so how?....

Speed Demon said:
Measure the width and length of the engine and also your engine bay. It will be a tight fit but it most probably can go in.

Engine mountings and also driveshafts have to be modified. You also have to check the suspension and brake systems.

For driveshafts, you should custom make them. Cutting and welding the GTti driveshafts is NOT SAFE.

If you don't have RM5000 and above, don't do this conversion. Remember the engine you are installing in is also not new, so you might have to change/repair some things in it too.

thanks guruss....I agree with you Mr Speed Demon...cutting and welding the driveshaft is DEFINITELY not safe...
wonderinglah, Is the cost of conversion the same all over Malaya?..or would it be cheaper in Seremban...or Penang?

maybe I should upgrade my brakes first macam bawak kete flintstones pulak rasanya...

geeleven said:
thanks guruss....I agree with you Mr Speed Demon...cutting and welding the driveshaft is DEFINITELY not safe...
wonderinglah, Is the cost of conversion the same all over Malaya?..or would it be cheaper in Seremban...or Penang?

maybe I should upgrade my brakes first macam bawak kete flintstones pulak rasanya...
Conversion costs vary depending on location. What you need to look for is a mechanic who is familiar with the engines. If he has done such a conversion before, better still. Remember that if you install a GTti engine, he has to transfer all the wirings over too.

Also, the GTti dashboard will not fit into your G10 or even G11 without some cutting. And if not properly done, the dashboard can look very ugly! Another problem you will face is space for your aircond system (the cooling coil and blower are all in your cabin) and also how you will fit the GTti meter panel(if you are not going to install the GTti dashboard).

Brakes, as you mentioned is another important factor. The standard G10 brakes were not built to handle engine power like the GTti. I suspect the rear suspension system of the G10 is different from that of the GTti with the springs and absorbers separate.

So while it will be nice to have a GTti engine inside a G10, a lot of things need to be considered. Remember that "extra" modifications/work will be charged more by the installer.

Write your reply...