Handbrake problem. Ideas?

philipskardon

Heya all, want to get some advice. Driving SGTI

Problem is the handbrake. Since the car is old, the handbrake is not holding properly meaning, loose. Handbrake lever goes all the way up and the car still rolls. Adjusted the nut inside below the handbrake lever, it grips.. and slowly it will revert back to the same condition as before. But the funny thing is, once adjusted tightly, there are screcthing sound. Sound like the pads are sticking to the disc.

So what gives? How can i have superb handbraking power? Should i change the whole handbrake cable? Foreman told me cost 200 plus.

If not what are the alternatives?

Last edited by a moderator:
hav u checked ur brake pad.. i think its worn already..

Handbrake cable???? More like a problem with the loosening of the nut that's holding the cable tight.

Yup, as mention from bro JZ, Since that U mention your car is old liao..
Did u check the back brake pad? and the brake fuel ofcoz..
Good Luck..

phillip dude, just bring along 4 pieces of bricks in your car. After you park, quickly put the bricks at the tyres to stop your car from rolling anywhere. hehehe

Haha... earlier model of Motorola handphone might also do the trick.... and it'll looks nicer....

tamahagane,
hahaha perhaps, perhaps. Makes the person look rich too, to use hand phones as tyre stopper. hehe

aiseh man. want to use brick meh?! at the moment .. me using my gears to prevent me from sliding down..

Brake pads.. hmm.. actually.. are the hadnbrakes pads are those of drum type? cause i didn't notice it. I always thought it's using the same pads with those holding the disc.

the cable thingy i tried already.. but in the end it will always loosen up again. Brake Fluid? plenty..

Maybe i should invest in those rally handbrake type.. which uses gas...

Handbrake uses brake pads/lining to hold the discs/drums. So, yes, its the same pads that holds ur disc, holds the hbrake.

In that sense.. . then the pad are okay. less than 30k KM. even when slotted new, the handbrakes wasn't even that tight.

Any other way? anything else i can do? Do i really have to resort to changing the while cable?

I'm baffled as i can tighten tightly at the handbrake lever there cause the pads will be sticking to the disc.

so what gives?

just remember that hand/foot operated parking brake normally actuates on the rear brakes.

you can check the cable as well as the links. WD40 may do some good help there.

aiseh man. want to use brick meh?!
Well, bricks can be found almost all over the place. Furthermore, bricks, other than using it as a stopper, can be used in many many MANY ways. For example;

- When you see a rempit racing on highways when they're supposed to be in the bike lane, just throw/fling the brick towards their face. Remember to close your window quickly because you won't want their blood to splatter on the internals of your car. We don't need no rempits around.

- Throw it really REALLY hard on the windscreen/window of those cars that are double parked or illegally parked, such that they cause inconvenience to other drivers. If the brick doesn't go through their windscreen/window, just make sure it shatters. That's about enough. We need to see them keep spending money to fix up their wind screen/windows. When they've spent enough, they won't park there anymore because they got no more money to pay for petrol no more.

- Do this when you see a piece of shit driving in front of you, and you're following it accordingly, the suddenly, that piece of shit just stop the car, get out of the car and walk away, leaving you stuck behind his car. Get out of your car with the brick, run towards that piece of shit, grab hold of the brick hard, jump up and when you come down towards him, smash the brick on his head. Ensure that you're wearing specs or googles. You won't want those blood getting into your eye. We don't need inconsiderate shitbrained mofo's to be here with us.

- When you pick up a girl for a date, and she starts complaining about how uncomfy your ride is, how dirty it is, how this, how that, bla bla bla... take the brick and slam it on her temple. She'll sure to black out. Then, while driving at about 100kmh, open her door and kick her out. We don't need bickering bitches who bitchify everything she sees.

- When you see those stupid arse rempit bikes parked in a car parking lot, causing drivers to be unable to park there, take the brick and smash the fuel tank of the bike till there's a hole in it. Then, light a match and throw it into the hole into the fuel tank. If the owner of the bike is there, smash the owner too. We don't need unwanted brainless pigs to walk the land of humans.

Wah Satria..
Ur idea quite good but scary a bit...18PL lol...hehe..

*Praying*... Please God, dont let me ran into mr. Satria_95 whenever I'm on the road...amin..:cry_smile:

• edited_ek.JPG
    edited_ek.JPG
    33.8 KB · Views: 139
hmm... with that in mind .. i'll probably have to keep many bricks in the car. Different application different bricks..

and in the end my car will be too heavy to move..

tamadude,
You won't know if you have ran into me. buahaha

philipskardon,
erm.... if that's the case, I do believe that some sports shop sells aluminium baseball bats. You can then bring the bat to those shops that does steel works and weld some short thick screws on the end of the baseball bat. It'll serve very well as a spiked club. heh heh

mag9556,
Only 18PL? dang. I was hoping it'd be 50PL. heh heh

i like what satria 95 wrote........ hahaha.. especially about d gf taking ride in our car...... WICKED dude!!!!

yoh...satria_95 really brutal mann....
but i like it....
he knows how to make use of bricks in many-many ways....
bravo.!! thumb up!!

how la... really want me to drive around without handbrakes meh? want to slide a bit also kenot...

Write your reply...