how far are we...

aiyaaa...
since when did i said good n cheap...

please do get the point what i'm asking...
if the ponit not understood...
please close this thread...heeeee...

I would still say it boils down to cost. I'm VERY SURE there are mechanics/engine builders/tuners that are way better than from overseas heck some of our guys are actually even producing performance parts for overseas car modders but it's only we are not aware it. The market for engine mod/tuning/rebuilding I would consider it's still a niche market and not everyone are willing to pay for good service yes we know that engine rebuilding involves specialised tools and complex calculations and definately there are people doing this out there and because they (workshop) knows there are SOME people who appreciate it and willing to pay the PREMIUM price.

Take for example a workshop in Glenmarie which shall be unamed that does engine servicing/flushing. I heard from a friend that they do an extremely good job and have specialised machines to flush the engine oil but it costs somewhere in the region of 400-500 ringgit. There are people going there and paying the premium and expecting the highest level of expertise and proffesionalism and most of the time they do get it but what about the average joe that goes there ? The first thing he would say is it's bloody expensive and he could do the same thing for less than RM100 but just buying a chemical and pouring it into the engine.

Another example would be those specialised car detailing companies. Why do they exist and why they can charge a premium for their expertise and level of work ? It's just a car polish/wax work what if given the time you can even do it at home what or even send to the shopping center/bawah pokok car wash to do it what ? But a true car detailer knows the PROPER work and equipment involves to get a show car shine hence they send their car to a car detailer.

If malaysian engine builders/tuners are not knowledgeable we wouldn't be having 500-600 hp supra road cars that are reliable or even 200-250 honda that are being driven daily. So I do not see the basis of this discussion stating that our local builders/tuners are not as good as those "white skin" ones !!!! Rather the question I would ask is our local car mod scene ready for such level of expertise and workmanship and obviously the cost that comes a long with it.

Also mr netmatrix sir you are confusing me at one point you state we want to know how knowledgeable is our mechanic and then you ask since the work to rebuild the engine is same shouldn't the cost between workshop also be roughly the same/lesser and their competition is good for us and then you state we are not here to involve cost but then you must remember we are CUSTOMERS and as customers we always expect the BEST for the least amount of cost. Do you meet a customer everyday that says just give me the best and forget about the cost ? Also good value for money is very subjective for eg one workshop could be charging RM 2k for a complete rebuild including parts and you're back there again after 8 months because oil was leaking where else another workshop charges RM 4k for the same amount of work done but you never go back for any repair except normal oil service. So which is value for money ?

The only thing that is left for me to say is TIME is MONEY. If a mechanic can do an engine malaysia boleh style in 2 days and costs RM 800. Then you sit down beside him and said eh this is the engine repair manual please follow it and it takes him 6 days instead of 2 so does he still charge you RM 800 ? Or he as a mechanic has a responsibility when rebuilding the engine and should have done it the proper way in the first place and how much longer it takes is none of your(customer) concern as you just want the engine rebuilt according to spec and since he's rebuilding it anyway what's the harm to follow the specs/tolerence etc right ?

I could go on and on and in circles up and down but to me I would say the change needs to come from the consumer. When the buying stops so does the killing. Save the seals !!!! eh sorry sorry wrong campaign already !!! hahahahahahahah

chin,
it's not lost la.. u had to digest properly as wat sifo yoga says.. slowly digest u will understand wat it means.. create added value to customer service.. who are mechanic customer? all of us mah... hahahahahaha!

yep, there's no such thing as cheap services and expect to pay peanuts to get gold 999 or 916 la.. wahahahahahahahaha! ok, pretty simple la.. i got 2 mech from klg and one from KL.. simple services i will go to my mech in klg but among dis 2 mech in klg i will go to that one under the big tree one famously know as "The 3 brothers" and each of dem got their own customer.. last time my engine was transplant by one of them here.. so far from year 2002 april till dis year b4 undergoing major upgrade it has been ok for de engine n so forth la.. eehehehehehe.. so de other mech in klg i find him a lot of talking + very convincing but when comes to payment shittttt a big higher and i think not worth it.. so i compare and said wahhh same service also so if i go to the ah meng one of the 3 brothers price would be cheaper....

So i cannot tell dis mech eh i dun wan liao ur service ur cheebye service dem mahal and so forth.. we ask ourselves aijjooo takpe la oredi do mah pay loh but also ask for some good prices as well to see how much discount dis fella can give.. at de end small discount onli oso i pay loh.. so now frm 3 suppliers mech who can give me such service i cut down to 2.. so after dat found another mech at jalan kapar oso ok, service ok, nice price and been there 3 times and no complain at all.. so i listed dis as my new mech..

