help needed in conversion!!

SE86

hi to all toyota owners...im a noob.so i want to ask somethings about engine conversion!i want to fit a levin 20v blacktop engine into my toyota ke70!since ke70 is FR and levin blacktop is from FF.how can the conversion be done??what are the parts need?any of u guys know which shop in seremban can do this conversion with a good workmanship and reasonable price?

pls refer to sifu chin(acoustic) website. it good for your reference. it was good for mine to for my ke70 conversion.

bro wats the website??ur ke70 use blacktop or silvertop???let me know the website and i will check it out!!!

here bro....this the add of the website...btw mine is silvertop...good for you using blacktop...just do it open throttle....

HTML:
http://www.my-acoustic.com/

but how much did it cost u totally plus fixing???where u do fixing???silvertop also can la!!!got supercharge or not???

ok
let me know the price la...if i can find ae86 than i wont use svt la

blacktop and silvertop going into ke70 basically quite similar, at least you don't have to headache about cutting the intake plenum or to custom made one, just run open throttle.

i'm running svt in my ke70, i had to glue the whole thing so it won't leak air XD

cool, so many 20v ke70 nowadays... feels good for not "being alone" =D

wow.....but how much did it cost u???my budget quite tight la!!!!!!!

mine too, quite tight too, and i ran overbudget.. now eating left over can food and skip one meal a day T_T

so far my overall expense in my transplant is nearly rm7k, still not yet complete. do one bit by one bit. 7K is not including welding body to fix rust. Sifu chin once said you need at least 15k to make the car perfect, further mod to get power will cost even more.

Fellas ...

First of all, sorry to chip in ...

I am finishing my TE71 full restoration and body stiffening project and my next phase is to dump in newer engine.

My question is can i dump in silvertop engine (with complete wiring and computerbox) but still use the original 4K gearbox?

For your guys info, i gonna use AE86 rear axle/lsd and all.

Your experience on the matter is required.

Thanks azillion in advance

Before this i use ae86 engine,then convert to svt so it only cost me 1.2k without labour.Thats the cost for engine and its modification needed to fit into rwd,and i also got the engine quite cheap,and others too,lucky me that time :-)

I dont think svt can be mated to the 4k gearbox,as far as i know.

theoretically the k50 can be used with the SVT or BT(if i'm not mistaken) but the problem is the engine will not reach top end and will be causing future troubles such as the clutch plate problems the axle etc....although toyota engineers have blessed us with parts that easily interchangeable with one another but not everything can be swapped....but as toyota owners i think we should appreciate what toyota engineers have done for us heheh....cheap parts!!

se86..just like rolla kid said..there are lots of things that u have to do when doing the conversions. the cost of installing the engine is not a problem. the usual price RM1200-Rm1300 but the cost of parts that u have to customized such as the plenum(if ur using SVT), the fuel pump(u have to use better fuel pump like mercedes), the relocation of the starter. i'm also still not finished with my ke70 but it's already cost me RM6500.but my advice is when u want to buy parts please buy on ur own. its cheaper that way...n one more thing pls put the dasboard also. easy for the wiring loom to fit in.

If you are puting a silvertop or blackie into a FF like Toyota LE...it's much simpler. Why not buy a good condition LE and do that?. It's only like RM2k more than a KE70. At the end it's still cheaper than doing a transplant into a KE70.

lol i'm using my ori dashboard, cuz i die also insist on using it, must keep ori look. so now my engine dun have speed sensor behind the speedo meter, alot of wiring also left out not used.

i've check on the net, phil bradshaw's site i think, mention that this won't affect your car's performance, like speed sensor, o2 sensor, can run without, just that the engine checklight will be on all the time, but i don't have one, so who cares? and no speed sensor mean no 180km/h speed cut ;D as i read...

bought my engine from EFN, when it reach me, cost of the engine alone is about rm1150, which include the engine itself and those thing that is connected to it, and wiring. Here's some major parts that i bought seperately: gearbox, clutch pump, brake pump, fuel tank, engine mounting, crossmember, engien starter, injector filter, fuel regulator, thermostat, header, and all sort of small small bearings and pipes. to date cost about rm7k already.

note that i still don't have ae86 axle, and my suspension is stock. i guess doing all those + a set of levin seat/ used bucket seat probably will cost me total 10k already.

Well...here is my suggestion if u want to put svt/bt into ke70,buy svt/bt halfcut (if can kawtim with the chop shop to minus the gbox,body parts,suspension,driveshaft..etc etc that cannot be used in rwd,that will be much cheaper),buy ae86 gbox,ae86 starter,ae86 exhaust,ae86 mounting,ae86 prop.shaft(optional but the head is important) and ae86 crossmember (optional).Then the cost to custom things such as intake,water lines,mountings on crossmember etc should be included,and also the workmanship cost have to consider also.And plus other miscellenous cost,small small things but when add all cost become expensive.Also will add up..

If want cheaper,DIY,hehe

but really, svt/bt halfcut.. rm2k-3k~++ depends where you buy. then you have to fork out alot more money to get different stuff.

but if you can find an ae86 halfcut, even if it cost rm5000, asuming everything is in good condition, then + rm1000+ labour, everything done... kinda cheaper i would say. and you don't have to knock your firewall.

yup...86 engine fast also,just do some minor mod can catch up svt ,no problem..svt engine only looks nice,power is so-so...stock vs stock,svt will lead at about 1 car,1.5 car in 400m