Graphics cards

KeV-TEC said:
oooo bit torrent izzit
icic...
my sis use to download lots of hk new series drama...
but i dun wanna watch.. cuz later astro channed 30 nothing to watch de.... cuz sudah tengok... hoho

hahaha true.last time i owiz d/l a lot of english series n then no more on AXN n STARWORLD dy bcoz all the series watch b4 liao.hahaha.anyway lets stick 2 topic about graphics card ya.no more BT crap here ok.

bt is so dang slow these days la, whether night or day. Then again, I've not used torrents for long time liao. So many of the movies I downloaded, when I open it, it's another stupid movie. Don't know why dumb farks want to do stuff like that also.

Anyway, I think I won't be upgrading my graphics card until I change my motherboard. I just opened my casing and realize I had only 2 RAM slots and both slots has a 256MB ram each. So, might as well change motherboard and graphic card one shot.

hahaha.gambateh 4 yr future mobo then.

anyway new gen NVIDIA cards review.
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6161267/index.html?tag=topslot;action;1
this toy gonna cost u RM2500 at least or mabe even more.:mouth_closed:anyone with deep pockets here is interested eh?:angel_smile:

skylinelover,
This month's Max IT magazine has the Nvidia Quad SLI setup. wah... crazy man. hehe

haha buy the latest gc for what , also no new games to play ? nfs : carbon ? lol

Anybody interest graphic card moding? Over Clock, Voltage mod, GC firmware mod and update...

share some of my experience for card mod:

1. Nvidia Ti4200 -> soft mod to Quadro 4: currently use it for 3D design tools

2. Nvidia 6800LE -> try soft mod open Fragment Pipelines to 16 and Vertex Pipelines to 6... too bad got artifacts means both pipeline physical damage... and oc suck.. now staying my fren pc...

3. Nvidia 6800GS -> it's NV42 core, too bad no pipeline can unlock, but good for oc, default frequency is 425/1000.. now slightly oc to 450/1100.... it's power consume monster... my 480W PSU can't handle now.. sometimes pc will auto restart even though default setting of my card... looking for new PSU... now at my entertainment pc...

4. Voodoo 3D 2000 (old card.. but i like it... y? like AE86 in drift, it's legend brand, lol).. slightly oc before.. but now staying inside my 24hr download pc... all change back to default setting....

Some tools and website for GC mod....

1. NiBiTor v3.1 - GC firmware editor... Click here download

2. RivaTuner 2.0 RC 16.1 - Powerful GC soft mod tools, http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163

3. Website - http://www.mvktech.net - GC mod resources site...

Wish zth member can share ur modding experience..... cheers...

infernaL said:
haha buy the latest gc for what , also no new games to play ? nfs : carbon ? lol

hahaha.DX10 games lo.crysis,alan wake n other high end FPS games.these games will p@wned PS3 games 4 sure.:shcokedcamo: :shcokedcamo:anyway i wont buy that card even if i got $$$ till windows vista comes out with DX10.

THE BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT 2 SPEND ON

If you have been wondering why we have had no reviews on the top graphics card now, the GeForce 8800 GTX, besides our initial in-depth article on the new GeForce 8 series , the short answer is that we have been hoarding them in our lab (our precioussss!). The long answer is today's article, where we have gathered a number of GeForce 8800 GTX cards available now and put them to the test. Specifically, overclocking and temperature tests. Since all the GeForce 8800 GTX cards are running at standard clocks, we felt that there was little utility in showing you minor and negligible differences in performance figures between them. You should be able to get all the information you need, including the relevant comparisons of the GeForce 8800 GTX against other graphics chipsets in our previous detailed article. Hence, only overclocking and temperature results will be shown in this guide.

On such a level playing field, what separates a Brand X GeForce 8800 GTX from a Brand Y quickly boils down to the bundle, the warranty and service, and probably the most important factor - price. First, we shall show you the various GeForce 8800 GTX models from different vendors and what you can expect to pay for the complete package.

1st of we have
ASUS_Box.jpg

2nd
Foxconn_Box.jpg

3rd
Gigabyte_Box.jpg

4th
Inno_Box.jpg

5th
Leadtek_Box.jpg

6th
MSI_Box.jpg

and lastly
XFX_Box.jpg

AND the winners are....
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view....2132&cid=3&pg=8

Source: http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view....2132&cid=3&pg=1

SO PLEASE SPEND MORE ON UPGRADING YOUR GRAPHIC CARDS THAN A CRAPPY CONSOLE UNLESS U R RACING FANBOY. :P :P

darn these cards r crazy de...on juice
if u sli them...
u need an extra psu jus for dem
but...but...de grafics jus too...speechless

yeah.that is y PC gaming has higher graphics n technology one step ahead than console but the complication is u need 2 buy more hardware 2 support it.haha.no offence 2 consolers.if u wan 2 taste the juiciest graphics ever,then PC is 4 u.if u wanna play the best racing game that PC doesnt offer at all like GT4/HD,PGR3,forza,ridge racer,then console is 4 u.

Those cards probably costs the same as my whole rig...

skylin3lov3r said:
yeah.that is y PC gaming has higher graphics n technology one step ahead than console but the complication is u need 2 buy more hardware 2 support it.haha.no offence 2 consolers.if u wan 2 taste the juiciest graphics ever,then PC is 4 u.if u wanna play the best racing game that PC doesnt offer at all like GT4/HD,PGR3,forza,ridge racer,then console is 4 u.

