Hyundai Owners

i got it for 280.instalation free at my frens place..
wasai can see the fuel consumption has lowered ledi..not running up to 250 km and not even half tank yet..ahahaha..

hey any of you guys know where can i get a drop in air filter? preferebably k&n or somethign else..thakns

got it for 280.instalation free at my frens place..
wasai can see the fuel consumption has lowered ledi..not running up to 250 km and not even half tank yet..ahahaha..

hey any of you guys know where can i get a drop in air filter? preferebably k&n or somethign else..thakns

can get at eneos...lots of variety man.... hehehee....if wan cheaper use waja one lar....waja's airbox can fit in to a 97' hyun coupe...PERFECTLY!!!!!

Hey

It's true that the K&N and broquet can't really make much different....
Hahaha....

Zentrum911 also recommended me to do port n polish...

Another thing to reduce some hp lost..
http://elantragtclub.tripod.com/elantra/id112.html

limch1,
did they say how much it need for the P&P??
JB got 1 workshop offer me RM 800 include the parts for the P&P for my coupe...

can get at eneos...lots of variety man.... hehehee....if wan cheaper use waja one lar....waja's airbox can fit in to a 97' hyun coupe...PERFECTLY!!!!!

eh waja can fit perfectly arr? sure or not? later i buy from eunos cannot fit then cannot return it!! ;)

anyone know where to get air filters drop in from anywhere for hyundai? :ph34r:

y don simply dump in an onpen-pod? nice sound sum more....if don wan sound can use simota one ma(the one like badminton ball shape one).... quiter...

not all cars can suit a open pod...
got pro and cons for both..
mine only na la dude..no need so much air..:)
anyone else can help!!!!1 please!?!!

Originally posted by rsctan@Nov 13 2004, 12:04
i got it for 280.instalation free at my frens place..

glad to hear that, rsctan

But I personnally feel that my car had better pickup (torque) after doing the open pod filter, also that the engine runs smoother (feel the engine is lighter). Didn't dyno ler, Ipoh nobody got dyno machine. Not only elantra, it also applies to other cars bcos the way the manufacturer design things is to make it reliable and less maintenance, not performance.

Damn....my extractor cracked again after a trip to genting.....

DEEP,
How ur car manage to do without the catalytic? Can share some knowledge? I scare the fella that install your extractor pull the light of the 'engine check light' behind your meter :lol:

HMS, here are thethings that they do . My first o2 sensor still working. But for my 2nd o2, will my OBD-scanner are saying the circuit not functioning. My best bet is that they had somehow dislocate the 2nd o2. Anyhow, the 2nd O2 are not that important. You can have it discon.Basically the 2nd o2 just detect whether the emission that your cat giving out are according the the environemt spec. So here is what happen. should a 2nd O2 detect your engine are giving our a lot of unhealthy smoke, it will give signal to the ECU to be increase the air in. That way, you can get a cleaner air. Since I am not a good environmental ppl, I really don't care how poison my emission is. So F it.
As far as the CEL light, is still working. No probelm. I have my car scan by OBDII scanner and all are in good shape except the 2nd O2 sensor.
HMS, to be specific, when the crack occur on your extractor? The welding line or other place. If you can tell me the exact position, then I might have an idea why your crack so easily.
On the open pod and drop in filter things.. like I say previous in my post, they all the same with stock. Done my dyno after installing S-AFC II between open pod and stock filter. The end whp are the same. But with open pod, my chart slightly peek higher than stock filter at the lower RPM ( 2000-3000). After that they all the same. My concusion is this. Open pod, will one can get a bit faster accerelation only vs. stock. But then again, with the money spend and really no greater whp... well I leave it to others to think whether it is worthy it. I agree with rcstan, our engine are built in the way that certain amount of air are sufficient. Think of this way, Assuming you are breathing, which you prefer, take a big deep breathe hold it and slowly brethe out or Just simply breathe normal? This is exactly the same as the open pod vs stock. Again I leave for ppl to decided for themself.
:D

well i agree with your breathing theory also..
but again..both of the material that stock and aftermarket filter use is diff...
the diff with open pod and drop in is the ammount of air... which will be taken in..
open pod sucks more air and drop in sucks less air compared to open pod..
open pod suck more air cause your car has to be a high hp car burnign lots of fuel and i mean lots!! and therefore need more air that the stock drop in box can supply...thats why they use open pod air filters..so can suck more air around it not limiting it self to the box capacity therefore reaching a optimal fuel burning rate...
for less fuel consuming car i think in my perception that drop in are the best...because it still sucks in the stock box air capacity..which is good because the air fuel ratio is still the same the only diff is that your air sucking rate is faster because of the material they use...and sometimes too much air make you hard to run also rite? ahaha..
well i tried an open pod in my wira..felt the diff in the short term..car response faster..but in the long term jalat lorr...cant beat a stock wira even..ahaha..well maybe i cekai larr...but i tried chainging it back to stock filter..damm cun..ahaha

Deep,
Terror lar the person done the o2 for you. I tried disconnecting the 2nd o2, the CEL still light up. I oso know the function is just to tell you that your cat is not working nothing more. The 1st o2 is to determine the A/F ratio.

Usually crack on the welded area lor. The first sign occur long ago lor....got welded for 4 times liao. I think if keep cracking like this, one day sure putus two pieces. :(

Filter:
As I mention lor, got better pick up respond only with open pod + nice sound :P
that i think translate to torque a little better. But at high rpm about 4500rpm, respond not so good in 4th gear cos climbing to 200kmh a little slower compare with stock. But from 0-170kmh, get better respond. Stock from 140-170kmh slower but steady can reach 200kmh np.

OBD-II ECU will determine the 14.7:1 A/F ratio to conforms to the emission standard. This mean that if we could optimise the flow of air into the TB, then we will get optimal A/F efficiency. That's y no additional WHP...hahaha. Maybe you should try Microtech instead ler, then go dyno again. But when I gauge the fuel consumption, the open pod is more efficient compare with stock standard. I dunno ler....cos I did the open pod together with custom CAI mah.....maybe could be the CAI give the engine more efficient power delivery. I remove the whole unit standard box filter and put a hose from the front fog light hole up to the TB rubber hose (where the open pod located). Then make a cover to prevent hot air front radiator fan coming in.

In Hyundai forum ( www.hyundaiperformance.com ) last time got a thread about air intake and extractor issue which they tested and say that mod the filter get more gains from modding the extractor bcos of the design of this engine, standard air intake is inefficient bcos got to meet the US standards on emissions.

Forgot to mention that elantra 2000> runs on MAP instead of MAF. Deep should know very well :lol:

Also the version of elantra with variable intake cam timing also dun offer any hp inprovement, just cleaner emission and better fuel consumption like the VVTI which deep dun care about lor. Wonder when will hyundai make a valve lift control timing engine ler hahaa.....maybe that time it is a TRUE BTEC :lol: Our standard engine locally have the space to install the variable cam unit, but Kah Bintang dun make that available here...

Altis 1.8 VVTI fuel consumption is about 12 sen/km urban ler....so cheap (off the traction control)

Wondering what's the hp we get for stock Elantra after dino?

Deep, what's the best hp gain for each product after dino? So how fast and how much hp can Elantra get?

I really feel that my car is way under power especially the second gear... speed from 50-70km/h...

Not dino but dyno...
Muahahahaha...

So wodering anyone else did dyno for their Elantra or any Hyundai cars?