I want to mod my putra. PLease help!!

emfadz

I have a model 2001 Putra (A). I'm sick to be a loser.

What kind of manual gbox that i should put inside?

And after put this manual gbox, next time can convert to turbo without change a thing to my gbox or i have to change to another one?

I need advices on the modifications of my putra so that i should not feel shy and ashame to drive my putra.

To all super power modderz.. please help me.

hi...since u wanna solve almost all the thirst for performance, i recomend u transplant a 4g93t engine.... it will help to solve that for starters...just my 2 cents

yup...get the halfcut and its just plug n play. not much hassle on jpj registration too
price of halcut i'm not quite sure...prolly varies fm 5-7K plus instalation (not sure)

hmmm... seems ok to me?
r u sure nothing to do after that?

can i feel the different after convert to it?

sorry bro for asking too much
:(

Yeah get a complete 4G93T halfcut.. should help satisfy your hunger for power.. but remember to upgrade your suspension and your braking..

You can transplant a 4G93T engine in for a cost of RM6k to RM7K or supercharge the original engine + an Obit piggyback installation, like I did for around the same amount.

For supercharging contact Gerard, you can find him in the Forced induction forum.

This supercharging route of getting more power has less hassle from reinspection with Puspakom.

But make sure you get Gerard to install a switch allowing you the option to use the supercharger or go NA.

With the supercharger on, if you are heavy footed believe me a tankful of petrol will only last you 3 days ie. for city driving of 45 km per day. On the highway if you maintained 5th gear most of the time it is equivalent to normal Putra consumption.

With NA city driving is more tolerable, just a slight increase above normal.

if you really want faster pick up.. drive changing 2 a manual gearbox first.. u could use the mivec close ratio GB.. there are alot of choices.. but if u really wanna 2 increase the power by alot.. turbo is the most suitable way for you..

for handling upgrades I suggest you to go R3 way.....

http://www.macxcess.com/vblog/files/R3brochure.pdf

or

http://www.macxcess.com/vblog/files/R3-prices.xls

emfadz,
what's so malu about driving your putra? can't be that bad mah. anyway, might as well get a mivec g/box and get ur suspensions tuned and learn to drive your car from there...no point having turbo when you can't even control it and all the time thinking of boosting really high right?

dino,
might come and dino soon...car's out of the workshop. :)

Shit good.. time 2 try ur car.. thats the way man... whatdamn see you soon... kekeke

Do you really want it?

emfadz said:

And after put this manual gbox, next time can convert to turbo without change a thing to my gbox or i have to change to another one?

I need advices on the modifications of my putra so that i should not feel shy and ashame to drive my putra.

Bro,

I drive a putra too. What's to be ashamed of? Enjoy the auto for the convenience it gives you in heavy KL traffic jams. Just don't try any traffic light sprint stuff. 140Bhp is barely enuf to smoke any VTEC's. Trust me, you'll get more frustrated. Sick of being a loser? Losing to what car? Stick to your class and you won't get smoke too often.

Anyway, if you really want power, switching to a manual box won't give you enough satisfaction, and it will be costly. A mivec LSD will easily cost you more than RM 1.5k. Go for the halfcut transplant way i.e. GSR 4g93t or Evo 4g63t. Both comes with manual 4wd box that can be locked to 2 wheel.

But remember to upgrade your braking and suspensions.

My 2 sen.

haahhahaa....i think b4 u ask for any advise to mod it further.....think abt how much money u wan 2 spend in modding 1st ....its not going to be cheap....all those half cut talk may sound achievable by spending around 5-8 k...but in reality...its not....its going to be more than 10K if u intend to do a serious job....n mind u.....trying to beat a VTEC ? dats very very difficult....to beat a seriously tuned VTEC....man....I dun think any normal 4G9X can do it EASILY with the kind of cost involved. If u really wan to..then i suggest u go for the 4G63, anyways....afterall even if u managed to beat some Vtecs...u will still be outrun by SOME very seriously tuned b18Cs n type Rs....even a b16b can make u cough.....in the end u realised its all for nothing.......might as well change car....yeah...I went through the path b4.....n it was nothing satisfying.....until u really got your hands on 1 of the JGTC bred sports running car then only u realise its gonna be different.....whole new different feeling :)

its not i want to race but sometimes i feel sick when people look inside my car and see automatic stick n sometimes make bising2 noise at the traffic light...

hmm... how about 5k... is it enough to be competitive?

iwill just suggest you to go for the 4G63T brother ... since it is not far from the 4G93T price ... even Evo 2 Half Cut is good enough and it cost you around 8k++ plus installation .... superb performance satisfaction ... after sometime of the engine transplant ... give your baby a light mod ... then you will go to another level ... its much more worth getting a 4G63T than changing BACK to a 1.8 engine ... dont worry about the JPJ wise ... it can be easily Kau tim ... =) atleast i can help you to do it if you want ^_* ... anything you might just PM me ... take care ... happy modding =)

use all da money and drop in the biggest wet shot nitrous tong u can find :) tekan only sure u win bro hahaha!

j/k j/k the others r right... do an engine-swap - kaotim! recommend ya drop in a 4G63 evo/VR4.... more power 2 start with than the 93T GSR turbo plus more aftermarket upgrades la. good potential too.

you could do the engine-swap first and run the engine pretty much stock - forget about upgrades first just change what's necessary (like timing kit, clutch, oil etc) then slowly when you got budget and all then u start modding step-by-step. don't rush the mods dude. there will always be competition on the streets / track :) haha!

The Big Plan

Ok mate,

Here's the big plan. Get a 4g63t Evo h/cut. Plonk it into your putra engine bay. Kautim the JPJ regos. Mod mildly at first. Keep your car looks (bodykit standard putra) as it is. Intercooler try to hide as much as you can (paint it black), use twin tip exhaust (that looks like ori putra, slightly bigger for better airflow only). Keep everything looking std.

With 250-270bhp under your hood, you can get your sweet revenge. Next time another car try to blast their exhaust next to you....keep quite, lights turn green, smoke the hell out of them. Do it for next 200-300m only.....that's it, nothing more to prove.

But....does RM7k-RM10k justify the cost for sweet revenge.... u decide yourself. Could pay d/p for a new car u know.

:rock:

emfadz said:
its not i want to race but sometimes i feel sick when people look inside my car and see automatic stick n sometimes make bising2 noise at the traffic light...

hmm... how about 5k... is it enough to be competitive?

Trust me.. What DDgreyster says is true.. 5K for 4G93T is not enough. at first i tod 8K should b more than enough, but after include, meter gauge, turbo timer, suspension, JPJ approval.. kacang putih things. easily cost u around 10K. Its all depend on your budget. Save $$ til you got around 10K then only think of conversion. Take my advise. It takes me 2 years to fufil my dream man.. (Save $$)..

emfadz said:

Got 5k? Don't bother with the engine. You'll be modding your car just to lose to someone anyway. At the end you'll still get that same "loser" feeling but also poorer as extra garnish.

Do up your handling, tyres and swap that auto for a MIVEC LSD gearbox.

Then go join competitions like GRA and SSO. That's where you gain REAL respect; not at the traffic light :secruity: