imaginative.. ;)

font lights looks like a bit of a BMW.. the top portion (signal lights)
rear light cluster looks like the 307's
front grill think can say almost similar to a waja..

just my 2 cents..

Originally posted by tkkhoo@Jan 23 2005, 20:00
i belive i spotted srm just now in seremban town
its a hatch with fullblack sticker all around the body, another car(something like lotus elise la) same full balck sticker followed by two blue no plate waja
dont have picture :(
i need camera phone!
;) bro i saw it too....but in genting leh,think they r testing the car.