HighCam

hillies

lightly moded 4g13 (running in olden days tech, carbureator) as in 4-2-1 extractor, mid bullet and muffler. Not very familiar with highcams, so hopefully the pros out there can give me some opinion and some help.. Thanks in advance..
Mod:
from stock cam to 272deg piper cams.

1. can it do without adj cam pulleys?
2. will it run smooth without port and polish?
3. will my rpm go like for eg: 1k-500 or 400 continuously when idling?
4. around hw much power do I get? (roughly)
5. what is it like if we were to use it uphill?
6. What is the FC like?

1. better to have adj. cam pulley for fine tuning

2. no problem without PnP

3. No, it will not, (assuming evrything ok), ive used pipercam 272s before

4. Power from the pipercams are ok over stock....u get slitely less low end, but u have better mid to top breathing, power increase is quite linear, so there wont be that sudden surge of power when it comes into its sweet spot in the rpm range...

Compared to matspeed 272s, it is milder, cheaper...matspeed 272s u get more of a kick from mid to top

5. Uphill? No problem lah, not so noticeable

6. FC? Difference not significant, unless ur tuning is out

Want bigger difference, get matspeed 272s couple with a weber dcnf hohoho merry christmas

Will dropping in a Piper 272 and then advancing the cam by around 4 degrees with adjustable cam pulley help with the low-end torque?

ohh.. thanks sifus.. :) will the stock pistons gv problem if we were to use these highcam?

lightly moded 4g13 (running in olden days tech, carbureator) as in 4-2-1 extractor, mid bullet and muffler. Not very familiar with highcams, so hopefully the pros out there can give me some opinion and some help.. Thanks in advance..
Mod:
from stock cam to 272deg piper cams.

1. can it do without adj cam pulleys?
2. will it run smooth without port and polish?
3. will my rpm go like for eg: 1k-500 or 400 continuously when idling?
4. around hw much power do I get? (roughly)
5. what is it like if we were to use it uphill?
6. What is the FC like?

1. can... but ur powerband might not be suited for ur application... adj campulley is mainly for tuning preference...
2. yes... port polish enhance the performance... without port polish, ur engine can also perform with jz highcams...
3. carburetor can increase ur idle rpm easily mah... normally cars running with highcams have idling rpm approx 1k...
4. noticeable... haha... coz i didnt dyno before...
5. err... same... power increase lor... this is not lightened flywheel which has relation with the rotating mass...
6. correct tuning will not affect ur fuel consumption much.... barely noticeable....

Will dropping in a Piper 272 and then advancing the cam by around 4 degrees with adjustable cam pulley help with the low-end torque?

yep it will help, but not too sure as to the exact amount of degrees though, mebbe u can start with a change of 2 degrees, then another 2....easier to feel the difference rather than just a one by one degree change

but the slite low end loss is nothing to worry about, really

ohh.. thanks sifus.. :) will the stock pistons gv problem if we were to use these highcam?

no sifoo, just another enthusiast who cun cun used the same cam as u haha

dun worry bout the pistons, valve springs, ambipur etc. etc. just worry about ur right foot when u have the additional ponies unda da hood :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: more pressing, more fueling

nop, i used piper, then matspeed, and almost got a used, rare Kent cam for the 4g15....but didnt get it, as the cam lobes were worn quite badly, very sayang la that one...that was a really really good cam....kick @$$ power from mid to top

means now matspeed??.... 272 degrees??...

ah... now only i noticed this thread.. hehe..

highcam.. hmm.. i always doubt the term "high cam".. whether u ppl referring to High Lift cam or high angle overlap cam... hehe...

anyway... using a highcam without ACP is quite a waste if u ask me... the true potential of the highcam will not be fully utilized without an ACP... the powerband need to be tuned to match with the engine output and driver's driving style...

with highcam.. the higher end rpm range will be smoother to rev... with PnP... it will even smoother...

272 duration cam the engine still able to idle normally... most noob will not even notice the difference during idling with highcam...

usually a highcam with proper tuning u should be able to get around 5hp-10hp on wheel with our puny engine... :thefinger: u will feel ur car faster when cruising at highways... when u are revving above 4k rpm onwards..

on uphill... if u make use of the higher rpm range.. it will be great!! like my car when stock... going uphill at 4-5k rpm seems to be stressing the engine already... then with highcam.. i can drive at 5-6k rpm constantly and smoothly... more usable power at high rpm range.. u will be picking on good engine oils from then on... :nurse:

FC depends on how u drive... not much difference on my car... it depends on what rpm range u usually drive at... once with highcam.. i went to Kluang from SErdang.... then back with 1 full tank of petrol.. 600km... cruising at 3000rpm most of the time..

btw i'm using Powerzone 268 cam with modified rocker arms.

mine using matspeed 26x cams (supposedly done for my previous auto setup b4 changing to manual) with no ACP and additonal stuffs
Power kicks in at 3.5K all the way till 6.5K redline.

sifu is i would like to change to a high cam(single cam), what other parts or process I need to change/go through?

Maybe some pricing advice?

usually u dun need to replace anything when replacing the cam...

but since u need to remove the timing belt and all the external beltings during the installation.. u might prepare some extra money if the timing belt and beltings need replacement. One shot change lo.. cos the workmanship not cheap. Other than that.. the distributor o-ring can be replaced together if there is oil leak... hmm.. if the waterpump had not been changed for a long time, say more than 80,000km... one shot replace it lo.. hehe..

pricing?? varies from shop to shop... installation labour will be about RM80-120, parts price depends on what quality or brand u get.

means now matspeed??.... 272 degrees??...

yap, 272, if not mistaken, the kent cams were 28x....

sifu is i would like to change to a high cam(single cam), what other parts or process I need to change/go through?

Maybe some pricing advice?

Other than what sifoo guan mentioned, prices of cams are as follows:

1. pipercam (regrind)= rm5xx to 6xx (no need to swap)
2. powerzone/matspeed/maddriver (regrind)= rm12xx to 13xx (swap with ori cam)
3. RPW (billet) = AUSD515 WITHOUT shipping and tax from australia to here

PZ cams is it dependent on car? I saw the catalogue, Iswara and Saga cams are cheaper than those Wira and above >_>

maddriver's 1 is inclusion of installation and tuning. What type of tuning involved, you need to ask him

shudnt be, the more expensive ones shud be the cams for dohc applications

mine using matspeed 26x cams (supposedly done for my previous auto setup b4 changing to manual) with no ACP and additonal stuffs
Power kicks in at 3.5K all the way till 6.5K redline.

you're running without ACP?

I've changed to PZ cams last July, just wondering what else can i do to improve the performance of the cams.

if im not mistaken, maddriver's cams dont have to be run with acps, bolt in and go

meltan, nothing much u can do to improve performance of cams, unless u go get those ultra high-lift long-duration cams, then u can get titanium retainers, stronger valve springs, oversized valves etc. etc. which are not readily made for our 4g15s haha

performance of cams would be better utilized with a freer-flowing exhaust system, proper header, properly-sized piping and i like a straight-flow exhaust

make sure intake also is improved, fueling is sufficient, then evrything is a-OK...,oh ya make sure the ignition system is tip-top, then ok liao

more fuel + more air + good ignition = more kick @$$

add on, better to pair up with a PNP head job as well to finish off the combo XD

Yup, maddriver's 1 doesn't need a ACP, just bolt on
if you want ACP, thats more fine tuning with your other mods as well liao