So u see, de conclusion is, we r still de customer n we have all de rights to source, compare and list our very own mech.. and den at the end we can decide ourselves who to go.. if let say my car breakdown in de middle of KL i know i can depend on my KL mech and if klg i can call my klg mech.. so support also plays important issue here... if de mech jes one time bizness wif u oso no point cause nanti apa-apa hal gone case no support as well..

So final super conclusion.. still is service, knowledge, support and reliability and no paying peanuts to get gold service.. heehhehehehehe! Sekian Terima Kasihhhhhhhhh!! ahahahahaha!

Regards,
Mike

But then how about what we always hear about the good old bawah pokok mechanics? They are the minority which some has attest to good workmanship and cheap prices. TRD16V mentioned price more than service. Value for customer is specified as customer interaction? If the shop has reputation to rebuild 4AGE at spec, at cheap prices, but he doesn't give a damn about the customer, then this shop is not worth going to? It like you buy KFC at the counter, the staff suppose to have service with a smile. But there is just a sad sod behind the counter. You get food you pay. Not much interaction. So mean you would no go to KFC anymore?:confused_smile:

We can't look at prices to dictate good service. A compay could pay tons of money to brainwash you into thinking their product is number one. Then in the end of the day, what you get is similar to another company is offering at 30% less. :mouth_closed:

Yolk i know about the specialized car service center in Shah Alam. My friend did a full service there. The cost RM12xx!!! That also after discount!! I was the first to TIU my friend for the cost involved. That shop was MISUNDERSTOOD by many many people. And that company didn't make any bochure or ads to specify why they charged so high. That is until i found a small article in a Motoring section in The Star, where they interviewed the owner. It is said the service is specifically for high mileage cars. And it is recommended that second hand cars get this service. Not our regular road runners! He even admit if you do 3 months service this way, its not economical anymore. Basically its a one time job. And he says its car renewal service.

Proper auto detailing? hahaha. This one i gotta rest my case. You could still buy high grade carnauba wax this and that with flat polishing machine. And the rest of your monies you pay for stiiling on leather chairs while sipping mocha. No i'm not aginst those "tukang urut kereta untuk kecantikan" shops. hahaha. Anyway there are so many new chemical bonding process for paint jobs. Waxing is almost obsolete. Just wait for that new type of paint to come out.

Also i'm looking at the RM3000 people. Not the RM2000 or the RM4000. Why? Because i know the RM3000 guy did his homework and find cheap no good, expensive no customer. hahaha. Yes, agree that time is money. Then again the time is not spent on our engine. Like i said the mechanics doesn't spend all his time tending to your engine. They do other cars as well. If there is a team of 4 persons working on 1 engine constantly, it would definitely take 3 day or less. But then the amount paid would be for 4 workers, not time anymore. And lets not forget PROPER tools. This i would differ shop to shop. I believe that comes into play in cost as well.

About AN engine specializing. No mechanic would be so specialized at one engine. Not in Malaysia anyway. Unless he is directly forcing himself to cater to just a specific brand. Remember the picture that Rolakid? posted of a spareparts shop that only sells toyota parts? He is one of those rare minorty people who would cater to (Yolk said it!) niche market. :regular_smile:

QIW, there is such a thing as good and cheap!!! There is i tell ya. Your JRD wheel are good and cheap what?! Pot holes, events still in one shape. hahaha. But really there is good stuff out there. Just have to be patient to look for it. But if want to have cheap stuff fast... NO freaking WAY! Even E-Bay charges high price for grab it now. :_:

But in the end i think the first guy who posted this would wanna know, which shop(s) can do toyota engines at the best price and workmanship which i know no one would answer it!:X-: How come he is relegated to spewing only 1 liners like Terminator. Where i'm compiling novels here? I feel soooo used. hahaha. :cry_smile: :_:

netmatrix
I know exactly what you mean .. i feel used .. hahaha .. btw the mechanic who did my engine did it 80% following book and I was beside him watching him rebuild my engine until 3-4 am in morning .... and i believe the new owner until now has not had an issue with the engine !!!! but then again I'm one of the rm4-5k person .. hahahhaa .. i don't mind paying money for high quality products and workmanship ... money can be earned back but time and heartache can never be regained ....

the one thing I HATE MOST about workshop/mechanic is when you ask them details of the things that they will be doing they will say we are the experts don't worry we'll handle everything for you and treat you like an idiot who know nuts .... also there's this famous shop in shah alam/glemarie that does engine rebuilding/blueprinting ... what's wrong with going to them ?? or is it the cost issue again ??

