hi CAMS....

shellzshockerz

SIFU'S.....for hicams for a 4G92p....the cost roughly how much...can i get it for 1.5k???

and other than powerzone and matspeed wat other brands are there??? ;) ..

thanx in advance

If I still remember correctly, Autobags in Kelana Jaya sell a "Rocker X" which they claimed as good as half racing cam, I think it's modified rocker arms to give higher valve lift. Otherwise u can source a camshaft for ur 4G92 from RPW Australia, price might cost a bomb though.

powerzone camshaft i think cost around 1.6K.Try call them maybe they got promotion.

By the way ...PZ camshaft is a good choice.Its ok too for normal and daily drive.

koiez...does anyone knoe the price 4 rpw???wanna knoe...cuz ahf heard bout them...thanx guys 4 the info.....

the powerzone cams rite..is the price including installation??

Bro, better ask Powerzone themselves about the price & availibity. Go visit http://www.powerzone.com.my Yes, their price includes installation, u gotta give ur current cam to 'em in exchange of the new cam. About RPW, u can ask Matspeed, maybe they can source RPW product from Australia.

it is not recommended to change to high-cam for raod car.....
if u wanna enhance ur engine power, u should get all of stuff such as extractor,air filter,port&polish and etc.
at last just the high can is considered.
because high cam will have ubstable idle speed and power out[ut at low range rpm is worst than a stock.....
this is the exprience from my friend last time......

It depends on the camshaft duration, the higher the duration, the more low-RPM loss will be noticed. Camshaft around 260-270 degrees should be fine. I'm using Powerzone cam, no problem with idling. Racing cams normally start from 280 degrees duration.

changing is a good idea..but a high peformance cam will need u to change ur headers to a 4-1 ones..coz u will be emitting more exhaust gas than b4 and u will need better headers to let em' out.or else u will lose HP in this case.
i suggest if u want to change ur cam..opt for a mid-performance one.

Originally posted by aarion@Jan 7 2005, 16:43
is campully as important if change cams?
What do Adjustable Cam Pully do? What is there to adjust and why? Do ppl get Adjustable Cam Pully when they use Hi Cams?

cam pulley is used to set an optimum rpm range for high cam. if on stock pulley, it will only adjust ur rpm range power. if set advance, then ur car have instance power in low/mid rpm. if set retard then ur power comes later. it depends on ur cam and other engine modification. many mechanic just trial and error rather than put on dyno.
stock i think they put as 0 deg. retarding will be in -ve, advancing will be +ve.
however, the reality is..real stock figure would be 20deg before TDC, the intake valve opens. correct me if i'm wrong

lastime i was quoted RM 1800 for high cams in Matspeed ..DOHC ya..not single cam..

from wht i read here, Powerzone is doing the same thing as Matspeed - regrind own cams .. i think for 92P which is single cam cost below RM 1k..correct me if im wrong..

btw adj, cam pulley is not necessary but the performance of the cams wont be fully performed..unless got campulley to tune it, so u will get the optimum power or full power of the cams..

i saw in sum postings dat SRR (taiwan) kinda reasonable for a new set..
sum they took the old campulley and regrind it ,but i think a new one is better rite?

btw wif high cams, ur fuel need to do sum tunings too, to have a piggyback is more than enuf..cus u might not know that wen it comes to high rev, fuel too lean and it will make ur engine lifespan shorter or mebi KABOOM in a short run..so beware..!!

u can try having adjustable campulley first, u can feel the difference by setting it to the performance ur looking forward..den slowly upgrade other stuff like PnP, Balancing, Lightening Flywheel , cus i bet ur looking for more pick ups rite? at least 1st - 3rd gear can play wif 1.8s ... and in city area, u wont run more than 180kmh unless KLIA highway only , am i rite? or u cxan directly skip all the upgrades and put in high cams , but fuel tuning is veri important ..

erm..guys ar..i'm thinkin to get a cam at powerzone
but i love to play at mid rev...seldom go above 5k rpm
but i heard many people said changin high cams only hav power at high rev...
confuse... :wacko:
need help...

can we really feel the difference if we just put in adj cam pulley? :huh:
and will it do any damage to the engine in the long run?

Thanx really if any sifu care to gve me some light :)

may i know why does changing high cam make engine consume engine oil?
mind explaining?

et5828, Powerzone is proven to give u power increase even from low-RPM, u can feel it from 2500RPM to 5300RPM, proven on my dyno chart on my engine. Gti, adjustable campully doesn't give u power, it's used to adjust your cam phase to reduce some power loss at RPM if u're using racing camshaft, so no need for adjustable cam pully if ur camshaft is not racing camshaft. protnosss, fuel consumption depends on the type of the camshaft, whether is street or racing one. The more racier the camshaft, the more power-loss at low RPM, the more fuel it will consume, the more problematic idling it would be, and the higher RPM u have to rev to get the power. Some extreme racing camshaft won't let u idle below 2500RPM and only gives power from 6000RPM onwards.