can DIY repair rust?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all...
i got many spot got rust on the car body...

can DIY ?

i thinking...
1. use sand paper or machine sander/dremel with wire mesh bit to remove rust
2. take it to shop with welding machine ask them weld ( what shop got? exhaust shop can ar? )
3. use the putty ppl use for car body to cover it back
4. use find sand paper to make the surface flat again
* But will looks ugly lar .. the putty is visible without new paint
.. but can save cost

how u think? can work or not?
any sifu can guide me?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
DIY shouldnt be a prob...

make sure u sand it until bare metal... remove the rust completely... then clean the surface n apply putty... then send to shop to paint... if there is a hole.. then need to send to workshop to weld n ketuk.. no point DIYing.. just let them do everything...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
i have no skills
+
i have no m oney

:D

but lucky got fren open hardware shop
so buying cheap putty or fibre is no problem for me... :D :D

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
fiber is for bumpers n bodykits....

u mentioned rust... means metal panels... i dun think fiber will stick on metal nicely... u can DIY with putty if the rust is only on the surface... if got hole... not dat easy la...

roy27

Feb 16, 2006
how big area of rust? if small parts then ok la....if not, then send 2 makat shop....wun be so costly

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
i think if rust makan then they do the welding also cost u 30 ..... depending on area ..... they always say lemme see first only tell price

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oooh.... rm30 only hor.. :)

well.. many rust on below of the car.....
and some on door

many place the paint is like got 'pimples'.. :D
the paint grow like a pimples
when i press it.. inside all rust.. :(

roy27

Feb 16, 2006
wah.....so big area yr car kena rusted......juz send to makat shop.....n ask them their quoted price....

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
old car is like this one...
i pretty annoyed by the rust already.. :(

killa626

Jan 10, 2006
ya bro...old car mmg like that lah..wha ti usually do is when there is a small rust i rub some oil and cover it with some stickers..the stickers are cheap ones..can buy from bicyle shops mah..then after some time only i send to ketuk shop cuz my car is my onli transport..no other car..hehe..the last time my quote to ketuk and weld my car came to around rm400..this is to find rust all over the car and weld lah..now i must go and do again lah.this time water leaking on my dashboard from my windscreen.must buka and pasang again..expensive also lah..around rm90 woh per windscreen..2 windscreen aoredi rm 180..aiyo,..
G.

ken yeang

sam,

where are you? mind If I come see ur car and offer some advice?? BTW, what car u r driving?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi
i am from penang/kendah
sure.. u can come to see my car. :)

i driving old 120y. :) just do bodywork last year lor
now rust comes out again (bad workmanship)