help... trueno pop up light trouble shot

TE27levin

my problem is,
i turn off my trueno pop up light, the right side doesnt want to go down. so i go check on the retractor relay and found water inside.. there is one relay is burned and lost contact..
i try to repair it and striaghten the contact and it working.. tested to put power on it and both relay is clicking..

when install, OMG the left lamp doesnt want to go down now.. so i open up the relay and check, both lamp is turned down manualy.
i try to turn on the light, both light going up. but when turn off, only the right side want to go down..

shit first is right, now go to left side... WTF . :o :lol: :lol: :lol:

hhmm.. will this cause by the light retractor control relay??
the retractor relay is clicking..

another question, which thing actually telling the lamp to do down?
lamp motor? retractor control relay?

Switch the headlights over and test again. If this time, the left(originally right) goes down and the other one do not move. Its ur retractor relay. If the same headlight does not go down, its the limit switch in the motor.

The retractor relay just act as simple relay like those for the horn so that current do not pass direct.

The retractor control relay will control when to supply voltage to the retractor relay upon activation of the driver via the headlight switch in the dashboard.

Read through the headlight section of the AE86 manual and study their circuitry. Its pretty easy to understand from the diagram.

If you do not have the manual, I can email u the relevant pages.

From what you have described, it is mostly the retractor relay in the engine bay. Replace that with what Jasper can get and the problem should be solved.

try posting this in toymods. lots of pop up lights in aus so they should be familiar with this

change relay to ae92 bu need to mod wiring abit ler hbro should be good liao :)

problem solve~ thanks guys..

the burned relay had been repaired..
the left light retractor connector unable to contact after plug in the multimeter to test the continuty of the diode. this morning at office free free to test all the wiring and found it.
:lol: :lol:

following is the diagram i write.. just to share what i found. might help u if ur retractor light not fuctioning.

the diode 2 inside light motor will cut off whem the light reach the most lowest and diode 1 will cut off when reach most top. light relay will energize through the diode inside light motor and cut off when it reach the level.