Fuel Cosumption Problem

I agree with Cyclonite.

Ameque, do you REALLY wanna change gearbox? 2nd hand 1.5 Wira auto gearbox costs RM2K+ and even more for others.. do u really think it's worth the money? And conversion to manual, unless you know someone who's really good at what they do, the conversion might just muck up your car. And not to mention changing to manual will devalue it.

Tell you what, sell of your 1.5 and get a rev happy Proton Savvy. :D

if you plan to trade in yr vehicle for something new in future then don't do the auto to manual g/b conversion as some dealers may not want to take in modified cars.....i changed auto to manual in my old iswara & when i went to EON to trade in for a new car they refused to buy my car saying its modified !!!! i had to sell outside & then buy a new car.

my chevrolet optra 1.6 driving at 140kmh is at 3100rpm
120kmh is about 2800rpm....

so highway save fuel but..city driving is not that good...full tank can get 520+ km only
full tank is 60L.

jasonchan said:
my chevrolet optra 1.6 driving at 140kmh is at 3100rpm
120kmh is about 2800rpm....

so highway save fuel but..city driving is not that good...full tank can get 520+ km only
full tank is 60L.

Hey that's pretty damn good man.. no wonder jinkl said there's something wrong.. now I agree with him! So civic and optra can do quite good.. btw how many speed gearbox does optra have? 4?

i did a test drive today since before this i never bothered.. 120kmh went up to 4000rpm.. so i guess need tuning.. if changing engine also means resale value go down, then have no choice to just change gearbox.. but i prefer using auto.. tradin cars? erm i dunno.. what can i get for a 1997 wira a/b anyways??

Trade in? Erm..prolly 20K :D meaning you'll need to topup. Aiya, got the budget, get a non-proton car. Even Perodua cars have a 4-speed gearbox

try change spark plug

Recommend for Iridium Spark plug..
i guarenteed u can save fuel.. more tork ..

i sold to my fren the plug and he says that the fc very good..
he also claimed that his car tork increase ...

dont believe try surf internet and look for Denso iridium
wanna plug just give me a call 012-5171397 location Pandan Indah

wan to save fuel ? drill holes n use legs like flinstones...
my honda accord FC = RM70~R80 - not over 200kms.. lolx..
wat i did to save fuel ?? overhaul n swap engine.. rewired .. change spark plugs.. inside engine bay all parts changed to new 1.. also BAD FC.. guess wat? RM5k~RM6k spent n still getting same FC.. my right foot not heavy..
so i guess it has something to do wif geabox..

Ameque said:
I currently drive a standard modified (stock lah) 1997 wira 1.5 (auto) a/b. The thing is everytime i drive from KL to Malacca it takes about rm40. and thats normal driving (to me, NORMAL on highways would be 120kmh, not 180.. standard maa). i fear of leaking but workshop ppl say theres no problem. question is is my car's fuel consumption normal or do i need to overhaul or something? i'm considering changing to manual because people say it can 'save minyak' compared to auto. whats the procedure and price for the stuffs i need? or should i just ditch the wira n trade it for a satria 1.3? but sayang ler because wira 1.5. any ideas?

i drive KL-MLK only takes RM25.....using the same car..

I totally agreed with Amedion. I have been using Denso Iridium
on my 1.5 Wira manual expecting better power and torque as
advertised. My conclusion: NO BIG DEAL!! Can hardly notice any diff
at all. FC still same.

Izso said:
Hey that's pretty damn good man.. no wonder jinkl said there's something wrong.. now I agree with him! So civic and optra can do quite good.. btw how many speed gearbox does optra have? 4?

optra got 4 speed...

1,2,3 for speed demon.. 4 gear to save fuel...

wira got 3 gear only so no overdrive thats why drink fuel a lot...

hi...need help from u all...y my manual wira 1.3 fc so high after service by a stupid workshop? before service my fc is about 350km rm50 but after service no matter how the save i drive alot maximum only can go 200km for rm50 petrol....the workshop change my plug, fuel pump relay, and doing tunning....i go back let them check then they ask me change the exhaust...walao...wan die...i still a student le...regret let that workshop touch my car...