Ive had the vibe and a few messages now basically proving most people in MY do not have garages for their car(s).
What IF I wanted one? Ideal situation would be attached garage at place of residence but with the majority of the population in apartments, perhaps shop/storage rental is the way to go?
I didnt get around to EVERY house, but the ones I saw had, at best, a carport that was situated where one walks past the car to get in the house. NOT a good setup for opening the doors to do a stereo install... or leaving a job half done for a few days waiting for some new turbo install etc.
I just dont see myself paying for EVERYTHING to be done. Some things are just FUN to do yourself. Brings me to:
Tools. I have a med/large tool collection with a rollaway box. NOT going to even try to ship that to MY. for the DIY types, are hand tools affordable? I mean more than the small kit that comes in the trunk, er "boot" of some cars. I mean actual wrench sets and the like. I can buy a small to large floorjack at several stores here in a town of less than 20k people! What if I wanted a small welder to make my own custom piping for _________? Hope you get the idea.
Full circle now. Security. If you dont have a garage, or space rented, it seems to me the nice wheels you just put on might come up missing. What if you actually have a small collection of tools... nothing too big, just big enough to not want to lug it through the house every time its needed, but dont want the tools stolen? Seems one would want the tools kept near where the car is parked.
MY is so different lah!
Misc links
http://gwtra.org/images/sb_dec01.jpg http://gwtra.org/images/bj_eng/install/bj_stab1.jpg http://www.gwtra.org/dynoresults.htm
http://www.gwtra.org/dynoresults2.htm
What IF I wanted one? Ideal situation would be attached garage at place of residence but with the majority of the population in apartments, perhaps shop/storage rental is the way to go?
I didnt get around to EVERY house, but the ones I saw had, at best, a carport that was situated where one walks past the car to get in the house. NOT a good setup for opening the doors to do a stereo install... or leaving a job half done for a few days waiting for some new turbo install etc.
I just dont see myself paying for EVERYTHING to be done. Some things are just FUN to do yourself. Brings me to:
Tools. I have a med/large tool collection with a rollaway box. NOT going to even try to ship that to MY. for the DIY types, are hand tools affordable? I mean more than the small kit that comes in the trunk, er "boot" of some cars. I mean actual wrench sets and the like. I can buy a small to large floorjack at several stores here in a town of less than 20k people! What if I wanted a small welder to make my own custom piping for _________? Hope you get the idea.
Full circle now. Security. If you dont have a garage, or space rented, it seems to me the nice wheels you just put on might come up missing. What if you actually have a small collection of tools... nothing too big, just big enough to not want to lug it through the house every time its needed, but dont want the tools stolen? Seems one would want the tools kept near where the car is parked.
MY is so different lah!
Misc links
http://gwtra.org/images/sb_dec01.jpg http://gwtra.org/images/bj_eng/install/bj_stab1.jpg http://www.gwtra.org/dynoresults.htm
http://www.gwtra.org/dynoresults2.htm