Internet dial-up via mobile phone

zephyr3d

Guys and gals,

I'm sure you guyz know that a bluetooth capable mobile phone can act as a dial-up modem for PC/laptop rite?

I attempted to do so, by doing the pairing with my laptop and windows was able to assigned my sony ericsson K700i as a bluetooth modem.

So, i attempted to dial to internet, but upon opening port and start dialing, suddenly it just cut off and returned error msg stating that remote PC not responding.

how come ah? or did i miss out some steps?

:tee:

Using GPRS or normal dial-up with numbers?

For GPRS, u need to pair and configure it as BT Dial-up Networking, the number should like ##**99** for example.

For normal dial-up, use any 8 digit numbers from Jaring / TimeNet or other ISPs.

dude, i wanna dial up to office network.. so i believe is dial-up networking?

but my office has a specific number to dial. How oh?

dude.. tried your recommendation to use the SE k700i bluetooth modem driver. Diagnostic was able to query the modem successfully. But upon initiating the dial up, the phone will dial, but suddenly hang up...

how come eh?

but using mobile phone to connect to internet is expensive rite? .......if in gprs and 3G they charging in byte downloaded....

company phone mah.. dont bother bout charges.. aint gonna use my own internet line for work purpose. Sometimes need to log into our office network to do troubleshooting if not in office mah.

when you dial-up, you dialing your office dial-up vpn number? or you dial-up local isp?

if you dial-up office vpn number cannot .. can you try if you dial-up local isp like tmnut or jaring or timenut see if it works. If it does then something wrong with the your office number? if it doesn't then some setting not configured properly la..

bluetooth is from phone to notebook.. but phone to network is via gprs/edge/3g.. have u configured that yet?

does this has to do with the syncronisation???? some smartphone and PDA phone has thsi feature but i duno wuts it all about...

synchronization as in activesync? doesn't that synchronises your address book, calendar, etc?

psyk said:
when you dial-up, you dialing your office dial-up vpn number? or you dial-up local isp?

if you dial-up office vpn number cannot .. can you try if you dial-up local isp like tmnut or jaring or timenut see if it works. If it does then something wrong with the your office number? if it doesn't then some setting not configured properly la..

bluetooth is from phone to notebook.. but phone to network is via gprs/edge/3g.. have u configured that yet?

nope, tmnet also cannot. It would just dial, then suddenly hang up.

errr. i'm trying to connect to office network. .so need to configure anything as u mentioned... "phone to network"?

From what you are saying... using Windows NT RAS right? So, it should have a modem connected to the server correct? Try dialing the number.

If hang up means you need to find the correct AT command for the K700i.

firewall blocking? try disabling the firewall.. and try dialing again.. see if it works..

zephyr3d said:
yeapz.. RAS ... tried that number, but somehow upon dialing, it just hung up.

what is AT command?

A set of modem commands.

For example, ATZ means to reset, ATDTxxxxxxxx means to dial a number using tone dialing.

zephyr3d said:
eh... which firewall u referring? company network firewall mana boleh disable. hahaha.

notebook/desktop firewall? company network firewall why cannot disable? ..

Write your reply...