how to drive at s'pore?

K-Kid

Need help fellow forumer!

Wanna know how a malaysian can drive at s'pore. Someone told me to get international licence but i'll loose m'sia licence and can't drive here? I'm so blur...any input is appreciated, thank you!

What? who told u about it? Just drive in singapore wit ur current license.

Just make sure you have valid road tax and drivers license.

You'll also need to buy an autopass card with some credit in it so have SG$ ready at hand.

And don't forget to buy parking coupons...

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/index_motoring_guide.htm

ya, gotta agree with prozac,

prozac,

sounds like u r very familiar with goin to singapore, always go there for shopping spree? keke

as long as u got de msia license den can drive in there la...
juz for visitor la... if for sg citizen wana drive den got to hav license like msia oso..

Why drive to SG? It's bloody expensive... parking charges are calculated by the minute. I usually take a first class train to SG... easier and at least can sleep peacefully.

In SG, it's MRT all the way... sometimes cabs or buses. Their public transport is TOP NOTCH! Unlike ours which is BEYOND HELP!

To drive to Singapore, first petrol must be full, as there is pay on SGD, not rm. Second autopass and parking tickets, then have to buy something like Smarttag at some place. The most important part is follow all the traffic rules as snipper is everywhere on the road standing by to shoot somebody down. SG is not like MY, they have minimum speed on road at certain area, less than minimum, fine. If you have any fines in SG, then you cannot leave SG before the fines are paid. They are very fast on this. You make offend now, at the next minute, exit checkpoints will have all the info. Not like MY, have to seek help from SG to catch the SG peoples that make offends in MY.

I've driven in before twice. Pretty convenient. Assuming you're entering from 2nd link.

First and foremost, you need a valid roadtax. If you have the cut out of your roadtax(the L-shaped road tax), bring it along. If you've lost it, bring along your registration card.

When you reach the Singapore customs, obviously you give your passport and so on. Then you will need to park one side and go down to the counter to apply for a new Autopass. You pay like S$13.00 or something like that for a new card and its tagged to your current car plate number. With the new card, you're entitled to 10 days free entry to Singapore in a calendar year. After that, you have to pay like S$30 per day.

After clearing the customs, you enjoy your drive in Singapore(at 90kmh) and when you're coming back, make sure you have at least $10 inside the card because you need to pay the toll. And of coz that is if you didn't kena the ERP in the city centre. You just slot in the card at exit, they will deduct it automatically and voila! You're back in Johor.

ya.. u guys r rite oso...
K-kid, is better for u to use public transport den usin own transport...
less spendin ma...

u need to buy an autopass card if ur car is 1st time enter to s'pore with some credit inside the card. from monday - friday u will charge SG30 per day unless u enter after 7pm & out before 2am then it is free. saturday, sunday & s'pore public holiday are free. you also need to charge with a small amount while u pass their custom toll. during weekdays if u enter those town area have ERP & your car dont have the look alike smart tag then you will be charge SG10 per day

(correct me if i wrong)

I agree wif acbc.
Exactly same thing being told by my mum to me. Wat she does when she goes to visit my sis there is take a plane there n do all her shoppings or wateve activity by the help of public transport.

digitalcom, what you said was right. But when you apply Autopass for the first time, you're given 10 days free, so you don't have to pay $30 per day.

Remember the autopass card is not transferable. The card is only meant for one car only. First time I went there by car was with a Honda and the second time I went there was with my satria. Tried to use my first autopass card but did not work because it was for the Honda so I had to buy another card for my satria. Best time to go there is during the weekends and s'pore public holidays as stated by digitalcom which is true.

Even if can save SGD30 per with 10days free, we still need to buy the parking tickets for SGD9(4-5 years back), now don't know how much, there their government servants very hardworking, every hour they will check the parking ticket time, not like us, 1 day check once. And before we leave SG, we have to show them the parking ticket book, if no book then you will be in trouble, this is what my uncle said last time, park for 1hour only have to buy a book.

If not mistaken, you can actually buy 1/2 hour parking ticket at Singapore. The same in Australia. In Malaysia, minimum is 1 hour. However, our 1 hour is same as their 1/2 hour ticket rate, judging by 1 to 1 currency exchange.

For a small country like Singapore, they have no choice but to charge expensive price for parking and ERP to encourage people from using public transport. So its just too bad that parking costs that expensive there.