Help on G11

DarkFibre

Guys,

My brother has a G11(Charade) which is std stock from day one. i'm currently driving his car and wanted to help him a bit in harnessing more power for the car. Plz guys, help me out on this, a car that struggles to climb steep hill with first gear and aircondition is very pity.

thanks to all!

try using 3-1 extrctor for a lil bit of power.
clean ur carb/airfilter.

aircond maybe need servicing.

Brand name?

Maxx said:
try using 3-1 extrctor for a lil bit of power.
clean ur carb/airfilter.

aircond maybe need servicing.

any suggestions of make or brand for the extractor?

Before doing any mods, do a good service & cleanup of the engine & its related components. Even a stock 660 Kancil can go up Genting, so if you are complaining about a Charade struggling then the engine must need a good servicing and tune.

Most people only change the engine oil filter and engine oil when servicing their cars. You need to do more than that.

Check the spark plugs, starter coil contact point, change the fuel filter (not engine oil), check spark plug gaps. check all the cables. The carburetor might need to be serviced and retuned.

Doing all of the above will definitely improve performance.

Speed Demon said:
Before doing any mods, do a good service & cleanup of the engine & its related components. Even a stock 660 Kancil can go up Genting, so if you are complaining about a Charade struggling then the engine must need a good servicing and tune.

Most people only change the engine oil filter and engine oil when servicing their cars. You need to do more than that.

Check the spark plugs, starter coil contact point, change the fuel filter (not engine oil), check spark plug gaps. check all the cables. The carburetor might need to be serviced and retuned.

Doing all of the above will definitely improve performance.

i've done the overhaul, contact point and spark plug cable. how do you service the carbs? once the mechanic blow the whole carbs, not sure resulting to what...any place that does a good tuning?

help!

Guys.

anybody who knows a good charade workshop, pls help...really appreciate the helps thanks!

Carbs have service kits available. The kit contains replacement parts for certain parts of the carb. Basically the same as an overhaul kit for a car engine.

Since you've done an overhaul, the only thing I can think of now is that the tuning is incorrect.

You can try my regular workshop, GT Auto in Sunway. Call Thomas at 019-6625384.

GT Auto

Speed Demon said:
Carbs have service kits available. The kit contains replacement parts for certain parts of the carb. Basically the same as an overhaul kit for a car engine.

Since you've done an overhaul, the only thing I can think of now is that the tuning is incorrect.

You can try my regular workshop, GT Auto in Sunway. Call Thomas at 019-6625384.

Mr Demon,

how about the charges? is it high? may i use your name to get better offer? thanks

I don't want to be a smart ass or some lamers with nothing better to post lah but ..... isin't sending a G11 to GT Auto abit .... over-do?
It's like sending a Cessna type turbo-prop aircraft and send it over to Boeing Repair facility in Arkansas.....

OK, don't :emoticon_U: yet
what I really meant was it's over-kill, wouldn't it ?

TiBuN said:
I don't want to be a smart ass or some lamers with nothing better to post lah but ..... isin't sending a G11 to GT Auto abit .... over-do?
It's like sending a Cessna type turbo-prop aircraft and send it over to Boeing Repair facility in Arkansas.....

tibun,

i never been there, i welcome and appreciate anyone for their comment and suggestions as long as it helps to bring this car back to life. so far, the g11 engine manage to go up to 120kmh...no further...
if u came across any good mechanics, i believe that ur comment is most welcome as well.....

thanks....cheers!!!

TiBuN said:

Jeez....never expected a post like this from you Tibun. Since you seem so blur, let me explain clearly and as simply as I can. :Not_Impressed:

GT Auto is a car service center. They have become quite famous since they have built or helped build or modified quite a number of cars ranging from Kancils to Skylines which have become quite famous in the Malaysian motorsports scene. One reason for their popularity is their reputation for detailed, neat work and also their tuning capabilities.

Just because a large number of "high-powered" cars go there does not mean GT Auto does not do low-powered or "standard" cars. They are a car service center. Turning aways customers like that would be stupid of them, business-wise. And GT Auto is a business. No doubt about that.

Most visitors to GT Auto will see a lot of "modified" cars there. The simple reason is that modifications take a longer time to do. Sometimes it is due to major work and sometimes due to waiting for parts. Standard cars are much easier to service, repair & tune. So the cars hardly spend anytime in the workshop. In fact, speak to any workshop owner and he will tell you he prefers doing standard cars rather than mods. Why? Because turnaround time is faster, resulting in more revenue and profit.

I am recommending Dark Fibre there since his problem seems to be totally related to tuning. It should not be mechanical since a total overhaul was done. And I cannot think of a better place than GT Auto since I am familiar with their expertise. I am not claiming GT Auto is the best, but I can safely say, they are one of the best. Their record speaks for themselves.

In my PM, I asked Dark Fibre to get a quotation. Whether he goes to them is entirely his choice. In fact I tell this to anyone who asks about GT Auto or asks for a recommended workshop. GT Auto is not the cheapest. But then again, products or services known for their quality never are. As the saying goes: You get what you pay for.

i am writing this as not that to show i'm siding any parties, but i believe mr Demon here proves a point. the forum started for us to share our experience and knowledge for the benefit of others and motorsports enthusiast. i strongly believe that Mr Demon is currently one of the happy customers of GT Auto, thus he is not reluctant to share his experience and recommend to everyone.

not limited to workshops, even when we came across good food stalls or good hang out places, we will always share it with our fellow frens.

i am sure that Mr Tibun also has his own workshop preferences, and i welcomed his opinions as well. we are buddies with the same interest, and that what makes all the things beautiful...

cheers!!

OK, point taken.
Sorry for the childish comment.
Maybe I'm too strucked down with those 'under the tree' workshop that I actually look down on those bigger workshop due to the different league we always associate to. I apologize that those comments.

And Darkfibre, I would love to recommend u other workshop, but they were all pretty far away from your place.

Thank you Speedy for the lenghty explanation, at least I know you still haven't give up on me.

way to go!!

Tibun,

good point from u as well, perhaps one day all of us could meet up, during daihatsu gathering perhaps? to exchange valuable knowledge on this type of car. would love to see both of your rides too, at least got some ideas what to do next.

most probably i'll be dropping by GT AUTO this weekend, and see their comments on it. i'll update both of u about it later.

Cheers!!

One thing which I would like to mention. We, as car owners and enthusiasts have the final say in what happens to our cars. Whatever workshop we go to, whatever price is given, it is up to us whether we are willing or agreeable to pay for it. Noone can force us. It is OUR choice!

As car enthusiasts, we always want whats best for our rides. But of course, almost all of the time we have monetary constraints. :sad_smile: So we need to decide whether it is money worth spending or whether we should be patient, save up then do it. One lesson I learned the hard way is that normally when we do the cheap way, in the end we end up spending more money!!! :confused_smile:

Speed Demon said:
One thing which I would like to mention. We, as car owners and enthusiasts have the final say in what happens to our cars. Whatever workshop we go to, whatever price is given, it is up to us whether we are willing or agreeable to pay for it. Noone can force us. It is OUR choice!

As car enthusiasts, we always want whats best for our rides. But of course, almost all of the time we have monetary constraints. :sad_smile: So we need to decide whether it is money worth spending or whether we should be patient, save up then do it. One lesson I learned the hard way is that normally when we do the cheap way, in the end we end up spending more money!!! :confused_smile:

agree...collect money 1st n than make mod 1 shot..some of my fren said that y do that?..we need 2 feel each step...bullshit...he spend more money than me but his car not goin anyware..big tebo wth cheap instalment but the result cam taik...