in dire need for help & advise!!!

Hhahahahah, dolly, I get what you mean man...

It's funny lah at TiTAN, I send my sis' car in for comfort, I get performance kau kau :(

My friend send his car in for performance, get comfort kau kau :(

Hahahah, have to go back retune.

Now, my sis's car OK liao - very comfort, a little performance, however my friend's case not yet settle, no time to go :(

wildboar - I have only one last thing to remind you.

Buy cheap cheap, always problems, allot of down time.

But TiTAN, begining some down time for retune, after that, thrash like mad, no down time.

Since using TiTAN and that after completing the tuning, I could relax and concentrate of other mods peacefully.

of course la u pay for quality. quality in the shock sense is how long they can last. setting wise..its abt there la. up to you how u want to adjust. u buy imported shocks..they can last very long oso. adjustable to suit summore. but you pay la. its a hard fact. problem is the market is too used to sub 2k shocks. so much choice. evryone going into this market. titan differentiates themselves by targeting the premium market. so because of sub 2k prices. everyone makes their shocks to that price. u can only build so much into sub 2k shocks and still turn a profit. so that what you end up with.

i mean some of the suspension manufacturers have good enough tech and knowledge to go rally and race with their equipment. but they cant transfer the tech and quality over, cause not many willing to pay 3k for shocks. and imports are priced so competitively now.

so wildboar. for under 2k, dun expect the sky and earth.

sua ter.... if u r in pg... then go for hotbits.... go speedwork.... hot bits they got all the tuned spec for your transplant.. yet in pg speedwork they just took in the tools to service hotbits... 80 bucks per piece..... hot bits is an australian brand... quite reliable.... my god bro used it for almost 5yrs already.... just serviced it once....

hwl, i'm using it... all those sales man talks r sucks.... hwl able to du service for gab, tein, and all others... to my cent.. they performed quite good as they du involve in racing arena...

tein.... is quite ok... but not many japs using it... yet in hk selling like hot cakes...

if u dun mind... u can look for this brand... made in japs.. named TOSER.... ask prestige n c whether they can get for u or not.. last year i was quoted hi lo soft hard 2.8k for putra.. i didn't take it as i worry on where to serviced it... but if i got chance to buy again.. i would to take it... fully imported from japs.. who did the service???? i would to say HWL again..

RG is german tech.. heard couple of good review from my friend...

i would to suggest u.... consider hot bits as we r in pg...

thanx putra for ur comments...

hotbits r sellin for 2.3k including installation..this price is from a dealer, not speedworks..not sure how much speedworks will charge, but prolly more expensive..but if it costs 2.3k, then i wud rather go for titan...just another 500 ma..

actually i've sat in a hotbits ride...but din reli like it..mebe they're harder...the local gab i tested gave me a better 1st impression...but in the long run i dunno how they compare lo...

sigh..still vr much at lost right now...transplant summore will b quite soon oledi...

p/s: will puspakom pass my car if im using wira 1.5 stock suspension?? or shud i install the front gsr ones first??

wonder y nobody mentioned about the local gab...i was actually impressed when i test drove a pv6 installed wif these shocks...

so..wildboar.. so far how many workshops u go round d? hehehe... if u choose my mech.. ask him to include alignment oso.. dun kira with u.. hehe.. ey.. remember to trade with me ur black dashboard console :P

wildboar,
i've has some experience with adjustables....are you sure you want them ? if it's just for daily driving, not to track or racing for $$, then maybe that's not sucha good option. adjustables are WAY harder than non-ad performance shocks coz they compress the springs.
i was using apm adjst, then now i'm really happy with gas shocks and cut springs..
:)

Wildboar, I've test driven the local GAB in Tanjung Bunga shop, a satria VR4, I must admit the GAB are good. Hi-Lo adjustable RM1.9K he quoted. Never sampan even on high speed cornering, and hard braking also the head won't tip down.... But in the end I 'accumulated' some budget and currently going for Titan, no comments yet cause it's still in process... Actually I don't think you should be thinking "use very expensive suspension but cannot fully utilize the efficiency"..... you'll never know when you're need the extra bit in handling :D
And btw, I've been to speedworks for their Hi-Lo quotation, it's RM3.2k for wira.... same for my car, and hotbits are german technology, the founder of hotbits leave the previous company and set up RG himself.... a german guy.... so there you go.

tibun...2.9k???!! :o sure or not local gab? they normally sell for at least 1k less than that for the local gab lar! :o

babi hutan :D : i got myself a set of the local gab for my civic 6 months ago for 1.6k....

