is it worth?

patrickchong

helo, i would like to ask u all hondarian about a car price, coz im going to buy a honda eg, its 2 doors, interior converted to eg6, no sun roof, rear bonnet converted, skyline blue, engine 1.6 standard, with duno 15' or 16' sport rim, i think is taiwan rim, sell for rm25,000. is it worth? or i can get cheaper price on other seller ? beside tat, if i wan to convert to dohc v tec, i need to find whole half cut or can i change just only the engine part and ecu? coz the car is coming with manual tranmission, how much is for a b16a half cut and just the engine b16a. thanks for viewing.

conversion + halfcut is 5-10K.. depending on work and parts required.

can source for cheaper EG, if you want to convert, because you won't be using the engine anymore... so find a car with problem engine (check the chassis though!) and nego for cheap.

then ur opinion tat the eg is not worth the price.. still looking..... location also a problem for me.., coz need view the car this tat...... bla bla

Since this is a common question.. let's put in in one place for posteriety.

This is dedicated to people out there who likes the old school honda (88-91,92-95,96-00). Want to call it vintage might be insulting to VW beetle fans.. (which I am one, but cannot afford :P)

To answer the question...

Just be patient...
Not to say the the car price is expensive.. it highly depends on what you want to do with the car and what sort of budget you're expecting for mods, and what mods are already done on the car.
To buy a car for modding.. make a checklist of what is important and what is not.

For me, at least, this was what I came up with. (of course, in my mods, the only thing that that stayed stock is the body panels and chassis.. everything else wasn't. REMEMBER that this was what my priorities were, and they MIGHT NOT be what you have in mind.. the important thing is to decide what YOU WANT.

Important:-

a) Chassis must be rust-free or have minimal surface rust that can be removed.
b) Not necessarily accident free, but the damage must be repairable (get a bodyshop guy you trust for an opinion)
c) Mountings for various part must be in good condition (so you don't end up installing a part to find out it doesn't fit/mounting is bent/hole is not in the right spot) --> easy to miss.. I missed out the bent wheel well when I bought the car.. the strut bar couldn't fit since the holes were off by about 2mm. (later sent to the bodyshop and checked the front end alignment.
d) zero mods (all parts are bought beforehand prior to purchase of the car)

Not important

a) Interior isn't important - to be replaced --> use this excuse to nego cheaper, if the interior is not in a good condition
b) engine not important (as long as can move, unless you know a tow truck operator that can tow the car to the workshop) --> also can use for some haggling leverage)
c) body panels --> can be changed, but nego for cheaper price if this is an issue, because you will use the money saved from this for chopshop body panels.

Things you will PROBABLY need to replace:-
a) all rubber seals (doors, windows, engine)
b) all sorts of gasket (the halfcut will be at least 11 years old! >for EG, and minimum 6 years old for EK)
c) body panels/those plastic bumpers (maybe!)
d) suspension --> unless you plan to run stock units, which is kind of strange if you want B16A power.
e) the rear end/front end brake system... like maybe converting to a disc brake conversion (unless you bought the car with rear discs, in which case paying slightly higher might be necessary, depending on how much you think it's worth it)
f) pistons and rings (if you want fuel economy, and plan to live with a B16A for a few years, and accumulate mileage in a month that most people try hard to achieve in a year!) Get it bored, install new rings, and run-in till the rings seat, then you'll get excellent mileage out of your fuel and engine oil (you'll burn oil during the running in process, but once it seats, oils pretty much stays at it's current level until the next 5K oil change. (if you want power, get overbored B16B pistons, and get an R manifold for a slight bump in horsepower)
g) those rubber bushings on the suspension system h) intake and exhaust systems.. this one is pretty much needed if you're seeking for more power... as for brands, anything will do as long as it's not MADE IN THAILAND/TAIWAN (not to say they won't work, but lastability and fitment might not be that great.. )

All the above isn't going to be cheap, but you're going to end up with a car that is maintainance free for at least 5 years, doesn't leak (anywhere!) when it rains, offers good soundproofing and starts up in one try every morning! (^_^)

In my case, I spent (currently) almost 20K++ for my conversion.. the major stuff I put in are in my sig. Kind of expensive by most people's estimation for a B16A conversion + minor performance upgrades, but I ended up with a car that I drove 25,000kms (five oil changes!) in the span of 3 months plus without any issues. Of course, a distributor unit (installed beforehand and marked with the timing to reduce hassles of needing a timing light in the middle of nowhere!) needs to stay in the boot in case of emergencies, since I drive a MINIMUM of 120kms a day. Doing up the engine helps in keeping my fuel costs a month below RM500's (for a normal 25-day working month), although sometimes goes into the region of RM700's when I get the lead-foot disease or travel outside the state, like today. (O_o), Tickets for speeding in 60kmh zones not included..

|\_|\
(>_ (^ ^)

very well information and opinion from you, thanks a lot, the car aready have rear disc brake, not sure that is whether changed or wat. u driving an EG? how about this car? nice ? tat car that i saw just now come with 1.6L no v tec, i think it can tapao a proton 1.6 right ? i brought the car by cash, if wan to do conversion also need some time to have cash. when i open the bonnet i can see tat the engine is not very good, my plan on this car is just only wan to modifie on perfomance part, if i buy this car with no vtec, i make conversion, around 23-25k, is it ok? its 93years. interior converted to eg6.

