How to remove swirl marks?

Is it branded DBE? It's safe enuff for cleaning door jambs and your car's interior, else, use a branded MF lah. Which Carrefour you went to? I went to Wangsa Maju's Carrefour 2 weeks ago, but couldn't find it. Which aisle / department did you find this MF cloth?

munpeng said:
Btw, just bought 2 pieces of MF cloth for RM13.90 from Carefour, not luxury 1 but I think they will do just fine guaa.

I went Carefour Midvalley, the department is selling car polish/wax, it's there.

Mengz,
Can pm me your detailer's contact number or not? I'm interested. Thanks!
Btw, new car can do detailing straight away ah?

rgds
Darren

new car are best to do detailing. easier to do maintainance later. u'll be surprise new also has plenty of swirl marks.

Yeah, new car must sayang nicely also, detailer would provide you professional service, then ask him what wax/polish to use lor.

Another ques: Should I tint the car 1st then bring to detailing or the other way round?

I would suggest you polish/wax the car only, car tinting is an extra option, and if you have already protected it with polish/wax, there's actually no need to tint it, unless you always park your car outside 24/7 under hot sun and acid rain, then that's different case.

Actually if you have the budget, you can do both definitely, detail your new car 1st, then ask for the detailer's advice and idea, he would definitely give you the answer.

tint the glass? or tint the paintwork like the 3M paintshield?

futura,

correct me if im wrong, i think u have the intention to do both things rite? if u r going ahead as planned, my suggestion is the last step is car detailing. reason because tinting job involves a lot of spraying soap water on glasses(inside & outside). u do not want the soap water to make contact and dry up on yr just detailed body work which could remove the wax or other protection properties. yes, new car has minimal contaminants, send to the detailer to remove the swirl marks and a layer of protection & yr car will be sparkling bright.

mengz said:
tint the glass? or tint the paintwork like the 3M paintshield?

?? got such thing as tint paintwork? hmm, never heard b4. whats the purpose actually?

cclems said:
futura,

correct me if im wrong, i think u have the intention to do both things rite? if u r going ahead as planned, my suggestion is the last step is car detailing. reason because tinting job involves a lot of spraying soap water on glasses(inside & outside). u do not want the soap water to make contact and dry up on yr just detailed body work which could remove the wax or other protection properties. yes, new car has minimal contaminants, send to the detailer to remove the swirl marks and a layer of protection & yr car will be sparkling bright.
Yes exactly. Will get my car sometimes this week or next week. Decided to ecotint it then only bring to detailing. Thanks for the tips. You guys are really helpful. :_:

p/s: Oh ya, how much is the meguire nxt wax?

supposingly its suppose to protect the paintwork from stone chips and minor scratches. hypertune got advertise a few times b4. if im not mistaken its called Xpel paintshield, the tint is by 3M.

futura, proceed with all ur plans and do ur detailing the very last. in ur case, do ur tinting 1st then go detail.

Futura, you mean you want to get your paintwork tinted right? or the windows?

munpeng said:
Futura, you mean you want to get your paintwork tinted right? or the windows?
Errr, why the paintwork need to tint one ah? I was referring to windows anyway.

Ooh, I thought you want to tint the paintwork. paintwork can be tinted 1, just as what was mentioned by mengz.

I was wondering whether the paintwork, being exposed under acid rain, would cause the quality of the paintwork deteriorate? Although being polished or waxed, strong acid rain could wash them away, then the quality would be affected, and swirl marks maybe more easily created when we wash it? Hmm, although it's abit unlikely, but I still have doubts and always make sure my car is parked under the roof.

we need to wax often to ensure theres a layer of protection on top of the clear coat. but theres only so much a layer of wax can do to protect, thats why we have the clear coat to protect the paint underneath :) the swirl marks are usually on the clear coat layer which can be remove by detailing. unless its a deep cut then u need to respray.

yea, no doubt parking under a roof is the best protection from UV and rain & etc.

hmmm.....i remember i heard from somewhere, i really forgot edi. that theres this equipment that can measure. i dunno if its true or not.

depends on ur car painter how many layers they spray, usually its 2-3 layers.

Hmm, then I'll depend on you to get info on this equipment ya, hehe. But no need to try your best lar of coz, hehe.