How to remove swirl marks?

Dude, your language is a bit heavy. I already said I was not saying detailer's service is not worth it, but choose to buy polish is an alternative, it's an alternative, and I never mention it's better than detailer. Your language brings a suggestion that I am a little bit against the expensive service of detailer, well, I'm not.

You already posted the correct methods, no need to remind me again. I understand the correct concept, but don't question my car painter's service, for you don't know what he was doing. Your car painter isn't the same person as mine. So when you bet my car painter does not know the correct way, that is quite harsh, you maybe correct but you might have been wrong also. I am not judging you, but you can choose not to describe my car painter in that way also. From what I witness, they follow the correct method from aggresive to less one, don't say this and that for there's no 100% similarity.

I agree detailer is a very very good option when you face problems of swirl marks, it would be the best option too. I hope nobody has the impression of car painter doesn't know as much as detailer, we don't know whether he has other experience in other areas, maybe he does leh? Maybe I am a little too defensive of my car painter, coz he's a good one. I respect detailers also, not ruling out getting their service of coz.

Don't have the impression that I disagree with you, mengz. I agree with what you have said, and I thank you for your valuable information. I know nothing about detailers, so I can't say much anymore. Cheers to you too :)

cclems, cannot find diamond cut at ACE Hardware wor, how ar? only detailer can get stocks? The NXT you all using is the spray one or wax one? Meguairs have huge variety leh. Puchong utama? can you tell me the name of that detailing shop?

speaking abt heavy language, its ironic that i feel the same abt urs too :) anyways, goodluck in finding a solution to solve ur swirl marks. if theres a will, theres a way, im pretty sure u'll be able to get it done.

later.

Munpeng, Diamond Cut is not a Meguiar's consumer item. Thta's why you can't find it at any shops, you have to go to Hypercoat ( nearby Regalia Busniess Centre, Subang ) for 'em. U can try Scratch X instead ( btw, u have to use a dual orbiter machine in order to use Diamond Cut effectively ). Scratch X is Meguiar's answer for normal users who wants to reduce or eliminate fine swirls and light scratches by hand work.

How to use Scratch X : Always wash, clean and dry the areas which you want to apply Scratch X first. Use a foam applicator pad / or microfibre pad ( Meguiar's have both items, the foam applicator pad at RM 6.00 each, the microfibre pad at RM 22.00 per pair, but local Meguiar's prices have been increased on the 1st of June though ), and put a small amount of Scratch X ( a 20 sen size amount is OK for starters ) on 'em. Apply the Scratch X to the areas which you want to treat thoroughly 1st, then work the Scratch X in! You'll have to spend some elbow grease here. Scratch X have diminishing properties, so as you work in the products ( not so aggrasive, but with passion! Means that you have to put some extra work lah, not like applying or buffing wax ya. ) the product will start to haze and will dissipate. When it is almost gone ( it starts to haze, as in the applied areas are now almost clear ) buff it off with a microfibre cloth. You have to repeat the steps above for at least 3 times, then take a good look at your work. I can promise u, if you cannot clear off the fine swirls / light scratches, at least it will be greatly reduced ( I can promise you that because I'm using it! ) But be prepared though, if you want to work your whole car, it'll be impossible to it in a day, because you'll be soooo tired... For example, the front bonnet can take from 45 minutes to one hour plus, then front fenders can take up to 45 minutes each panel ( total 90 minutes / 1 hour and a half for both fenders ), front bumper another 45 minutes or so, so in total, to do a Scratch X work on a whole front end will take you at least 3 hours ++ minimum. My arms and fingers was so tired after only treating Scratch X to my front bonnet, so you can imagine how much work is required to do so.

If you do not want to have tired arms and hands, there is an alternative. Go and get yourself a Bosch GEX-270AE ( last time was RM 300++ ) dual orbiter machine. Then drive off to Hypercoat and get some Meguiar's backing plates, buffers and applicators, a total of around RM 300++. You can use this machine to apply and buff off the whole car easily. Remember to tape off rubber trims etc ( to avoid products to stick to 'em! ) and also windows ( use newspaper lah, to avoid product sling ). But with a dual orbiter, u cannot use Scratch X. U have to buy M80 Speed Glaze, and use that with the dual orbiter. Although the costs to use a machine, the correct products etc will cost you about RM 800++, you get to save time and these products lasts quite a while too!

You guys might think that I'm promoting Meguiar's stuffs too much, but they works! And the forum ( http://www.meguiarsonline.com is a haven for all things Meguiar's. They take the pains to educate customers on how to use their products properly.

I've used a number of other detailing products on sale here in Malaysia, and most of them are not working good enough, or is working way too much ( adding more scratches after application! ). Meguiar's stuffs works well ( if you know how to use 'em properly ), although the prices is getting a bit expensive nowadays.

If you guys are interested in purchasing Meguiar's consumer items, it's on sale ( with a SIZABLE discount, over at KLIMS. Discount is 10% for purchases under RM 100, 15% for RM 101.00 - RM 202.00, all the up to 35% for purchases over RM 501.00! Damn good deal ( and I splurged over RM 300.00 worth of MG's items! hehehe )

Thank you very much for the information, ace79. May require further information from you if I purchase scratch X :)

mengz, maybe it's a little too serious in the way I talked, sorry ya.

ace79 said:
Guys, I've updated my previous post.

ace79,
u do sound like a meguiars salesperson or a meguiars specialist. whatever u said its the exact words u can find when u walk into a meguiars detailer. :) its just like the meguiars eduacational cd i have. And i have to agree with u, their products really works miracle, it works while other product fail to.

munpeng,
yes, ace said is true. the diamond cut is under the professional series which u cant buy outside,(need to go to the distributor). Whatever ace hardware is sellling is just consumer products (meant for hand jobs:embaressed_smile: ). i tried scratchX it doesnt work as good as diamond cut.(but cant compare la, one uses orbiter and one uses hand.) But diamond cut need a pro to do otherwise u can easily fry yr paint work.

mengz,
i called yr detailer, i think i hv to stick to my regular detailer coz he goreng his boss already, and he is doing freelance detailing work. charged me even cheaper now.wow!! im a happy man!

thanks for replying cclems. so how's your detailer's price now? since he's already fried his boss, hehehe.

munpeng said:
thanks for replying cclems. so how's your detailer's price now? since he's already fried his boss, hehehe.

