Help - Gear Position Indicator

Boink Boink

Can any kind souls pelase recoomend a GEAR POSITION INDICATOR? Digital display preffered.

Not a rev indicator.

Getting a bit annoyed, forgetting what gear I am in.

Does anyone know who sells one?

is it really needed

when i first start driving, i had problems remembering what geaer i was in also
but over time, i got used to it and pretty much know which gear i am in
saves time and dunnit to look down to the panel to know which gear ua re in and saves life when u take cornering fast fast and needs to drop gear
=P

anyway, what car are u driving

u driving auto or manual??... if manual, vr hard to forget which gear u are in wor.... but if for cosmetic purpose, i also wanna put one leh... hahha...

Ehhhh when your driving aggressively, its not difficult as long as the rev counter hits the blip, just change over.

When your plodding along town in 4th and you forget what gear your in then it gets to you. Sometimes I go into 3rd instead of 1st from start.

So yeah its getting to me? Car? Ehhhh... got 6 speed MT la.

aisey... if u drive long enuf.. u're genereate a bond wit your car whereby u just now which gear u're in.. fr the rpm, speed, engine sounds.. u'll know what gear u're at ... u'll automatically know to upshift or downshift... ;)

for me i dun think theres a need though....
just touch the stick then u should be able to know wat gear r u in with dat speed n rpm....
just my opinion....
heehee...happie searching...

need o not o?

my cars mostly dun hv the indicator one...coz all changed liao...

and one car normaly hv 5speeds....and each speed differ location... it make very easier to remeber....

juz hold ur left hand on d gear if u scare wil forgot...

gear one - left top
gear two - left bottom
gear three -middle top
gear four -middle bottom
gear five -right top
reverse -right bottom

so whenever u wan change gear....place ur hand at the gear knob to see ur curent gear position before u shift ur gear....

Boink Boink said:
Can any kind souls pelase recoomend a GEAR POSITION INDICATOR? Digital display preffered.

normaly digital display is available for auto transmision only le...

yeah... i also dun think its necessary .. everybody else here hav said it ady ...

just drive more often and get used to your car la ... maybe now because u're still P driver thats why , or maybe u just starting driving ... is my guess correct? (there's no need to b malu about being P or juz started) :regular_smile:

Boink Boink is asking WHERE to get it, not asking opinion from you all whether he Need it.

btw, Boink Boink, are you talking manual or auto and which car you wanna install that?

as long as u drive it frequently..u wil used to it....

or u can customized a sticker n stick it at ur dashboard...

or change the gear knob.... digital display i think hard to get for manual car le...

my fren got the digital electronic gear indicator.. with shift light.. but actually its for auto car.. he got frens/siblings staying in japan.. he always orders latest electronic stuffs from japan..

he showed me before.. digital electronic gear indicator.. but sad.. its for auto car.. he fit on his h.prelude bb4 .. its cool man.. size like dunhill 20 box.. much small than that.. then .. when u put D .. u drive.. it will auto show the gear position .. 1 2 3 4 .. then 4 3 2 1 D N R P .. hehe

its cool.. selling for err.. RM1xxx i guess?

its latest crazee in japan..

if u interested.. i can ask him bout the digital electronic gear position? .. maybe got manual one.. heheh

u can try to find @ silicon chip australia website
in the project page
theres a project about doing a digital gear indicator
but u cant get full access to the articles
unless u pay for that

u will have to ask someone that frequents library to find you the corresponding silicon chip issue if you dont wish to pay for that
if u know someone in Inti Subang, u can ask him/her to find for you
at library 3rd floor :D