formatting pc

alantan

can anyone help em with a step by step guide to format windows 98

and a step by ste ghuide to install window 2000nt

format guide is much need anyway..

what are the command to format windows 98?

format c: ???? and press enter..

but where?

and do i need a bootdisk with me all the time?

Windows 98/ME

1. Goto Control Panel > Add/Remove Program
2. Create a Start-up Disk with Floopy Disk
3. Restart Computer, boot using the Start-Up Disk
4. When get A:\, type Format C:\Q\S - Q is to quit format. If you want full format then don't type \Q
5. After finished format, remove floopy restart computer, you should be stop at C:\ this time

if u want to install win2k dont eed to create boot disk and format it
bcoz installing win 2k it will format ur pc to NTFS
just insert the win2k cd and just follow the steps

if not mistaken the bootdisk is used so u can boot to dos
where u can format ur hdd and do a clean installation of win2k
reformat it to ntfs it's better than fat32

then restart the com with the bootable win2k cd and the installation will proceed.

i might be wrong but yet again what i said seem to be correct :P

Do u want to FDISK? Means partitioning.

Go to your BIOS, change the boot sequence to CD-ROM at first.

Restart, insert your Win98 CD. Then started to boot with cd rom support.

When C: appears, change to CD drive,

The go to Win98 or windows folder, can't remember.

Then type FORMAT C:

If u want to do partitioning, then u type FDISK instead of FORMAT.

Whe FDISK running, follow the instruction. The restart.

Again let it boot under cd rom support. The change to cd rom drive and go to the win98 or windows folder again. Then type FORMAT C:

Hope that's help. :rolleyes:

It's TRUE for Win2K and XP you dun need boot disk. Just set your Bios boot from CD-ROM Drive. By make sure your Installation disk is Bootable :lol:

Anyway, if you want do the hardway also can...can create 4 bootable diskette