RM220 for my kelisa including glass polishing. ok wat!:_:

mengz,
anyway tks for yr contact.

no probs bro, he told me u called. hahaha, ur detailer goreng his boss? keng keng :P i believe he doing freelance now his price sure better ler, no shop, no boss, lower cost :)

anyways, if u guys wanna check out my detailer's work. the Ferrari Enzo and the Pagani Zonda at the KLIMS was done by him :)

mengz, look like your detailer have kinda high profile wor. Btw, RM220 is not too high though, may try it out if I have extra cash to spend :)

Meguair users, may I know which brand is effective at covering up swirls? besides Scratch X? I need to know which brand is effective because there are so many kinds of different Meguair products in ACE hardware, I don't want to buy the wrong 1, so which one besides Scratch X?

munpeng said:
Meguair users, may I know which brand is effective at covering up swirls? besides Scratch X? I need to know which brand is effective because there are so many kinds of different Meguair products in ACE hardware, I don't want to buy the wrong 1, so which one besides Scratch X?

munpeng,
i think scratchx is the best product to remove scratches u can find in the meguiars consumer range.

Errr...the Enzo and Zonda was done by him ke? I don't like to say this, but there was plenty of swirls on the Enzo, although I was a metre or two away from the car.

mengz said:
no probs bro, he told me u called. hahaha, ur detailer goreng his boss? keng keng :P i believe he doing freelance now his price sure better ler, no shop, no boss, lower cost :)

anyways, if u guys wanna check out my detailer's work. the Ferrari Enzo and the Pagani Zonda at the KLIMS was done by him :)

Meguiar's are damn good stuffs. One thing I hate about my car is, since it's yellow in colour, dirt on top of the car + rain for the past 2/3 days make the yellow colour, somewhat dull. But after a NXT wash + Quik Detailer ( oledi clayed, polished and waxed last week ), it'll shine back!

ace79, i find it somehow appealing though. maybe different ppl different view qua. like this i dunno y did the enzo owner let him do it then. anyways, enuff of ur detailer, my detailer, his detailer. as long everyone is happy with theirs :P

anyways ace79, the NXT wash, issit any good? thought of trying out one bottle of it. currently im using 3M car wash + 3M Perfect-It gloss enhancer, the 3M car wash its not soapy at all, so i have the psychological feeling that its not clean enuff :P but in actual fact it is. i just hate the thought of it not being soapy :P i think i have OCD :P

i have to agree with u, with a good layer of wax regularly. a clean wash + quick detailer/gloss enhancer. presto!!! good as new! shine like bling blings

I don't feel like buying Scratch X, coz I have already tried Turtlewax's Safe Cut, which has the same function as Scratch X, and I find the result of Safe Cut satisfying, if I apply more rubbing compound onto the paintwork, I scared my paint would rosak leh, so how? any ideas from Meguair users on which product to buy, in order to cover up the swirls nicely? I want to try other brand besides Featherlite.

munpeng,

i believe wat u pay is wat u get. wat makes meguiars expensive is because their rubbing compund has a special formula which the abrasive particle will break-up into smaller particle, and the more u rub, the more it break-up leaving it less and less abrasive and start to create a gloss shine. unlike others which don break-up, first rub it will remove scratch but as u keep on rubbing it will actually create more scatches coz the particle didnt break-up. cover up doesnt solve yr problem, after a few car washes, swirl marks will start to appear again so u will end waxing yr car more and more often. i hope this info can help u.

Yeah, you have to wash your car with the correct items and with the correct way to avoid swirls. It's impossible to have a 100% swirl - free car, but maybe 80% free lah.

cclems said:
munpeng,

i believe wat u pay is wat u get. wat makes meguiars expensive is because their rubbing compund has a special formula which the abrasive particle will break-up into smaller particle, and the more u rub, the more it break-up leaving it less and less abrasive and start to create a gloss shine. unlike others which don break-up, first rub it will remove scratch but as u keep on rubbing it will actually create more scatches coz the particle didnt break-up. cover up doesnt solve yr problem, after a few car washes, swirl marks will start to appear again so u will end waxing yr car more and more often. i hope this info can help u.

Yeah, ace79 is perfectly right. Washing the car in the proper way is very important. You have to be very generous with water. The washing cloth should be really really wet.

For swirl problem again, munpeng, you should try to use FEATHERLITE a few more rounds before you consider another action plan.Hope this is good advice.

By the way, cars you see displayed at shopping complexes are always full of swirls. Does anybody notice this?

Focalpoint, I have used up half a bottle of Featherlite, it's a quality product, but I am curious about other brands too. I agree with you, cars on display also have swirls on them, probably every single car on this planet also have.....

Okay, I'll try Scratch X, so what's the price? is it Rm53.90? Ace79, you mentioned you apply Scratch X passionately, meaning hard but not too hard to spoil the paintwork right?