So to answer the thread starter question ... YES WE HAVE QUALIFIED AND EXPERIENCED MECHANIC IN MALAYSIA !!!!!!

Hahaha spot on man!

I know those mechanics that u mentioned as well. After a reply that they know well what is happening, its enough to stop my conversation there and then. Also a reluctance to give them future business. Unfortunately most mechanics treat machines as machines. i think we could probably be too attached to our cars. No wonder we go coastal on them!

That shop in Shah Alam ah? We need to pay 5 grand to do do up the 20V. EFN did his for 4K plus, and thats too is minor job. But then again this shop can be classified as niche market right? Else PNP jobs can be done in many shops in klang valley. Reputable ones are few. Thats the job of car owner to go shopping.

I second that, YES WE HAVE QUALIFIED AND EXPERIENCED MECHANIC IN MALAYSIA !!!!!!

waahhh...so long yet so funny...heee...

quality not quantity...
i'm newbie don't blame me...

wahh like pantun already...

that's why i went into certain mech...
like this shop very good in reshim the engine, this shop expert on electrical...don't mind the price (but do mind a little bit...heee) as long he's know what's he doing...although the price is high...but we are satisfied...

in certain forum...(not here, but outside forum)
forumers who post thier project DIY car...willing to post it, teach, give some guidance, tech references...for free...but this not the point...the point is that they really2 love this technical job on cars...so they don't mind sharing it...they doing it
from the bottom of their heart....wahahahahahah

so that kind of ppl i want to see...get what i mean...???

netmatrix,
kenot said i am wrong also one.. i am de customer so i decide where to go la.. nabeh leh somemore tiu kaw me ar.. hahahahaahahahahah! cheebye! i think ur ass oredi gatal wanna kena rotan from GB liao.. LOL!!!!

Yes, we have the qualified experience mechanic in malaysia @ bolehland.. ekekekekekekek! in dis bolehland money=macam macam adaaaa + apa apa pun bolehhhhh!! wahahahahahaahah!

Regards,
Mike

dont talk so much .. GRA is on 10/9/06 .. chinozie .. u already tolak banyak kali .. this time entering or not ??? hahahahaahahahaa ..

errr .. mr netmatrix .. i never used the JRDs i bought laa .. all this while (after i switched from 16inch to 15inch) i was using ENKEI from japan laaa .. hahahaahahaa
those were not cheap oso laa .. good ?? they are nowhere as light as some other rims .. and they are also not forged like some other rims .. good and cheap ?? :p

aiyaaaa...i'm work at 09/09/06 at night...
can't join loooo...huuu...

R3 TA maybe...

eerrr ... GRA is on the 10th Sept laa .. SUNDAY !!!!!!!
working or not that day ???? hehehehehe ..

chinozie said:
aiyaaaa...i'm work at 09/09/06 at night...
can't join loooo...huuu...

R3 TA maybe...

meaning have to sleep on Sunday day time till 6pm.Sleep important than GRA ler....

yep sleep more important loh.. especially to those who gonna go into race.. need more rest and peaceful of mind.. minus sex.. ahahahahahahaahahahahahahha!!

Regards,
Mike

Hahahah. trd16v, me not tiu you la. Making some sily point only. hahaha. *see rotan and cabut like a bullet* kapwing!~~~~

Qiw you changed wheels ka? I thought you still using malaysian made product. hahaha. Don't care light or not, u loose 1 inch u gain response. Enough lor.

Chinozie, unfortunately this "bottom of the backside info for free sharing" isn't really a malaysian way:X-: . Maybe some countries la. Not here la. And some more basically you only see very very very very rare cases of people doing some DIY project concerning engines. Well maybe a DIY air intake with bucket (acoustic) DIY brake like reinforcements (johnsonlam), and may more. But hardly about engines.

GT20V, i know la nowdays you dig having beauty sleep. hahaha. Must be influenced by your wife liao! Next time come TTT look like Amy Search. hahaha. Joking only ya?

eehhh ... mr matrix .. i have been using those ENKEIs since JAN 06 laa .. apadaa ??

Chinozie, unfortunately this "bottom of the backside info for free sharing" isn't really a malaysian way . Maybe some countries la. Not here la. And some more basically you only see very very very very rare cases of people doing some DIY project concerning engines. Well maybe a DIY air intake with bucket (acoustic) DIY brake like reinforcements (johnsonlam), and may more. But hardly about engines.

well...what to do...
i'd love to see those hing happen here...
if happened sure all us power kaw kaw one...heeee...

thank you for understanding...
hee...like "meluahkan persaan" heeee...