Fuel Saving Devices - Read before you buy !

DLegend

Official Contributor
Ok lads, since petrol prices are at pocket bursting prices, lets help each other by listing down the FUEL SAVING DEVICES available in the market today.

:driver:

What works: :rock:
1. Name / Brand / Price / Proof

What doesn't: :banghead:
1. Magnet on fuel lines / Many brands / Not cheap / Proven NOT effective by Mythbusters.

2. Air Injector a.k.a Compressor / Many Brands / RM200 to RM500 / Self-used, and many other friends as well, all not working.

P/S : Hopefully, after some useful input is gathered, i'll be able to publish an article for the ZTH main page.

Voltage stabiliser. save a bit around 1-2% on my car. in addition u get cooler air con and smoother ride.

lighten your car meaning lighten the driver and passenger in the car. everyone go for exercise to keep fit so u can lighten ur car.

Voltage stabiliser. save a bit around 1-2% on my car. in addition u get cooler air con and smoother ride.

So, can someone else support this device? If got more than 3 ppl support, then I'll put it in the WHAT WORKS section.

So far: Voltage Stabilizer / Many brands / RM80 - RM400 / Claim by NorthIswara, Vote2, Vote3.

Voltage stabilizer mana save fuel la Dr. Northiswara. I even DIY 3 pcs of them.
it nvr works. u all kena tipu 9 liao.

there is NOTHING that can save your fuel other than:

1. keep ur car condition tip top, esp engine oil, do change if already black. since black means carbon deposit which create more friction to ur engine (ie, making it less efficient).
2. keep everything that is moving in good order. for example, your tyres pressure, wheel bearing condition, driveshaft, belts.
3. for Auto gearbox also, change the oil regularly. if too long nvr flush, then do a flush.
4. make ur car lighter, this one i agree with Dr. Northiswara - exercise more and make urself skinny. date only skinny models, have less kids, and make sure they are skinny too. also, lighten ur car by remove the spare tyre (haha). or change lighter sports rim and thinner profile tyres like 175/50/R15.(less contact with jalan, less friction).
5. some study by Prof. doncityz IR PhD says that by regularly waxing ur car will greatly reduce wind friction to ur car body at high speed - hence save fuel! also always wash ur car. dirt on your car body makes friction also.
6. reverse your spoilers. instead of spoiler push down on road, the spoiler will help to lift the car slightly.. so less friction - save fuel! - but after u do this, pls dont travel more than 80km/h.
7.. Dr. Northiswara, pls add some more ideas.

a light right foot........

well its also a plus if ur born wif polio....left leg longer than right leg so right leg cant really touch d pedal...:thefinger: hmmm....how abt that rmk202?does that work?heard that is has received quite good reviews...

a tire pressure gauge can help u save fuel...make sure u go fill up the tires when reading is low la :P

Ok lads, since petrol prices are at pocket bursting prices, lets help each other by listing down the FUEL SAVING DEVICES available in the market today.

:driver:

What works: :rock:
1. Name / Brand / Price / Proof

What doesn't: :banghead:
1. Magnet on fuel lines / Many brands / Not cheap / Proven NOT effective by Mythbusters.

2. Air Injector a.k.a Compressor / Many Brands / RM200 to RM500 / Self-used, and many other friends as well, all not working.

P/S : Hopefully, after some useful input is gathered, i'll be able to publish an article for the ZTH main page.

i know one way to reduce ur consumption, simple, tuning, detune ur car lolx
more fuel more power, no such thing as lesser fuel more power (can , kaboom cry)

i duno i heard frm sumwhere
they said that all these fuel saving devices actually makes ur engine run leaner so u do save a lil but then running on a leaner setup will definately cause damage to engine...

sure ka xinghonh? its interesting to know how those devices manage to make the engine run leaner?

but true, run lean long enough, ur engine esp. ur plugs will suffer due to overheating.

Voltage stabilizer mana save fuel la Dr. Northiswara. I even DIY 3 pcs of them.
it nvr works. u all kena tipu 9 liao.

there is NOTHING that can save your fuel other than:

1. keep ur car condition tip top, esp engine oil, do change if already black. since black means carbon deposit which create more friction to ur engine (ie, making it less efficient).
2. keep everything that is moving in good order. for example, your tyres pressure, wheel bearing condition, driveshaft, belts.
3. for Auto gearbox also, change the oil regularly. if too long nvr flush, then do a flush.
4. make ur car lighter, this one i agree with Dr. Northiswara - exercise more and make urself skinny. date only skinny models, have less kids, and make sure they are skinny too. also, lighten ur car by remove the spare tyre (haha). or change lighter sports rim and thinner profile tyres like 175/50/R15.(less contact with jalan, less friction).
5. some study by Prof. doncityz IR PhD says that by regularly waxing ur car will greatly reduce wind friction to ur car body at high speed - hence save fuel! also always wash ur car. dirt on your car body makes friction also.
6. reverse your spoilers. instead of spoiler push down on road, the spoiler will help to lift the car slightly.. so less friction - save fuel! - but after u do this, pls dont travel more than 80km/h.
7.. Dr. Northiswara, pls add some more ideas.

i would like to enhance on some points from the above:

1. as demonstrated by dr doncityz in DIY thread http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/do-it-yourself-garage/163725-diy-oil-change-and-flush.html,
it is recommended to flush ur engine oil from time to time to completely drain out the remaining dirt.

2. lubricate the moving parts except brake. use lubeguard, tufoil to help in lubricating.

3. to gain better FC transplant a manual gb.

5. this applies to aeroplane larr. on car will work mer?

6. install more spoiler or big GT wing from the front car to the rear car. make sure u use bigger spoiler like this
DSC00234.jpg
source from http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/not-your-shots/179432-magnificent-wira-with-high-gt-wing.html
make sure the exhaust muffler is pointed to the ground so the muffler exhaust could help lift ur car up a bit to decrease the gravity on ur car thus reducing its weight.

i try on EPS magnet...dunno how much. forgot already.it sure can help a bit.not much.not just regularlry flush yr engine..need to clean yr injectors oso ma...buy those on the shelf fuel additive for injector cleaners...i used STP. sure works for me...but i dun regularly use em..

Broquet, proven that save fuel.... RM8xx, now inside my generator fuel tank. really reduce the cost of fuel by rm460 to rm420 per month...

Power Discharged Ignition System + NGK Platium Spark Plugs ... Used by me.
Advantages
1.) Fuel Saving up to 10%
2.) More power on the same throttle work

Disadvantages
1.) Cost 450 per piece since its imported from Japan
2.) Less people using it so you might get a fake unit.

I do get a better FC from this device , now my car (sentra) with slightly mods still can go up to 160 km at 1/4 of fuel gauge ... Of course travelling at 80-100 km/h ... In city , with proper throttle work , can go up to 417 km per tank ... Can last for 11 days in city driving , depends on how heavy u press ur pedal ... For me , its a nice stuff ... Try it out ...

i got also one product can save up to 35% fuel.
it is called K2N Magic Stone.