after the big hoohaa about it not being genuine it made me doubt their authenticity...was really pissed for paying for something that wasn't genuine...but 6 months into my set im quite happy with its performance, regardless whether its genuine or not.....friends have commented how steady the car was round corners....it seriously does stick pretty damn well.....i love taking corners with this car :wub:

even now there's still desas desus about RS1, the local GAB makers, being nothing but a bunch of plagiarizing pirates....check the for sale forums.

i cant tell you how good their after sales service cuz i haven't gone back yet....but i plan to go back soon to stiffen up the front dampers...the slack thing is i have to leave the car there the whole day(standard lar i guess)...and there's NOTHING to do there... :(

the most important thing is to get a set which comes with GOOD after sales service...so since ur in pg the best bet would hotbits for you i guess......about them being hard i guess u could always ask them to customise the settings for you...they do that dont they?

me being the impulsive buyer bought into RS1's sales pitch quite easily and didn't shop around long enough....as good as my set is now i wish i had spent a little more time browsing...dont make the same mistake!

remember that what u pay for is what u get...a friend of mine got titans and im still lusting after them :lol:

Wildboar,
Dude, go for the local GABs. It's a good deal for just normal driving, and the occasional pek corner entering the jalan to your hse. Hahaha.....Anyways, yes it's made in M'sia, KL, Kepong...to be very precise. Hahahah.....Have one, using it for almost 6 months and serve no problems. I know of someone in a Putra V6 using it as well, slightly longer than mine and also no problems. It's able to take your normal street use, and occasional illegal racings with no problems. In fact, it feels quite good too compared to a pair of Kayaba I used before.

The price I don't think is RM 1.9k. I believe it's cheaper than that. I think around RM1.6+k only.

Or you could settle for HWLs. Someone replied to you and he was right, it's been in more MRC than any of your list.

I'm also a street driver, with the occasional illegal racing. Hahaha.....

sorry, typo error, ammended. He quoted RM1.9K plus installation. The price is negotiable though

thanx for all ur feedback guys...but i just got the RG...yeah its from the forummer in zth...havent installed it yet tho...din have the time yet..

i took into consideration wat kenboy (i think) mentioned...its all a part of the modyfication & customisation process...so i start of with this RG set..use it a while...later if feel like i want sumthin better then upgrade...im sure many ppl do the same...trial n error mebe...

u bought a 2nd hand set? aiyoo.... hard to make a judgement on used sets.

Good luck wildboar. By the way, if i'm not mistaken, Khoong brothers are the one that have dealer rights over the RS suspension. At least you got reputable guys around :lol:

Originally posted by Kenboy@Dec 6 2004, 09:39
u bought a 2nd hand set? aiyoo.... hard to make a judgement on used sets.
no la..i bought a NEW set...from speedup...in this forum also ma..

Originally posted by TiBuN@Dec 4 2004, 10:33
Wildboar, I've test driven the local GAB in Tanjung Bunga shop, a satria VR4, I must admit the GAB are good. Hi-Lo adjustable RM1.9K he quoted. Never sampan even on high speed cornering, and hard braking also the head won't tip down.... But in the end I 'accumulated' some budget and currently going for Titan, no comments yet cause it's still in process... Actually I don't think you should be thinking "use very expensive suspension but cannot fully utilize the efficiency"..... you'll never know when you're need the extra bit in handling :D
And btw, I've been to speedworks for their Hi-Lo quotation, it's RM3.2k for wira.... same for my car, and hotbits are german technology, the founder of hotbits leave the previous company and set up RG himself.... a german guy.... so there you go.
tibun...i tot alex sold off his satria vr4 oledi?? :blink: i visited him a few wks ago n he told me his car is in kl lookin for a buyer...

i actually wanted to test in his car wan lo..but since it was in kl, had to settle for his partners pv6..when i went for the test drive, he just totaled his bmw the day before...poor fella...

RM3.2k for the hotbits??!!!! expensive!!! isit the one wif the helper spring & cannister?? might as well go for titan man...btw, speedworks quoted me 2.8k for the normal adjustable set, but outside can get it for 2.3k...wonder y they charge so much more than their dealers...

I have a set of HWL height adjustables for sale. RM400.00 only. Front need to be rebuilt, rear is perfect. For Perdana V6 punya.

Go for titan dude.... 2 years warranty somemore... worth for the money...

i had mine titaned and never regret after that... no problem for suspension right after get it titaned... rather spend more and get my head free of suspension problem for at leats 2 /3 years...

SLK850 also got titan... can ask for a test drive...hahaha.....guess we are the only 2 fella that got out car titaned in penang... haha...