front brake disc upgrade

hello toyotarians, recently i was thinking of a twin pot brake upgrade for me 94" ae101. what i have is the everything except the knuckle. According to my mech, he said that the knuckle had to be changed because the twin pot disc was being blocked my the hub.

after calls to mr lobang king, ae101-wong, he told me that it shouldve been a perfect fit.

me, being not a pro in these things, am very confused now. :banghead:

my question is, do i need to replace the knuckles? or is there any other way to do it?

i google around and found out that some knuckles are inter-changeable between ae82, 92 and 101. but i dont know which is suitable/best/recommended. so i thought better ask you guys here since there are many sifus here :)

thanks in advance

Hi bro. is that u adrian ? how r u ?
plan do up garde twin port ?
i just change my 1week ago, i think that is ezy to mod into your ride
u can use back ur knuckle, mod abit the caliper only.
m my right sifu2....

hey its me haha..
just now i met my mech also. he said can mod by cutting a bit of the cast iron flap that is blocking but he wont do it as he will not bear responsibility if anything goes wrong. he said better if just replace the knuckle with original twinpot one.

out of topic : saw a levin supercharge at taman tun just now ! gorgeous !

as i know the twin port come with knuckle is ss type. if u go for ori twin port knuckle the absober oso want to change.

collet me if my wrong.

I just changed form super strut to MacPherson just a few days ago. Your best bet is to skim the disc rotor to fit instead of touching anything else. This is with the understanding that twinpots are only available in super strut configuration only, have not seen one in MacPherson base.

My recommendation is that you use back your MacPherson (I'm assuming you are using a MacPherson) knuckle and skim the disc rotor to fit. You might also need to skim some metal from the disc caliper but I don't think its quite necessary. Let us know how it goes!

what about lower arm aka Tulang anjing.need to change or not?

that depends:

1) if you are currently using macpherson and trying to use twinpot, use back macpherson knuckle, macpherson lower arm and everything macpherson

2) if you are currently using SS and trying to use twinpot, use back SS knuckle, SS lower arm and everything SS

you cannot fit SS knuckle to macpherson setup and vice versa.

Twin pot's caliber can be mod...

Aspecially the celica's twin pot's the easiest to mod!!!

good luck bro!!!

my friend currently using completed set SS from trueno 20V halfcut..(twinpot)
so he plan to change macpherson type suspension..so what the best way to convert it?(of coz,must change the absorber first)

using the brake that comes with the halfcut is good enough
unless u wan to brake kaw kaw..

anyone got lobang for slotted disc ?

my friend currently using completed set SS from trueno 20V halfcut..(twinpot)
so he plan to change macpherson type suspension..so what the best way to convert it?(of coz,must change the absorber first)

hi blackend ,

your friend must change the whole subframe and the absorbers to the macpherson type as macpherson and super strut absorbers and subframe are very different. then, use back the macpherson knuckle and then do some disc rotor skimming to fit to the macpherson setup and you're done!

you're welcome blackend! i guess it depends on what you are looking for. as for me, i was looking for the least troublesome suspension that is easily replacable and more common at the expense of handling but i can live with that. if you actually don't mind doing some minor repairs once in a while here and there, SS offers quite good handling so i guess its what you want out of it.

p/s: i have a pair of TRD super strut soft hard non-height adjustable absorbers (4 setting). you interested?

haha.thanks, but no thanks..my car using macpherson right now.
actually my friend wanna change his car suspension to macpherson.thats why, I dont think he want another SS.
but I agree with u,SS is pretty good handling

i'm on McPherson, previously is single pot, then chg to twin pot but from celica one (only chg caliper, rotor disc remain levin one) and maintain my same old McPherson setup.
MR2 one also can use.

now im using single port 1....just wanna ask about twinport...isit easy to find spare part for it?? i mean..caliper, disk rotor and repair kit??? For a long term laa... brake pad last year asked for fbk brand at rm 100...now dono la how much....but for sure..if using twin 1 ur disk much bigger than single 1....saw 1 of the sifu here using 4port wif 15" rim....hmmm:listen:

as we know,more pot may coz more money to buy the brake pad..but it really worth when hard braking..
for my car,single pot it necessary for now..:driver:.

P/S; still curious what's the best suspension for corolla (SS,macpherson,tein,cusco etc)..hmm

U guys search hard enough or not.. in hong kong all ae member use vrm twinpot. Minor mod fit directly, bigger disc n bigger twinpot caliper, same like vr4. Huhu... CUN..... :congrats: