Fuel & Engine Oil for FCs

sb3

Hello all rotary bros,

My friend have just bought himself a 85' FC. Currently he doing maintenance and cleaning the engine bay. Just curious on wats the best fuel to use (RON92 or RON97) and engine oil eg; 20w50,10w40, 0w50?

Help anyone?

Thanx.

sb3.

• 140309 038.jpg
    140309 038.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 177
Fuel = any mentioned above

Engine Oil = any mineral, 20W50
-recommend castrol

FC3S and the 13B engine is old-school by now. Little real benefit with synthetics but if your budget allows, go ahead. Not recommended to switch from mineral to syn and then back to mineral.

Wack in Mineral only.. no need any fancy mumbo jumbo synethetic.. ron95 also BOLEH!

Fuel = any mentioned above

Engine Oil = any mineral, 20W50
-recommend castrol

FC3S and the 13B engine is old-school by now. Little real benefit with synthetics but if your budget allows, go ahead. Not recommended to switch from mineral to syn and then back to mineral.

Wow! thats great, savings on engine oil and road tax but sacrifice on fuel consumption. I 'd reckon thats ok coz when i tested his car today (3'in single pipe exhaust & HKS filter only), wheel spin by the 3rd gear! Thats quite powerful for a 20 year old car.

I think i will ask him to find one more unit for me , hehehe, Addicted with the power leh.:rofl:

Wack in Mineral only.. no need any fancy mumbo jumbo synethetic.. ron95 also BOLEH!

Yup , I think with that kind of power which i,ve tested today , the FC do not need any fancy synthetic oil.

Thanx bro.

sb3.:wavey:

sb3,

the 1985-88 FC3S maxes out between 145 (stock NA) and 190HP (stock turbocharged). That's not much in today's world.

It can run on RON92 - from Caltex, but starting the engine up is kinda crap. It will crank for a bit before actually starting. I've stopped buying Caltex as I had difficulty starting up even with their Ron95.

sb3,

the 1985-88 FC3S maxes out between 145 (stock NA) and 190HP (stock turbocharged). That's not much in today's world.

It can run on RON92 - from Caltex, but starting the engine up is kinda crap. It will crank for a bit before actually starting. I've stopped buying Caltex as I had difficulty starting up even with their Ron95.
savahn, What sort of fuel do u recommend? U driving a fc3s too? My friend's FC is turbocharged but he have to be careful during launches on 2nd gear, coz the wheels (15s) will go spinning out of control fishtailing the car. I think the previous owner did some mods on the engine.:rofl:

It is up to every owner to try out what works for them.

Just remember to check the boost pressure. Unless you know what's gone into the engine, it is recommended to maintain stock pressure at 0.5 bar.

wack only... 1 bar
Engine explode or not - 1 bar, hehehe.. small little snail only, maybe ask him to go for bridgeport.

:rofl:

It is up to every owner to try out what works for them.

Just remember to check the boost pressure. Unless you know what's gone into the engine, it is recommended to maintain stock pressure at 0.5 bar.
His boost pressure (@ dash meter) is not working. Any idea how to set up those huge boost meter on the A pillar or on top on the dash? which wire to connect?:biggrin:

Thanx, bro.

Hmmm... 1 bar on stock 1985 13bt... anyone know how many ponies that is?