For turbo cars

leslie

need some advise here... if you own a car with turbo (comes with or add on)... and you drive it everyday quite often...go to many places everyday... what is a good reading for for your boost??.... 0.6-0.8??

Originally posted by leslie@Dec 23 2004, 03:27
need some advise here... if you own a car with turbo (comes with or add on)... and you drive it everyday quite often...go to many places everyday... what is a good reading for for your boost??.... 0.6-0.8??
Set it to stock boost.

If best. Don't boost. Drive normally.

if u hav boost controller can switch off n it will automatically set to normal boost 0.7bar...... wan to race tat time then switch on again loh>>>>

heheheh if no boost better no turbo la..apa la u all. boost 0.6-0.8bar is ok. me using 0.7bar quite a long time la..daily driving fro about 50 km per day

turbocharged car + no boost probably underpower and slow respond, due to the low compresion ratio. i guess would be good to have at least 6 - 8 psi of boost, but depend on your compresion ratio.

Aiyo..if say 0.6-0.8 boost oso not ngam ma. Maybe L2s fitted with TD04, still boost 0.6-0.8 bar meh? Lidat die loo...petrol consumption oso high ma. :lol:

lets say if reading boost between 0.6-0.7..... should i use the standard BOV or change it?... some say there is a difference... some say change better air flow but standard BOV got better response... what you guys think?

hehe what car u driving la bro ..
standard BOV would be the best... but depends la..
if leaking then better get a better one...

lancer with e6 inside..... i like the response now... but i still like the pss pss sound...hahahahaha

Originally posted by ExtremeRC@Dec 23 2004, 21:58
Aiyo..if say 0.6-0.8 boost oso not ngam ma. Maybe L2s fitted with TD04, still boost 0.6-0.8 bar meh? Lidat die loo...petrol consumption oso high ma. :lol:
hehehee i think u r wrong. even if u boost ur car 2.0bar also won't make ur car high in fuel consumption only IF u dun press ur throttle so the boost not comes in. just drive normally and make it under vacuum at all time...than ur fuel consumption is just like NA cars
and u have the benefit as a turbo car when ur get full throttle when u needed it (eg. take over other cars)

hahaha..true true....... what is a good BOV ah???..... for now i like the HKS super SQV ler.... what are your guys opinion?

Originally posted by leslie@Dec 25 2004, 20:45
hahaha..true true....... what is a good BOV ah???..... for now i like the HKS super SQV ler.... what are your guys opinion?
I dont even use any BOV on my RB26.... getting ready for my stock turbo to KABOOM.. time boom is waiting :D

I run 1 bar / 14.5psi everyday.

Its ok for me. Fuel is normal. about 460km per full tank. which is average for my car.

BOV is not really needed actually, its like a show off thingy.
I run a Tial external wastegate, very usefull. Only needed if you high boost.

Originally posted by flamefox850+Dec 25 2004, 19:35 -->
QUOTE (flamefox850 @ Dec 25 2004, 19:35 )
--QuoteBegin-ExtremeRC
@Dec 23 2004, 21:58

hehehee i think u r wrong. even if u boost ur car 2.0bar also won't make ur car high in fuel consumption only IF u dun press ur throttle so the boost not comes in. just drive normally and make it under vacuum at all time...than ur fuel consumption is just like NA cars
and u have the benefit as a turbo car when ur get full throttle when u needed it (eg. take over other cars) [/b][/quote]
Aiyo, I guess u oso dun understand wat I mean. What I meant was if we boost (noun) at 0.6-0.8 bar.

Hehe, maybe what u've interpreted was setting the boost level. :lol:

Try reading the first post: Leslie mentioned what is the best reading,

Reading means there is boost. When there is boost, the petrol consumption will also be high if we set the boost level high. :)

ok ok..got what u want to tell me hehe

but still i want to 'fight' with u ok ? hehehehe :P

even though u say 0.6-0.8bar is consuming way too much petrol...what if leslie's house and office is near and shift gear before 4000rpm (let say boost starts come in at 4000rpm)...so petrol is safe hehehehe.
the key is shifting gear at what rpm la..if low rpm then no boost low fuel consumption

i wanna win.. i wanna winhttp://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/html/emoticons/laugh.gif
one more thing, i wonder if u have a turbo car

seriously its not about shifting.
Its how you control the throttle.

If you hit the throttle all the way, you will see rpm rises very fast and you will see an increase in boost.

If you step the throttle gently, and the rpm increases very slowly, you will notice that your boost gauge will only be below 0psi.

Try it. Presurring the trottle = boost