Gear Problem

astalavista_baby

I am hoping some sifus here can shed some light as to what is happening here. I own a Perdana V6 face lift model. I have a problem with the gear. Whenever I attempt to brake harder to a complete stop, the gearbox thuds and makes the car nudge quite forcefully when it attempts to downshift to the appropriate gear.

The nudge is something like the ones you feel when the gear shifts from a lower to a higher gear, except that this one is quite forceful and jerky. It's a very rare case as I have never experienced this on any automatic transmission cars and I am pretty sure its a faulty gear mechanism.

My question is, anyone knows what is wrong here or which part is at fault here? :confused_smile:

well, a lot of mechanic has told me that P V6 majority has a gear box problem...

for urz, is quite clear tat it's an auto trainee problem...

well, my advise will be, send it to ur regular worrkshop n let the mechanic to have a thorough check up, dun worry

they will rev ur car a few rounds n they will try on ur auto gear transmission..

they will managed to figured out whats wrg...

some will either asked u for a economical methodm which is to change gear oil...

some might say, to service it...... while some.......straight ask u to change the whole transmission......well, I hope more Sifu will help u here..

juz my 2 cents.

I have sent it back to EON for servicing and the gear valve, I think, has been changed. It was OK for a quite a while and now it is coming back again. I was thinking of getting the whole gear changed but what are the chances of the gear box returning to normal?

try the auto trainee specialist in segambut.....they've handled alot of perdana cars there...

Unfortunate to say, my 1.5(A) wira & my sis 1.6(A) satria also got this problem....& getting serious.....machine flushed ATF & changed filter also didn't help, put in Slick-50 ATF treatment also didn't help.....

I think this is quite common problem with proton auto box, can someone who personally experienced this shed some light?

How do u guys solve it?

Adeen said:
try the auto trainee specialist in segambut.....they've handled alot of perdana cars there...
Unfortunately for me, I am based in Kuching, Sarawak. Any clues? :D

siangmh said:
Unfortunate to say, my 1.5(A) wira & my sis 1.6(A) satria also got this problem....& getting serious.....machine flushed ATF & changed filter also didn't help, put in Slick-50 ATF treatment also didn't help.....

I think this is quite common problem with proton auto box, can someone who personally experienced this shed some light?

How do u guys solve it?
I have driven the Waja 1.6 auto for the previous 5 years and I have never faced a similar problem like this before.

siangmh said:
Well, its unlucky me then.....

What is d problem really?
As I have said, normally when you brake to a halt, the auto transmission will downshift to a lower gear, correct? Normally this is done with no jerk whatsoever, correct? In my case, I randomly get a sudden forceful jerk on the car when I brake to a halt and prior to coming to a complete stop, I lift my foot off the brake. This is really abnormal. I have never experienced this is any auto cars, not even a proton.

i guess it could be due to the clutch...
even auto tranny has clutch plate.
Usually ppl don't service the gear box; why?....because its blardy expensive and it can total up to a chop shop gear box.

anyway, Adeen; whereabout in Segambut? All type of gear box?
I guess my gear box also has problem but unlike what was mentioned here, mine doesn't shift smoothly anymore.
Nope....it's not gear oil; cos I've flushed it before. I need to keep on dragging before it actually changed. Sometimes it's driving 80km/h in gear 2 at 3K something RPM without changing. Normal for my case is 80km/h in gear 3 at 2k RPM

astalavista_baby said:
As I have said, normally when you brake to a halt, the auto transmission will downshift to a lower gear, correct? Normally this is done with no jerk whatsoever, correct? In my case, I randomly get a sudden forceful jerk on the car when I brake to a halt and prior to coming to a complete stop, I lift my foot off the brake. This is really abnormal. I have never experienced this is any auto cars, not even a proton.

Sorry, i didn't put it clear enough, cause everybody to confused.

What i really mean is which part(s) that is faulty that caused it. Ur description of the problem is clear enough in ur initial part.

Me & my sis's car have exactly d same problem as u mentioned. But i have no idea what went wrong.

Anybody know what went wrong, pls advise. TQ.

My car sometimes also will have that problem occur when:

lift up from accelerator & let it slow down, so when its slow to a certain speed, d autogear will down shift, but shift with a jerk (fr autobox) .....

mine's the opposite of all this symptoms....
mine actually I need to drag the gear; than release the pressure on the foot pedal after sometime only it would shift. upward shift with a jerk..........!

bummer........

Do u always play around with the auto gear box, i mean: manually shift it down?

pv6

V6 g/box problem is common...

Try seeking help from the Vsixers forum.

If you are lucky, could be just some g/box sencor problem or the whole
box needs replacement..

A g/box oil cooler is highly recommended for the perdana autobox..

Anyone know any GOOD ATF treatment to add? so that smooth out the gear box operation, make it less jerk.....

Any Brand? Any personal experience of it? How is d effect?

I have tried slick 50 ATF treatment, add in after flush & refill, no difference.....