HowTo: Tune Equalizer in-built in HU

baghavan

I just got myself a Sony CDX-F7700.
The sound is bad... The equalizer tuning is bad.
I have no idea at all on how to tune it. The built-in presets are also bad.
Anyone has an easy understanding guide on how to tune the equlizer?
Please pass it on...
Thanks!

Regards,
VN

all those sifu will just tell u to adjust until wht u like...
everybody got different taste... ahahaha...
tht is always the feedbacks...

i also no idea.. coz i never use sony b4...

wht bands do u have in the HU?

This is the standard tuning... I need a guide what are the euilizer bars are for. There are 5 bars, I think the first 2 are for bass the next are vocal?
Am I right?
Plz advice.

Parametric EQ??
Most probably the 1st will b the low frequency or bass. 2nd one probably mid bass or mid bass + some vocal. 3rd one vocal. 4th one is also vocal, but focus more onto 'gou yam' I think, play celine dion song and then adjust the bar n see. Last one is treble I think.

Just a guess though...

ermm i'm using alpine now.. i also dunno how to tune.
but i set it as below.

freq db width
50hz +2db 1.5
125hz +1db 3
630hz -3db 1.5
3.5khz +1db 1
16khz +2db 1.5

:lol:

anyone can give me tips for setting or comment on my setting?
thanks.

Originally posted by kapitan@Mar 14 2005, 22:52
If SQ, most would leave it flat I think...
Suppose better make it flat
But it depends on the acoustic environment of the car
As for my car, I've to rely on eq
Just try to make it as flat as possible

As for thread starter, can u list down equipments that u have
Sometimes the culprit can be something else (improper x-over freq, phase, blabla)

flat...

but i feel flat is no feeling at all... ahahaha...
vocal would be much more louder than the bass.
which will strain my ears...

:lol:

Do you have the manual?
It should provide some info. Here it is so that the expert can have a look and comment or suggest what you should do.

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Manuals%5C158%5C158F7700.PDF

Hope this helps.

I fully agreed with iswara GTR.
Set your fundamentals right first.
Have you checked the phasing?? Have you checked your total frequency response to see whether there are any serious dips and peaks??
I suggest you check these with the EQ set at flat.
Then from there you decide on your EQ setting.

wuaahahaha.. i set the EQ flat... it sound better than wht i previously set...
gosh... got no idea wht to do with it...

wht i set... i got deep blur bass.... high sharp tweeters... :blink:

Originally posted by artnet@Mar 18 2005, 08:25
wuaahahaha.. i set the EQ flat... it sound better than wht i previously set...
gosh... got no idea wht to do with it...

wht i set... i got deep blur bass.... high sharp tweeters... :blink:
[snapback]821608[/snapback]​

Yeah... same here... btw my audio hardware:
1) Sony CDX-F7700
2) Boschman Component 5" + tweeters
3)3 Way Alpine 6" x 9"

my setup is alpine 9835
alpine MRV-F505
JBL 600.1
two set helix blue
and one cadence sub.

currently still stick to flat.