HID Lights

im currently using projector headlight by eagle eye brand, H3 halogen bulb... wonder if it is suitable to put a 4.3k and provide a nice cut line when the light is projected out ?? anyone tried or seen before? thx

What car? I've seen my cousin using eagleeyes projectors on his 2010 Corolla altis. He used HID lights and the lighting sucked. The lights isn't bright at all and the cutoff is not sharp. I guess that the eagleeyes projectors are made and calibrated for halogen bulbs only. One can use HID, but the lighting is not going to be nice because the focal point of HID bulbs and halogen bulbs are different.

mine is honda civic EG9.... the fine cut on my current bulb seems good... straight line.... but dunno what will happens if put HID.... thinking to put HID... mine is H3 bulb

Actually not all projectors are designed for HID...those projector for Halogen bulbs and HID are different so using a halogen projector to fit a HID bulb the output will not be good as those Bimmers or Benz with HID projector.

yup.. mine also using projector with HID... it looks good but not really functional... the coverage area sux...

my car will be running on end of feb.. i will take a picture then.. im using HID 4300k..
IMG_0157.jpg

this is the picture from some time back... as you can see 1 side is shining on the road while the other looking for UFO...

my car will be running on end of feb.. i will take a picture then.. im using HID 4300k..
IMG_0157.jpg

this is the picture from some time back... as you can see 1 side is shining on the road while the other looking for UFO...

4300k in photo seem bit blueish... like 6000k

Maybe it's still warming up la... Takes around 10 to 15 secs for HID to reach stable colour and brightness.

seriously feel itchy, really wanna fit a good hid inti my projector...but just worries that the projector cant project the light nicely make my vision at night evwn more worst

aranny, you need to get those bimmers projector..try to look for them at half cut shop...how the light outputs onto the road is mainly govern by the projector not the HID itself so your Projector controls how the light shines and cut off..

Some info sharing...
HIDRetrofits | A High Performance HID Projector Retrofit Headlights Resource

i don't think honda do have halfcut hid projector. currently im using eagle eye projector, need to spend money to mod on it again meh? T.T running out of budget~ anyway , putting a hid in halogen projector is bettr than reflector type of headlight right?

Speaking of glare elimination and cutoff, it is better. Speaking of illumination and light throw, no.
Well, you can always DIY retrofit a HID projector next time. Last time they are selling for a bout 350 per pair. Things will get cheaper in the future. Don't despair.

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:09 PM ----------

If you already have eagleeyes projector, maybe consider using white bulbs Philips blue vision, silver vision, crystal vision, osram nightbreaker PLUS, osram cool blue (4000k, 4300k and 5000k). They cost 1xx - 2xx.

Halogens in projectors are also better than in reflector and you might just get the result that you want. From my experience, DON'T got for the cheap blue bulbs sold in supermarkets.

Putting HID in halogen projector..you only get 50% of the result....I believe you have read through the whole website and the dimension and the way halogen bulb output light and HID are totally different. If you put HID into a Halogen projector, you will mess up the light output because the halogen projector was design to match with the halogen's dimension and light output. Not the opposite. Even those Eagle eyes projector were meant for Halogen bulbs NOT HIDs. IF you want to get that good cut off, wide beam spread and even beam patterns, you will need to use a projector that is meant for HID...It's better you retro fit in a HID projector to your eagle eye headlights....

Please read.....useful...
http://www.fordrangerforum.com/general-ford-ranger-discussion/47663-whats-difference-between-hid-projectors-halogen-projectors.html

http://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-...kits-in-halogen-projectors-pic-intensive.html

You may wanna consider to retrofit a Infinity FX-R projectors, they give you wide and sharp outputs with no glaring.

Speaking of glare elimination and cutoff, it is better. Speaking of illumination and light throw, no.
Well, you can always DIY retrofit a HID projector next time. Last time they are selling for a bout 350 per pair. Things will get cheaper in the future. Don't despair.

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:09 PM ----------

If you already have eagleeyes projector, maybe consider using white bulbs Philips blue vision, silver vision, crystal vision, osram nightbreaker PLUS, osram cool blue (4000k, 4300k and 5000k). They cost 1xx - 2xx.

Halogens in projectors are also better than in reflector and you might just get the result that you want. From my experience, DON'T got for the cheap blue bulbs sold in supermarkets.

The reason i like hid when it ignite during starting and when light turn off, its look really nice....! i believe hid life longer than those osram night breaker light lo.....

---------- Post added at 06:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:29 PM ----------

Putting HID in halogen projector..you only get 50% of the result....I believe you have read through the whole website and the dimension and the way halogen bulb output light and HID are totally different. If you put HID into a Halogen projector, you will mess up the light output because the halogen projector was design to match with the halogen's dimension and light output. Not the opposite. Even those Eagle eyes projector were meant for Halogen bulbs NOT HIDs. IF you want to get that good cut off, wide beam spread and even beam patterns, you will need to use a projector that is meant for HID...It's better you retro fit in a HID projector to your eagle eye headlights....

Please read.....useful...
http://www.fordrangerforum.com/general-ford-ranger-discussion/47663-whats-difference-between-hid-projectors-halogen-projectors.html

Why I can never go back to HID kits in halogen projectors... Pic Intensive - Club Lexus Forums

I had read that, thx. Wonder if anyone do mod my projector into hid type projector? What if halogen bulb put into hid lense?

---------- Post added at 06:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:33 PM ----------

You may wanna consider to retrofit a Infinity FX-R projectors, they give you wide and sharp outputs with no glaring.

You know anyone who doing that?

Well, startup and offing the lights, you won't get with halogen bulbs. But at least you can get the colour. And that seems like the best choice in terms of quality, legality and cost for you right now.. If not, then consider retrofit a HID projector in. Check in mudah it's about 350 - 370 including the HID system. All you need is time, patience and the willingness to DIY

Aranny, putting Halogen bulb into HID projector....you get the same thing like you put halogen into HID projector...remember, the bulb length affect the light throw 2ndly, the projector is design to match the bulbs not the opposite.

If you are lack of DIY skill it's better to have a pro to guide you when you do it. IF you have average DIY skill I believe you will be able to swap the halogen projector out and change it to a HID projector. It's all about trial and error when it comes to DIY. You won't get it right in the 1st place but you learn each time you correct the mistake. Have fun doing it and post it here to share....

wanna ask a blunt question, can halogen bulb be used in a xenon projector, does it cause halogen brightness to decrease?

Agree with TitanRev. Make sure that if you want to do it, you have ample time. Do not plan to go out at that same night. Get a DIYer to try with you if unsure. And try not to permanently break/destroy parts so that if the DIY fails, you can still assemble it back and use it as stock.

---------- Post added at 11:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:29 PM ----------

wanna ask a blunt question, can halogen bulb be used in a xenon projector, does it cause halogen brightness to decrease?

Decrease brightness, maybe. But first of all, a halogen bulb wouldn't fit a xenon projector because the mounting or base (or whatever you call it in bulb language) will not fit. Halogens ranges from H1 to H12 and they have distint base. Xenons ranges are D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3S, D4R and D4S.

Xenon bulbs can fit halogen projectors because manufacturers make the bulbs with the same base as the respective halogen bulb base for people to retrofit. For example, manufacturer make a xenon bulb with H4 base to make it possible for us to mount the bulb in our existing headlamp housing.