I drive the sedan EG... not the hatch. 2 extra doors, and more extra weight.

the 1.6 non-vtec ah?.. depends on the condition..

Honestly, the stock non vtec engine... errr.. how I say this ah...
kena tapau canlah.. not tapau people..
(O_o)

Even me with b16a kena tapau all the time.. :P

As for budget.. I'd say if you want to tapau people, get a TX3/323, with a B8 turbo.. sure can tapau people one with a budget of 25-30K including the car.
maintainance 'belakang cerita'!

seriously.. there comes a time when I have to admit (even as a honda-fan)
that if you want cheap power with a small initial budget, honda's the worst place to go.

If you have small initial budget, but can spend oodles of money maintaining/upgrading various parts.. another turbo'ed make might fit your budget.

Turbo'ed espri are also quick of the line, with a lesser budget than an EG with B16A.

The only reason why people go with honda is that they can kaw-kaw rev the engine, play with it, and still not have much problems after that. Honda = reliability (for the most part, that is)

oh, spend the money for engine$ reliability. but turbo maintainace very hard to take care, sometime this sometime tat, if say power for turbo i admit depends on budget la.

patrickchong,

For me i will go for car that i realy admire or like. The reoson is we not buy a car everyday. Follow your heart bro...... and go for it. If you like Honda go for model that you admire a most. no point to buy a car that you dont like cos of budget issue. Dream and workhard to achive it trust me its worthed.

ya i also agree with u semutapi. if brought a car tat not admire or like then drive also have no fun izit.

patrickchong said:
oh, spend the money for engine$ reliability. but turbo maintainace very hard to take care, sometime this sometime tat, if say power for turbo i admit depends on budget la.

Well.. just to let you know.. as semutapi said.. better buy a car you admire and like, then live with the problems as they come..

I like beetle, but not enough so that I'm willing to search parts for it.

My second was the EG coupe, but that one is very hard to find, and people that are selling are usually selling them really expensive.. so much so that it's not worth it.

So finally settled for an EG sedan... even then, bodyparts (aftermarket bodykits) not as common as the hatch.. but I live with it.

But if you're searching for 'tapau' power for less cash... go for other makes.. they're really not as expensive as honda.

Even I kena tapau so many times with my B16A (probably because I'm slow), but I still like driving my EG... it's a fun drive... although acceleration post-cornering leaves a bit to be desired.

Anyway.. I always think VTEC is overrated each time I hear someone say 'VTEC is the best!' or 'I love VTEC'.

I just admire the techs of VTEC, and how they managed to do it in a cheap manner (using oil pressure and locking cam rollers) without resorting to an expensive individual valve solenoid system managed electronically.

I also admire the way honda builds it's engine... the more I look at K20A (DC5R one), the more I like the tech... too bad I can afford and legally swap a K20A into an EG sedan. (>_
A block brace comes standard on the K20! (usually reserved for the F20C and NSX, I think) and B-series owners have to spend like 4K/8K for it (SS works/spoon)

Ermmm.. that right shiroitenshi,
but my point is same choose the car that you admire but must in our level laaa..
for me, i love and enjoy play with EG hatch even sometime dream to buy supercar but cant aford it. Hope someday can............;)

eh.. beetle is in our level oso what.. sub 100K for a lot of mods including the car.. only have to 'rajin' source for parts.

Anyway, supercar is a pipe dream I gave up long ago..
a) our fuel prices don't allow 3-5litre engines that's daily driven and played with.
b) import taxes will never come down unless we have no local automotive industry... our currency value is as terrible as it is, and taxes only compound the problem.

The current state of Malaysian modders (if at all they mod their cars) is big rims and loads of cosmetic upgrades, with little regard as to what horsepower means, and what it's for.. how many times have you seen a car struggling to overtake a lorry at the slightest incline on the highways or go uphill at genting at a decent clip? Most malaysian cars are underpowered for highways and inclines, but nobody complains because they've never experienced otherwise.

How many cars you've seen listing parts on their door that they want to have, but don't? (e.g. a wiralution with stock engine and evo parts, with stickers from Tom's, TRD, Mugen, etc. which don't make parts for their cars?)

Really, these guys will never make it possible for a grassroots driver/owner to get sponsored, since they're willing to 'make' and stick those stickers for free without sponsorship fees. Observe the car modding scene in other countries.. do you see this being a common thing (sticker mania) for 'unsponsored' street cars?

Frankly, there are no stickers on my car, nor will I ever put them on unless someone pays me to do so.

Anyway, I'd better stop and continue my work, or this will turn into a full-blown rant.

Hi shiro,

You were saying you have a good fuel consumption B16A. May I know how many KM you can go with RM50?