From Australia to Penang

OzXchange

G'day all,

Thought I'd introduce myself here since I'll be moving to Penang in June and (hopefully) will be bringing my car with me.

A little about me I guess. My name is Martin and I'm from Australia. Nuff said?? Well not really. I'm an English Teacher by trade and will be teaching in Penang. To be more specific, Bukit Mertajam. I've got a lot of hobbies, so ask me sometime about them.

About my car. It's a 1987 mk3 Toyota Supra, which recently received a fresh engine conversion because the old 220k 7M-GE blew a head-gasket. The new engine is a fresh 68k 1JZ twin-turbo with a full custom, from the turbo back, 3 inch catback exhaust system. My car has a targa top and I love to drive around with the roof off :)

Unfortunatly, I probably wont have enough to pay the tax on the car, so I'm figuring every three months my car and I make a trip north to Thailand ;) :mouth_closed:

Anyway, I'll definitely be found cruising the streets in Penang of a night time and day time. I'd love to meet up with other car owners for regular cruises and parties.

Cheers,
Marty

nice ride, mate.

What school in BM? Why don't you apply for a job in a local college?

Welcome aboard ...

Good to 'ave you 'ere mate.

I wont be in a school, I'll be at a private tuition centre called TBC. It's my second time working there so I already know the area really well and cannot wait to cruise along the same streets I know.

oh, if you wanna check out my ride, I posted some pics in the the Toyota forum.

i thought 'Petang' was evening? Afternoon is 'Tengah Hari' ler... blur dee..

Terima Kasih semua.

I'm pretty sure 'petang' is evening. I'll have to check my bahasa dictionary though. Oh and yes, saya boleh cakap bahasa melayu, tapi, sikit2 :) My malay is pretty bad, but my chinese is worse :)

Just as long things don't go over Man-glish .... hahaha ...

"Rasa-rasa kita ada seorang pemenang di sini ..."

Martin welcome to Penang!!! your bahasa is better than me lol :D

let's come out for a meet when you have time.

i assume you must be a member of toymods as well? :)

Welcome, I'm from SA. Where were you from?