Ideal GZE piping size

MetaruBZG

Hi, may i ask what is the best piping size for 4agze (ae92 '91)?

is it 2inch since it's almost like na when the sc is off or should it be bigger, more like turbo style (3inch)?

i'm aiming for a balance between economy and power.

which pipping you're reffering to bro? IC pipping or exhuast pipping?

im not pro or sifu here but IMHO, i guess 2.2" for intake and exhaust should be ideal. least 2 of my fren is using that size.

But i do know some plp use slightly larger pipping size from turbo to intercooler thn smaller frm intercooler to intake TB.

pls correct me if im wrong.

sry, left that part out... i was refering to the exhaust piping.

ok, so where can i get 2.2" piping? im aware that they come in 0.5" increments (like 1.5", 2.0", 2.5" ...so on). Can give some suggestion?

btw, what's IMHO? :embarasse

i'd say around 2.3" to 2.5" will be good enuff for your GZE, since heavily modded VTEC also use 2.5".

From my opinion...

--> standard gze = 2.3 inch, straight flow mufler (I think the best setup)

= 2.5 inch, s-flow muffler (to counter the pick up) better put center box
--> mod gze port, pullley = 2.5 inch, but i prefer s-flow muffler..better put center box

2.3 = you can feel the pick up more than 2.5
2.5 = your top speed increase, (I think) you can feel good in range above 140kmh

I duno gze should use wat size..but 4age 2.3inch is the i compromise one for pick up and top speed. If u need sifoo to answer u this question, please do open a thread in toyota forum..im sure u can get a guranteed answer because there are few gze modders in tht forum..good luck!

2.5".... with at least 1 centerbox... depending on yer taste of sound... some owners cant stand it coz GZE emits hell-uva loud exhaust sound.. if u use non-N1 type mufflers, the resonance / boom of the exhaust will go straight into yer cabin.. if u use N1 type mufflers, d rest of d world will curse u till yer pants drop but in d cabin itself, it'll be quieter

hahah... agree with black

now using 2.5" piping, small center and jasma approved rear end. still noisy on high revs. at least its bearable when idling or below 2500 RPM

was using 2.2" straight and jasma previously. so noisy until my muffler blew up. hahahah

hm... sat on MasterD GZE be4. It was damn loud. Thn we went to get Evo5 stock muffler, much more better but still consider loud. whahaha

imagine, u have the pulse and the output exhaust pressure of a forced induction engine but without the 'muffling' effect of a turbine... kwkwkwkwkwakkwkwakawkwakawkwkwakaw