high water temp.

kopking10

my friend's car hv a problem with engine heating issues..at 1st it was the coolant lines leaking at the IACV but still it overheats then he bypass the thermostat to direct fan but still doesnt work..and recently he found out there's plenty of bubbles in radiator when refilling...

could it be head gaskes or other leaks...

fyi, there's oil leak top of tranny prolly the vtec solenoid.

many thanks .. here;s a video of the radiator for better understanding.

YouTube - Radiator Issue : b16a

theres significant air pocket in your hoses that causes the temp rise. bleed it. are the bubbles in the resevoir tank or in the radiator? does your oil look milky or is there oil in your coolant? i just want you to make sure it is your head gasket before pulling it. if you are overheating, the resevoir will fill up as the radiator cap releases the excess pressure. also make sure you don't just have a small leak elsewhere in your system that is hoses under the intake manifold, or the large hoses themselves. once you loose enough coolant thru a small leak, the head will have a bubble in it that can cause you to overheat quickly. also make sure your fans operate correctly. at the end of the day make sure you bleed correctly.

update...just send to workshop to check...need to do top overhaul...is it necessary to do overhaul or just change the gasket would be sufficient enough because my student;s wallet not that thick ;p

quotation for change new head gasket, prolly skim the head = around RM 800

once the head is warped then head skimming would be the cheapest alternative. if the gasket is toasted and the head is warped, sound like a water pump failure that has been running for quite sometime.

not sure about top overhaul though.....

but skimming is a must since your head (not your head la but you know la heheh) has warped already. You can check at the surface of the head where it joins with the block for burnt areas...if it's really bad then it would be visible.

theres significant air pocket in your hoses that causes the temp rise. bleed it. are the bubbles in the resevoir tank or in the radiator? does your oil look milky or is there oil in your coolant? i just want you to make sure it is your head gasket before pulling it. if you are overheating, the resevoir will fill up as the radiator cap releases the excess pressure. also make sure you don't just have a small leak elsewhere in your system that is hoses under the intake manifold, or the large hoses themselves. once you loose enough coolant thru a small leak, the head will have a bubble in it that can cause you to overheat quickly. also make sure your fans operate correctly. at the end of the day make sure you bleed correctly.

the bubbles are quict significant if u watch the video...flushing has been done many times...but radiator hoses...very hard to check..any tips?

once the head is warped then head skimming would be the cheapest alternative. if the gasket is toasted and the head is warped, sound like a water pump failure that has been running for quite sometime.

yea would look at it when it is being send to workshop tmr...thanks

not sure about top overhaul though.....

but skimming is a must since your head (not your head la but you know la heheh) has warped already. You can check at the surface of the head where it joins with the block for burnt areas...if it's really bad then it would be visible.

what is top overhaul actually..? how far extent does it go?

anyway, we went and check for gasket prices..

mugen = RM450
ARC = RM 280 including valve seals, intake gasket, head gasket etc...

so now depends on labour...prolly gonna do more survey cuz we're just students hehe...

????!!!!!

ARC=RM280???n dat sounds more like a top set...u sure its d REAL ARC,cant b dat cheap i reckon..whr'd u get dis quotation???

is this a case for B16A? i believe that honda engines are made of aluminum.

usually, this material will not kembang (uneven) when cold. but it expands when it gets hot.

how ever, skimming might or might not help. for me, once overheat, i'll try and look around for new engines too. because skimming might not help.

kena once, skim, water temp rises more than usual (1/3). skimmed the head. in the end blew the engine due to a crack between the pistons place (combustion chamber) on the block.

check la. if can salvage, salvage your engine. if after skimming the head and the water temp still main2, start looking for a new engine. manual ke? (racun!)

Study on the parts related to cooling, if you want to make sure.

Water passages, water pump, thermostat, the purity of the coolant, (did I miss anything?) all play a part. One part failing will affect cooling. How it affects it depends on what part that fails.

Like J101 said, if there's pollutants like oil in your radiator, the contaminants may come from head gasket leak, but a poorly maintained car that pours water from dubious sources may also show signs of this.

????!!!!!

ARC=RM280???n dat sounds more like a top set...u sure its d REAL ARC,cant b dat cheap i reckon..whr'd u get dis quotation???

yea, i think so. THe shop is some where in old klang road ;p

Study on the parts related to cooling, if you want to make sure.

Water passages, water pump, thermostat, the purity of the coolant, (did I miss anything?) all play a part. One part failing will affect cooling. How it affects it depends on what part that fails.

Like J101 said, if there's pollutants like oil in your radiator, the contaminants may come from head gasket leak, but a poorly maintained car that pours water from dubious sources may also show signs of this.

yeap, it has been certified by the mechanics but ill try to check the hoses again. BUT how to what extent method can i do that? go for compression test? or manually use hand or whatever...will worn headgasket affect the compression level as well? im so lost..

btw, juz found out that there;s water+coolant outside of the radiator's bottom. Somewhere like in the pic below...what causes that?

p/s sorry bout the ugly writing...

• Radiator's bottom.JPG
    Radiator's bottom.JPG
    15.9 KB · Views: 113
No need to use Mugen headgasket or ARC stuffs la bro. If u're tight on a budget, stick to OEM parts.

owh..dats radiator lower cap. BTW, what kind of radiator you used? last time I changed my upper cap + inner ring + radiator service = RM180 for an EJ radiator for OEM Honda. Local one should be RM150. This is due to this cap was leaked.

thanks y;all but where can these OEMs parts available?

somewhere in old klang road or klang valley...

btw, juz found out that there;s water+coolant outside of the radiator's bottom. Somewhere like in the pic below...what causes that?

p/s sorry bout the ugly writing...

That's pretty obvious isn't it? There's probably a leak.. unless someone was pretty clumsy while pouring coolant down that tiny radiator hole (happens to me sometimes as well :P)

Well.. cooling problems are usually localised to the parts mentioned earlier, so check one by one and change them.

The radiator is probably the only problem, hopefully, but if the car has been poorly maintained.. well.. long road ahead for you I'm afraid.

thanks y'all for much love and care will start changing the headgasket very soon once i found out any machinery shop that can skim the cyclinder head for me..

anyone knows where?

your mech will usually subcon the machining (got aa such word ??) part to the nearest machine shop available............ for love and care you can refer to Hattech-V miahahahahahhaha

i would gladly do that...Hattech-V where are u???! any recommendation on machinery shop that can do head skimming in KL...im staying at old klang road.

Hello guys..regarding to this issues, i still having this problem and feel sick of it..I did top overhaul twice, and you know the cost that make me crazy. The problem of overheating was occurred to me 6 months ago (Top overhaul for 1st time) and the problem bugging me back recently. After my 2nd top overhaul last week, the overheating problem still cannot solve. I feel tired to go back to the garage...check, fix,check..fix and the same problem still occurred. All the related parts like radiator, water pump, thermostat have been touched to fix, but still...the needle still UP to it....How should i do? Please advice me..or i'm thinking to let go my precious powerful engine?