HELP!!SRS Airbag in PROTON

SkYwAlKeR said:
lol... change car would be much much more expensive than putting airbag lar...
dont want change car la... i like to mod cars more, even my car is slow... hehe

no airbag, drive safely lo... easy solution... or else alwiz huge a pillow when u drive...

Wear ur safety belts.... Tat's all....
No safety belts airbag also can't save u...
Airbag is to protect u from hitting the steering wheel or windscreen n smashed up ur internal organs...
If car wif milo tin body.... not die of internal organs smashed up...Is die of human body kena smashed up by the car's body.

SRS=SECONDARY restraint system.

zan said:
wat did u do? kindly share with us for future rectification.:D

Actually it was dued to some loose cable underneath my steering. So i just tighten it up.
hehehe...luckily takada send to stupid proton servicecenter and risk myself being cutthroat.

huakenny said:
check where is ur sensor located....if dirtry then clean it n 'reset' ur ecu to eliminate the warning light

if stil cannot...mostly ur sensor'kaput'.hv to change or wat not sure

Hi Kenny,
Can you tell me where is the sensor is located? Engine bay or where ar? A photoshot will be great help, if possible. :)

acbc said:
Airbag? Waste of time... my own car also no airbag... n yet I walked out alive without any injuries from 2 major accidents.

Yes, airbag do save lives... but it also depends on the car... if it is a milo-tin car, airbag also no use la.

Since then, I bought a hefty life insurance to ensure my family's welfare in the event of another accident... touch wood!
dude, airbag and abs seems to be a waste of time for u eh? hmm.... try not to be too hard headed over it. U may have survived your accident last year, but having those doesn't mean it is a waste of time. Its there for a purpose.

did u realise that insurance doesnt save your life in any event of an accident? ;)

drive carefully dude.

Finally.....

Finally, i have solved the problem without the help from #$%@#^@#%^
service center in proton as they still refused to fix my car with the reason, "Deeparaya lar,
manyak kerata mau bikin. Airbag manyak susah dan bikin airbag ambil manyak masa. Lepas, deeparaya lu datang ar, masa tu mungkin boleh bikin. Atau lu tinggal kereta 2-3 hari sikalang, boleh cuba bikin sama lu ar".

Initially, i thought was some loose cable underneath my steering that cause the light, but after tightening it, the blinking light eventuatlly came back. :mad: As i was rejected by proton service center several time, i was fed up with the sickening blinking and eventually send my car to a nearby workshop.

The technician eventually removed the whole steering and tested all the cables in the SRS system. After hours of checking, he finally found out that one of thec cable connector to the airbag (round black thing behind my steering, i dunno wat is it called but the guy told me that the thing is the mechanism that makes the whole SRS work. He told me it will cost rm400-500 for a brand new one. The airbag another few hundreds more.), have broken. All he have done is pateri balik the cable, did some cables tidying up underneath my steering (all the cables are in mess, as i think the factory just pushed all the cables in and screwed up my steering thus resulting the problem. Should have taken some pics but my k700i no battery and takada bring camera). The price for fixing it? RM100 for everything....Price might be slightly high but the effort given by the guy was good. At least he took time to check out the actual problem. I think if send to service center, sure they will tell me that my SRS "died" adi and need replacement.

the round black thing is called 'the clock'. dunno how it got the name though.

by tampering, we are taking risk airbag might not deploy when it shud or worst still, deployed by itself when we are cruising at 40kmh near our house.

even though i am a bit mad with the authorised service centre attitude, that is a totally different topic already. the best thing u shud do is, either change the affected parts or disconnect airbag system.

dont take chance with life. we are not able to find spare if u know what i mean.

cheers and happy holiday :D

zan said:
the round black thing is called 'the clock'. dunno how it got the name though.

by tampering, we are taking risk airbag might not deploy when it shud or worst still, deployed by itself when we are cruising at 40kmh near our house.

even though i am a bit mad with the authorised service centre attitude, that is a totally different topic already. the best thing u shud do is, either change the affected parts or disconnect airbag system.

dont take chance with life. we are not able to find spare if u know what i mean.

cheers and happy holiday :D

Hi Zan,
Definately agreed with you that tampering it, it 's definately taking a big risk. Thanks for the advise. But bassically, the technician didn't tamper or open up "the clock" component. He is merely checking the component and cabling where he noticed that one of the connector in "the clock" was broken. Thus he fixed it. All the warranty stickers in still in-placed. I wish i could change the affected parts but dued to $$, i can't. But anyway, thanks for you advise. Cheer and happy holiday!

for your info my fren waja crash but air bag did not come out.... !!

dont want airbag ler...dangerous...for local cars...i trust in only other cars than local...

jasonchan said:
for your info my fren waja crash but air bag did not come out.... !!
Wow!

Come to think of it, I've seen so many accidents in M'sia b4, in newspapers, internet, etc, I never seen an airbag inflated in any M'sian (ie proton, p2) cars b4. (those that no airbag dont say la, but how about those with airbag?)

wira_na, are u sure ur airbag still working? may be he just disconnect ur cable...haha...
tell u wat, use ur fist and hit ur airbag...make sure its still working...
or just go bang ur car to a wall...

:angry: speedking :withstupi speedking :P

speedking said:
wira_na, are u sure ur airbag still working? may be he just disconnect ur cable...haha...
tell u wat, use ur fist and hit ur airbag...make sure its still working...
or just go bang ur car to a wall...