How reliable is the RB20 DET?

Black oil in intercooler piping

The last time I opened up my intercooler piping(stock), I noticed there was traces of black oil in the pipes. Most noticeable on the pipe from the turbine to the intercooler (second pipe from the top).

Would this be a problem? The car still goes fast when I need it too, but it always dies off when slowing down and my feet is on the clutch.

wideawake said:
The last time I opened up my intercooler piping(stock), I noticed there was traces of black oil in the pipes. Most noticeable on the pipe from the turbine to the intercooler (second pipe from the top).

Would this be a problem? The car still goes fast when I need it too, but it always dies off when slowing down and my feet is on the clutch.

had that same problem before...but mine was worst...there was alittle oil IN the intercooler. so i wash the i/c and piping and got an oil catch tank installed. checked again afterthat... it was dry...but the car couldn't idle properly. i cleaned the air sensor and then everything was fine... so i guess that the oil was going back into the intake hose... coz there was oil residue there as well. after the OCT was installed... everything ok... but of course there are other reasons as well... this was my experience... hope that helped...

just my 2cents...

ambayah said:
Theres rumors around here of kancil exceeding 250km/h

hahahaha......wei want to get 255kmh in an rb20det also must find really long road....and risk your life and the engine.....i wonder what you have to risk with a kancil doing 250kmh.......

whahaha~!!! then I'm planning to sell my A31 RB20det then buy a kancil if kancil can go up to 250km/h!!!