Anyone who dosent know that deserve a smack to the face. People just dont get it, consoles are pretty much pc's..get a similarly equipped pc as a console and prepare to be owned. Problems is that the speeds of these things double every 24-ish months(or so).

not necessary pc rig's own console
see ps3 graffics ability...get wat i mean
it way ahead of most gc...
but den again who knew pc's gc will jus catch up in 2 years, 2 months or even 2 day
where the console have to last roughly 5yrs b4 getting an update
i still my pc...keke

skylin3lov3r,
I'm not sure what gambateh means but whatever it is, heck with the motherboard. There is this shop in Low Yat, Atom Computers. I used to do all my upgrades there until one day, they farked it all up.

I sent an upgraded machine of mine to them to have a check because the system is not powering up properly. Turn on the power, nothing comes on in the screen and all the CPU led's just stays on. So they dismantled everything and apparently, it's the motherboard that went kaput or something. So they changed the mobo. Then they boot the system to show me that all is OK. However, Win XP is now asking for display card driver. They put in the wrong 3d card for me. Apparently, they took out my graphic card and placed it together with one whole pile of graphic cards that they use for testing. Then they can't remember which card is mine. So they just gave me what seems to be mine, installed the drivers and that's it.

So what I'm saying is that... stay away from ATOM computers in Low Yat unless you wanna keep going back to them for repairs.

I guess I'll be building a new rig bit by bit. I've upgraded so many times, it's became almost pointless for yet another upgrade.

gambateh is good luck in japanese.hahaha.

ok.i will keep that in mind.thks 4 sharing your bad experience.i think its a good idea if u can build your own rig one by one but make sure your motherboard is able 2 support the future upgrades.no point fixing lauyah motherboard but wanna get 8800GTX in the future rite.hahaha.

skylin3lov3r,
well, yeah. I figured that I'd get the mobo and the graphic cards from the same manufacturer. Like Asus mobo and Asus graphic cards. At least it's "more compatible" in that sense. Probably about 2GB of RAM, maybe 2 SATA drives and one nice sound card. Power supply, I think I'll get one powerful enough one.

haha your choice.just make sure your power supply must be 450W above n brands must be good oso like enermax,acbel,cooler master.i got once blow up my PSU along with graphic card in just 2 weeks after repair.aint that cool huh?:rofl:dont ever make the same mistake like me that is use chapalang PSU.anyway r u more in2 car mod stuff than comp stuff?it seems that not many car modders r interested in pc stuff n same with pc enthusiasts not interested in car mod.i been wondering y does this weird pattern exists.lol.

Probably cos both arent cheap, think of it..at least 1K for a decent mod for your ride, and almost 1K also for your computer. I can barely afford a decent gfx card..

very depressing..

and that fucking flash ad at the top..I do hope whoever made that dies a slow slow death.

skylin3lov3r said:
haha your choice.just make sure your power supply must be 450W above n brands must be good oso like enermax,acbel,cooler master.i got once blow up my PSU along with graphic card in just 2 weeks after repair.aint that cool huh?:rofl:dont ever make the same mistake like me that is use chapalang PSU.anyway r u more in2 car mod stuff than comp stuff?it seems that not many car modders r interested in pc stuff n same with pc enthusiasts not interested in car mod.i been wondering y does this weird pattern exists.lol.
hey i like both XD

to me they are similar, both got seperate "parts" that i can mount and dismount and upgrade when i got the cash.

currently waiting for the new Altair core to come out. I'm loyal to AMD just as i'm loyal to Toyota. Since amd bought ati i'd be waiting for a new affordable ati card as well (still drools at r600's spec.. 230hp.. er i mean watt!!)

skylin3lov3r,
Yeah, I had a chat with a pc enthusiast colleague of mine. He stressed on good casing and power unit. Cooler master would be a good choice. I'll opt for a good casing that's about RM400-500 inclusive of power supply. He also suggested that I get 2 x 512MB RAM for dual channel purposes. Apparently, he said 2 x 512MB versus 1 x 1GB RAM, the 2 x 512MB will give a better performance. He also mentioned that 256MB of video ram would be sufficient and I could do a SLI setup later on if required. Well, I'll most probably settle in for an Asus mobo, perhaps with a budget of about RM600 or so. Graphics card, he suggested, to be around the range of RM800 - RM1000. My main focus would be mobo, video card, processor and RAM. The rest wouldn't do much to performance. Am thinking of AMD AM2 processor. hehe

As for car, yeah, if I have extra's, I'd mod my car. I won't do engine transplant, though, as I'm satisfied for now with my stock engine's performance. Future plans for my engine would probably be PowerZone's performance cam shafts, cam pulley, suitable exhaust system from exhaust manifold till rear, fully adjustable abs, stainless steel air intake pipe wrapped with heat shield (have to find a suitable one), port and polish, maybe Haltech or MicroTech engine management, sound proof my whole car with industrial standard heat rejecting foil on roof, bucket seats with harnesses, custom wide wheel arches (you'll be surprised how my silly 15" rims can touch my front fender when I corner hard enough), and if I dream more, perhaps full aluminium radiator and silicon hoses, metal gaskets where applicable, performance plug cables and iridium plugs, semi racing clutch, probably 1 decent amplifier, a pair of tough and decent component speakers and probably 1 pair of sub woofers. Now that should all set me back at a price of a good amount of down payment for a good decent car. hahahahaha But imagine if I take those car modification money to build a new gaming rig. buahahahaha